Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 764
stunning, must-read YA fantasy
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
THE PRISON HEALER is a stunning and captivating YA fantasy read. This book takes place in a prison, Zalindov, which operates as its own entity between kingdoms, for the worst of prisoners, generally murderers and rebels. No one gets out once they are in, and most do not live long. Kiva has been in the prison for 10 years, since she was 7 years old. After her father died in the prison, she eventually took on the role of the prison healer, working the infirmary for other inmates whose work assignments or prison guards have injured.

Kiva has kept her head down and done with what she has needed to do to survive, including not making attachments to the other inmates (with the exception of Tipp another child who ended up there due to circumstances) and informing on them to the warden who rules the prison like a king. Things are changing for Kiva, beginning with a new inmate that she cannot seem to shake, a guard who seems to have morals, and then with the rebel queen arriving in need of care.

When Kiva gets a missive telling her to keep the queen alive and threats from the rebels in the prison reinforce this need, Kiva has an impossible task - the queen is on death's door and about to face a trial by ordeal, a set of tests that no one survives. When Kiva volunteers in her place, she knows that her days may be numbered - unless, she can somehow survive these impossible trials and claim freedom on the other side.

What I loved: The writing in this book completely enchanted me. I was captivated by Kiva's story and the trials she undergoes, as an inmate at the mercy of the prison system, as part of the ordeals, and as she tries to stop a plague ravaging the prison system. She is a highly compelling character who keeps her cards close to her chest, even to the reader who is experiencing it all from her perspective. As the key characters convalesce in the story, they all become near and dear to the reader's heart, as they have to Kiva. This definitely leads to some feelings and tears during the story. I also super-loved the way that everything slowly develops. The ending held so many shocking reveals that I was left reeling, and I loved the unexpected twists.

The book also includes some intriguing themes about prisons, the way they are run, the power dynamics within them, and the problems with systems around them. I found it very thought-provoking and would definitely love to discuss in a book club or group format. Other themes around royalty, rebellion, power, addiction, and morality around healing/survival were also really interesting. There is a lot happening in the kingdoms, and Kiva cannot help but see it in the prisons and become involved as she treats the rebel queen. The right to rule and determination of a ruler is a minor but intriguing theme through these royal figures (also through the prince and princess that come to see the first trial) that I am curious to see developed in future books.

Rebellion here has serious consequences, and as a theme throughout history when power becomes oppressive, it's also interesting to discuss. In this book, morality is gray, as Kiva does what she must to survive and this does not always agree with others' moral codes. She also feels a duty as a healer, even when the odds are stacked against her and patients may not seem worth saving to some. How she copes with these thoughts and her job were also intriguing subplots that would merit discussion. This would really be a fascinating choice for a book club.

Final verdict: Atmospheric, shocking, and immersive, THE PRISON HEALER is a must-read YA fantasy that combines compelling characters, intriguing themes, and surprising plot twists into a stunning read. Highly recommend for fans of THE RED QUEEN, LEGEND, and THRONE OF GLASS.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 2 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

African Icons: Ten People Who Shaped History
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet the ten remarkable kings, queens, inventors, scholars, and visionaries...
Count to LOVE! (A Bright Brown Baby Board Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cuddle up with your little one and get ready to...
The Mystery of the Meanest Teacher: A Johnny Constantine Graphic Novel
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
THE MYSTERY OF THE MEANEST TEACHER: A JOHNNY CONSTANTINE GRAPHIC...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A shocking thriller about a group of friends who go...
Bird Boy
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take flight in this heartwarming story about a boy who...
Love You By Heart
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Acclaimed creator of The Word Collector, Happy Dreamer, Say Something,...
Fa-La-La Llama (Touch-and-Feel Board Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Get ready to deck the halls with these joyful, singing,...
The Oddmire, Book 3: Deepest, Darkest
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The third adventure in the beloved fantasy series full of...
The Oddmire, Book 2: The Unready Queen
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Human-raised brothers Tinn and Cole join forces with Fable, daughter...
The Oddmire, Book 1: Changeling
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is fading from the Wild Wood. To renew it,...
Our Way Back to Always
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
To All the Boys I've Loved Before meets Morgan Matson...
The Last Gate of the Emperor
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Kwame Mbalia and Prince Joel David Makonnen comes an...
Traitors Among Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
World War II may be over. But two sisters are...
The Devil Makes Three
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
When Tess and Eliot stumble upon an ancient book hidden...
African Icons: Ten People Who Shaped History
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet the ten remarkable kings, queens, inventors, scholars, and visionaries...
Liar's Room
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This spooky stand-alone from MG horror expert Dan Poblocki is...

Latest Member Reviews

Kyle's Little Sister
 
4.0
"Grace is just entering 6th grade, and will be rejoining her older brother Kyle at school, where he is a..."
Willa of Dark Hollow (Willa of the Wood, 2)
 
4.5
"What I Loved: In the first book, I left wanting to see Willa interact more in nature. In this..."
The Memory Thief  (Thirteen Witches #1)
 
4.0
"Rosie Singer knows something is wrong with her mom. She doesn’t comfort her or look at her the way her..."
The Oddmire, Book 1: Changeling
 
5.0
"What I Loved: The Oddmire, Book 1 Changeling delivered a lot of heart and humor in this first installment...."
Count to LOVE! (A Bright Brown Baby Board Book)
 
5.0
"Beginning with a quote from Martin Luther King, Jr. about love, COUNT TO LOVE! is a cute poem that encourages..."
The Mystery of the Meanest Teacher: A Johnny Constantine Graphic Novel
 
4.5
"THE MYSTERY OF THE MEANEST TEACHER is an adventure-filled graphic novel about Johnny (Kid) Constantine. We start by meeting Kid..."
Bird Boy
 
4.5
"BIRD BOY is a sweet picture book about being yourself and embracing your differences. Nico is the new kid in..."
Love You By Heart
 
4.5
"LOVE YOU BY HEART is a simple but beautiful story of love. Featuring a big and little heart, the book..."
Fa-La-La Llama (Touch-and-Feel Board Book)
 
5.0
"FA-LA-LA LLAMA is a delightfully festive board book song. The book features llamas getting into the spirit of the non-religious..."
Ground Zero
 
5.0
"This book delivers the stories of both Brandon, a nine year old in New York City during the 9/11 attacks,..."
The Last Gate of the Emperor
 
5.0
"Yared Heywat has lived with his Uncle Moti since the death of his parents. They have moved around in very..."
Sunny Makes a Splash (Sunny #4)
 
5.0
"It's summer just outside Philadelphia in 1978, and Sunny is faced with the tedium of watching her younger brother Teddy..."
The Magical Reality of Nadia (The Magical Reality of Nadia #1)
 
4.5
"Nadia and her best friend Adam are excited about starting 6th grade. After spending the summer with cousins in Egypt,..."
Traitors Among Us
 
5.0
"Sisters Krystia and Maria think they're safe after WWII ends. They've seen the horrors of the war ravage their native..."
Final Season
 
5.0
"Ben Redd enjoys playing football with his 6th grade friends, especially Tuna, even though sometimes the way they act worries..."
The Curse of the Crystal Cavern (The Pathfinders Society #2)
 
4.0
"Kyle has settled in to life at Windrose with the help of camp mates and friends Vic, Beth, Harry, and..."
The Mystery of the Moon Tower (The Pathfinders Society)
 
4.0
"Kyle and his mother move back to Windrose, where his mother was raised, and she sends him to Merriweather's camp..."
Hi-Five Farm!
 
5.0
"HI-FIVE FARM! is an adorable board book adventure with opposites and hi-fives aplenty. The book features many barnyard animals offering..."
Sugar and Spite
 
4.0
"Jolina and her family have moved from Manila to the small island of Isla Pag-Ibig. After the death of her..."
Fearless
 
3.0
"Monica Garcia is thrilled to get an understudy role on Broadway. At 12, this is the first time she will..."