Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 482
intriguing YA fantasy
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
A CURSE OF ASH AND EMBERS is an intriguing, character-driven YA fantasy read. Elodie has received a letter of employment at a house far from home. Somehow, her abusive stepfather and mother have agreed to allow her to leave. Although she is nervous about undertaking this new path, Elodie is happy to be leaving the place where she has been trapped. Her parents have not allowed her to leave the house in a few years, where she has raised her younger siblings, cooked, and clean, all while being told she is useless. She has never been allowed to learn to read.

Along her journey to the new place of employment, Elodie learns that there is magic in the world, but she is not sure about the morality of it, seeing both good and bad people who wield those powers. When she finally arrives at the place of employment, she finds that she was unexpected, albeit needed. Aleida, a witch, has taken over the place after killing her magical "mother," Gyssha, a cruel and powerful witch. The house is in disarray and Aleida is barely able to take care of herself.

Elodie decides to stay and help, but her journey through this new world with be fraught with questions and mysterious people and monsters.

What I loved: This book was really character-driven, and I appreciated the insight into Elodie and Aleida's characters. Aleida had some complexity in her decisions and past that have led her to the present. As we slowly get to learn about her through Elodie, she endears herself to the reader. Magical beings appear during the story, and there were many of these which I was fully intrigued by and enjoyed meeting. It felt quite imaginative at times, and the slow reveal and learning of new magical creatures was quite interesting.

The themes about power and morality were also interesting. Although the major questions have not yet been answered, this was an interesting start to the series, and I do really want to know more about why Elodie was brought to the house and what the future will hold for her and Aleida.

What left me wanting more: Aside from Aleida, other characters we meet, such as the boy in the woods and the people in the farm, were hard to connect with. Elodie almost views everyone with a sizable detachment, which makes sense with her past, although she somewhat innocently tells all to anyone. I think I wanted a bit more oomph in some of these connections to be pulled more into their stories and lives. Some of the other plotlines that felt disconnected are more likely to be revealed in later books, and I do want to continue with the series.

Final verdict: Slowly building and character-driven, A CURSE OF ASH AND EMBERS is an intriguing YA fantasy read that I am curious to read more about. Recommend for fans of A CURSE OF ROSES, A GOLDEN FURY, and HUSH.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

African Icons: Ten People Who Shaped History
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet the ten remarkable kings, queens, inventors, scholars, and visionaries...
Count to LOVE! (A Bright Brown Baby Board Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cuddle up with your little one and get ready to...
The Mystery of the Meanest Teacher: A Johnny Constantine Graphic Novel
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
THE MYSTERY OF THE MEANEST TEACHER: A JOHNNY CONSTANTINE GRAPHIC...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A shocking thriller about a group of friends who go...
Bird Boy
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take flight in this heartwarming story about a boy who...
Love You By Heart
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Acclaimed creator of The Word Collector, Happy Dreamer, Say Something,...
Fa-La-La Llama (Touch-and-Feel Board Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Get ready to deck the halls with these joyful, singing,...
The Oddmire, Book 3: Deepest, Darkest
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The third adventure in the beloved fantasy series full of...
The Oddmire, Book 2: The Unready Queen
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Human-raised brothers Tinn and Cole join forces with Fable, daughter...
The Oddmire, Book 1: Changeling
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is fading from the Wild Wood. To renew it,...
Our Way Back to Always
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
To All the Boys I've Loved Before meets Morgan Matson...
The Last Gate of the Emperor
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Kwame Mbalia and Prince Joel David Makonnen comes an...
Traitors Among Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
World War II may be over. But two sisters are...
The Devil Makes Three
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
When Tess and Eliot stumble upon an ancient book hidden...
African Icons: Ten People Who Shaped History
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet the ten remarkable kings, queens, inventors, scholars, and visionaries...
Liar's Room
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This spooky stand-alone from MG horror expert Dan Poblocki is...

Latest Member Reviews

Final Season
 
5.0
"Ben Redd enjoys playing football with his 6th grade friends, especially Tuna, even though sometimes the way they act worries..."
Sidelined
 
4.7
"Julian is looking forward to his senior year in Meridien, Texas. He wants to play football and hopefully get scouted..."
Kneel
 
5.0
"Russell and his friend Marion live in Louisiana, and hope to use their skills at football to work their way..."
Gridiron: Stories from 100 Years of the National Football League
 
4.7
"Fred Bowen's fictional sports books are usually tied to an event in sports history, so it makes perfect sense that..."
The Big Game
 
4.0
"Danny lives in Texas with his mother and former Pittsburgh Steelers player father, who now sells farm machinery. The father..."
Speed Demon
 
5.0
"Tim has recently moved to town and is starting ninth grade at Hilton Prep. During gym class one day, his..."
Throw Like a Girl
 
4.3
"THROW LIKE A GIRL is a charming story about chasing your dreams, a little romance, and a passion for sports...."
Game Changer
 
5.0
"At the end of summer football camp for the Walthorne Wildcats, Ted Youngblood collapses as he comes off the field..."
Game Change
 
4.0
"GAME CHANGE by Joseph Monninger follows its main character Zeb Holloway for one week in his life--and what a week..."
King of the Bench: Control Freak
 
4.0
"In No Fear, Steve warms the bench for baseball, he gets roped into being on the football team. He has..."
Lone Stars
 
5.0
"Clay loves playing football with his good friends, and football is a family activity in Texas. His mother is a..."
The Football Girl
 
5.0
"An amazing book with appealing characters."
The Football Girl
 
5.0
"Tessa is a great athlete-- she runs in a local race with her friends Marina and Lexie and wins first..."
Football Superstars 2016
 
4.0
"FOOTBALL SUPERSTARS 2016 by K.C. Kelley takes an in-depth look at the star players in the NFL at the end..."
Interference
 
4.0
"Even if the characters take a bit to warm up to, the book is a good read. Stick with..."
Interference
 
4.7
"What I Loved: Kate Hamilton isn’t your sweet ingenue. She’s as well-versed in politics as her dad and is..."
Top Prospect
 
4.7
"After Travis' older brother Carter is signed with the Gainesville Gators football team, Travis is thrilled. He also feels a..."
The Revenge Playbook
 
4.7
"Warning: The following review may be incoherent for the following reasons: (1) There are no words to describe how much..."
The Revenge Playbook
 
3.0
"What I Loved: THE REVENGE PLAYBOOK is chock-full of girl power, which a guarantee to me that I'll adore it...."
The Revenge Playbook
 
3.7
"Every now and then, you find a book that makes you stop and think. It makes you look into the..."