Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 374
stunning, must-read YA fantasy
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
THE PRISON HEALER is a stunning and captivating YA fantasy read. This book takes place in a prison, Zalindov, which operates as its own entity between kingdoms, for the worst of prisoners, generally murderers and rebels. No one gets out once they are in, and most do not live long. Kiva has been in the prison for 10 years, since she was 7 years old. After her father died in the prison, she eventually took on the role of the prison healer, working the infirmary for other inmates whose work assignments or prison guards have injured.

Kiva has kept her head down and done with what she has needed to do to survive, including not making attachments to the other inmates (with the exception of Tipp another child who ended up there due to circumstances) and informing on them to the warden who rules the prison like a king. Things are changing for Kiva, beginning with a new inmate that she cannot seem to shake, a guard who seems to have morals, and then with the rebel queen arriving in need of care.

When Kiva gets a missive telling her to keep the queen alive and threats from the rebels in the prison reinforce this need, Kiva has an impossible task - the queen is on death's door and about to face a trial by ordeal, a set of tests that no one survives. When Kiva volunteers in her place, she knows that her days may be numbered - unless, she can somehow survive these impossible trials and claim freedom on the other side.

What I loved: The writing in this book completely enchanted me. I was captivated by Kiva's story and the trials she undergoes, as an inmate at the mercy of the prison system, as part of the ordeals, and as she tries to stop a plague ravaging the prison system. She is a highly compelling character who keeps her cards close to her chest, even to the reader who is experiencing it all from her perspective. As the key characters convalesce in the story, they all become near and dear to the reader's heart, as they have to Kiva. This definitely leads to some feelings and tears during the story. I also super-loved the way that everything slowly develops. The ending held so many shocking reveals that I was left reeling, and I loved the unexpected twists.

The book also includes some intriguing themes about prisons, the way they are run, the power dynamics within them, and the problems with systems around them. I found it very thought-provoking and would definitely love to discuss in a book club or group format. Other themes around royalty, rebellion, power, addiction, and morality around healing/survival were also really interesting. There is a lot happening in the kingdoms, and Kiva cannot help but see it in the prisons and become involved as she treats the rebel queen. The right to rule and determination of a ruler is a minor but intriguing theme through these royal figures (also through the prince and princess that come to see the first trial) that I am curious to see developed in future books.

Rebellion here has serious consequences, and as a theme throughout history when power becomes oppressive, it's also interesting to discuss. In this book, morality is gray, as Kiva does what she must to survive and this does not always agree with others' moral codes. She also feels a duty as a healer, even when the odds are stacked against her and patients may not seem worth saving to some. How she copes with these thoughts and her job were also intriguing subplots that would merit discussion. This would really be a fascinating choice for a book club.

Final verdict: Atmospheric, shocking, and immersive, THE PRISON HEALER is a must-read YA fantasy that combines compelling characters, intriguing themes, and surprising plot twists into a stunning read. Highly recommend for fans of THE RED QUEEN, LEGEND, and THRONE OF GLASS.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

All Kinds of Other
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
In this tender, nuanced coming-of-age love story, two boys—one who...
Take Me Home: Waters of the World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bite-sized facts about bodies of water from around the globe,...
This Is My America
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hate U Give meets Just Mercy in this unflinching...
Colors in Nature
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Magnificent, hand-painted illustrations by a rising star of Czech watercolor...
Welcome to Arizona
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Arizona! We're glad you're here! Introducing a new...
I Don't Want to Go to School
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
It's Mouse's first day of school. It's Dinosaur's first day...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved Bangladeshi...
There's No Ham in Hamburgers: Facts and Folklore About Our Favorite Foods
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From hot dogs and hamburgers to ice cream and pizza,...
The Light of Days Young Readers’ Edition: The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
As their communities were being destroyed, groups of Jewish women...
In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A young prince must rely on a mysterious stranger to...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Outer Space
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Blast off into outer space with this mess-free sticker craft!...
These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When twin heirs are born in Tourin, their fates are...
The Mother of Monsters
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mischievous Ntombi is not at all afraid of the fearsome...
Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail: A Story from Chile
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Brave young Pedro faces monsters and greedy guards when he...
What Beauty There Is
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
What Beauty There Is is Cory Anderson's stunning YA...
Baseball Baby
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This original board book series, which begins with America's favorite...

Latest Member Reviews

ASL Tales: Annie's Tails
 
4.0
"Yet another classroom-friendly ASL teaching tool from a company that offers consistent literary quality. This 28 page original American..."
ASL Tales: The Tortoise and the Hare
 
4.5
"Memorable, endearing, and classroom friendly. This 29 page American Sign Language telling of the classic fable maintains the integrity and..."
ASL Tales: The Boy Who Cried Wolf
 
3.5
"This 30 page American Sign Language retelling serves up a timeless lesson about the consequences of lying, with concepts and..."