Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 378
stunning YA fantasy sequel
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
FLAMEFALL is the absolutely stunning and enthralling sequel to FIREBORNE, and the second in the Aurelian Cycle trilogy. The book continues to follow Annie and Lee, who grew up at an orphanage together and have struggled to place their relationship now that they have both risen to the highest status of dragonriders in Callipolis. After a brutal revolution, their country has been rebuilding on a new principle of worth. Instead of ruling families with complete control, the new government has instituted a metals test, a standardized test that supposedly defines your abilities and the results of which will determine your jobs, lifestyle, and even food rationing.

This book also adds a new perspective of Griff, a dragonrider who is also a servant and lives a life constantly under threat of his own well-being and that of his family. Though he had been somewhat protected by the head of the dragonriders, Julia, her death sparks even more dangerous changes for New Pythos and for him personally as her cruel and vindictive brother, Ixion, takes the lead. As a lower class dragonrider, Griff's dragon is muzzled, and he can only follow orders. He also spends all the time not riding tending to the higher born dragonriders. Although it may have seemed like a great opportunity, it was really another form of oppression.

All three are evaluating, fighting, and trying to do their best for their countries and friends - with political plots, rebellions, and the dangers of power, this is no easy task.

What I loved: FLAMEFALL is so much more than just a middle book in a trilogy. This book is absolutely fantastically written and thoroughly plotted. It is riveting right from the start and keeps the reader turning pages all the way until the shocking, cliffhanger end. The characters here are beautifully developed with complexity, realness, and multi-faceted personalities. The reader can understand their motivations, the difficulty of the decisions they face, and their reasons for their paths forward - as well as the complexity of the paths to get there. In an uncertain world with problems on every side, the enemies here are less clear than they may have seemed.

The themes of the book were really thought-provoking and beautifully displayed. These included discussions around war and the balance of win/loss, where even a "win" may feel like a loss with the toll and lives it can take. The stratification of society and systematic oppression was also really clear. Although no longer determined by socioeconomic class, the metals system of Callipolis introduces a new form of systematic oppression for people who do not take standardized tests well. It simply has a different veneer. In New Pythos, we see another example where those who are born into higher socioeconomic classes have all the power and control, simply because of their birth. The discussions around these are anything but simple, and the book raises some really great discussion questions about equality, distribution, and the trouble with politics/political power.

Classism is pervasive throughout as well, and in New Pythos, this is confounded with race where the Norcians are servants/slaves to the higher classes who have the dragons- but are the dragons merely the tools of oppression or are they part of the problem? That is a question that all countries will have to answer, particularly considering the way that other surrounding countries are run.

The complexity of rebellion, society, politics, and decisions in this series is really intriguing. Nothing is black and white, and I appreciated the way the sides are presented and the understanding that leads characters to make their own decisions about where they will stand when everything collapses around them.

As someone who appreciates romance as a secondary plot, the new romance we see, as well as the way consent develops and the ripples it has for the events about to unfold, was a great addition to the story. I also really enjoyed the plot twists throughout- this book shocked me and left me reeling several times. I also actually cried at a few places - this story is so immersive and the emotions so strong that it is hard not to get pulled into these characters' lives and grief.

Final verdict: Riveting, atmospheric, and thought-provoking, FLAMEFALL is a stunning YA fantasy read that will leave the reader breathless. Highly recommend for fans of RED QUEEN, SHATTER THE SKY, and THRONE OF GLASS.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

African Icons: Ten People Who Shaped History
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet the ten remarkable kings, queens, inventors, scholars, and visionaries...
Count to LOVE! (A Bright Brown Baby Board Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cuddle up with your little one and get ready to...
The Mystery of the Meanest Teacher: A Johnny Constantine Graphic Novel
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
THE MYSTERY OF THE MEANEST TEACHER: A JOHNNY CONSTANTINE GRAPHIC...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A shocking thriller about a group of friends who go...
Bird Boy
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take flight in this heartwarming story about a boy who...
Love You By Heart
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Acclaimed creator of The Word Collector, Happy Dreamer, Say Something,...
Fa-La-La Llama (Touch-and-Feel Board Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Get ready to deck the halls with these joyful, singing,...
The Oddmire, Book 3: Deepest, Darkest
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The third adventure in the beloved fantasy series full of...
The Oddmire, Book 2: The Unready Queen
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Human-raised brothers Tinn and Cole join forces with Fable, daughter...
The Oddmire, Book 1: Changeling
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is fading from the Wild Wood. To renew it,...
Our Way Back to Always
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
To All the Boys I've Loved Before meets Morgan Matson...
The Last Gate of the Emperor
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Kwame Mbalia and Prince Joel David Makonnen comes an...
Traitors Among Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
World War II may be over. But two sisters are...
The Devil Makes Three
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
When Tess and Eliot stumble upon an ancient book hidden...
African Icons: Ten People Who Shaped History
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet the ten remarkable kings, queens, inventors, scholars, and visionaries...
Liar's Room
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This spooky stand-alone from MG horror expert Dan Poblocki is...

Latest Member Reviews

Small Favors
 
4.0
"Amity Falls is a small, quiet, religious town surrounded by forests. Ellerie Downing lives there with her sisters, brother, and..."
 
3.0
"WHAT I LOVED: Thanks to my brother being big into Dungeons & Dragons, I have some familiarity with tabletop gaming..."
Our Way Back to Always
 
5.0
"OUR WAY BACK TO ALWAYS is a beautiful YA contemporary romance about two best friends, Sam and Lou. After a..."
Poison Ivy: Thorns
 
4.3
"POISON IVY: THORNS is an intriguing graphic novel that takes us back to the origin story for Poison Ivy. Pamela,..."
The Devil Makes Three
 
4.3
"THE DEVIL MAKES THREE is a dark YA horror that creeps up on you. The book follows two teens, Eliot..."
Poison Ivy: Thorns
 
4.3
"Let me start with the artwork. This was so beautifully done and I loved every single panel. It really pulled..."
Lies My Memory Told Me
 
4.7
"What I Loved: In Lies my Memory Told Me, Nova is the daughter of the people who created Enhanced Memory...."
The Dead and the Dark
 
5.0
"THE DEAD AND THE DARK is a deliciously creepy paranormal thriller/horror. Logan lives with her two fathers, who co-host a..."
The Great Destroyers
 
3.3
"THE GREAT DESTROYERS is an intriguing alternate history that brings robot fighting into the Cold War. Jo is a teenager..."
Fresh
 
4.3
"FRESH is an entertaining and thought-provoking coming-of-age story. Elliott is a middle child, heading to college far from home at..."
Illusionary (Hollow Crown, #2)
 
5.0
"ILLUSIONARY is a beautifully written sequel in a strong YA fantasy duology. The book begins after the first ended, with..."
Bluebird
 
5.0
"It's 1946 and Eva and her friend Brigit leave behind destroyed Berlin for New York City. Eva carries a deadly..."
Incendiary (Hollow Crown #1)
 
4.3
"INCENDIARY is an intriguing YA fantasy with rebellion, magic, and intrigue. Renata was stolen from her parents as a child..."
Love and Other Sins
 
5.0
"Read it in one sitting and can’t wait to read the next one!!"
 
4.3
"This was definitely an interesting book. I really enjoyed all of the witchy aspects of the book! It starts off..."
Small Favors
 
4.7
"SMALL FAVORS is a compelling, spooky, and atmospheric YA fantasy/horror that keeps the reader guessing. Ellerie is a young woman..."
Sidelined
 
4.7
"Julian is looking forward to his senior year in Meridien, Texas. He wants to play football and hopefully get scouted..."
Spectacle
 
3.7
"WHAT I LOVED: Nathalie Baudin is an extraordinary girl even before she discovers her psychometric abilities. She’s just sixteen,..."
Somewhere Only We Know
 
4.0
"Everything I know about K-pop comes from thirsty Twitter fancams, what has made it into the American mainstream, and an..."
A Song Below Water
 
4.3
"WHAT I LOVED: Tavia and Effie’s world is ours with just a little myth-made-real on top. The Hart family..."