Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 343
satisfying conclusion to a YA fantasy duology
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
RAVAGE THE DARK is a satisfying conclusion to a YA fantasy duology. In this sequel, we begin with Cayo, Amaya, and their friends heading to another land to try to track down the mysterious counterfeit money causing the ailments plaguing their kingdom. Cayo is wary of Amaya and concerned for his ill sister. Amaya is determined to get her revenge, but also to stop the unseen war of the wealthy that has destroyed so many lives.

Along with Liesl, who is searching for her sister on an unknown debtor's ship, and Remy, who has a surprising role in helping them to get answers, they embark on a dangerous journey through this unexpected place, full of secrets for them to uncover.

What I loved: This was a fast-moving book with lots of small heists along the way as they uncover new leads in trying to discover who is behind the counterfeit money and the related disease. At the same there, there are many side plots with each character having their own personal goals as well. Cayo is trying to overcome his addiction while also dealing with his fall from the upper class, keeping his sister in the hospital to get treatment, and earn money to do so. His arc here was really powerful as he learns to redefine himself and adjust to the world as it is. Amaya is also confronting her past with her feelings about Boon and finding her footing with the people she has known in her different lives as Silverfish and the Countess.

The romance was distant here, with more circling warily as they each much face their concerns separately and consider the larger problems. Despite that, I was still cheering for them, and I loved the way they interact with just the right touch of tension. The book does a good job of wrapping up the major plotlines, while also delivering a fast-paced mystery plot.

What left me wanting more: As a small concern, I did want a bit more character introspection (a lot happens here and characters evolve), and I missed a slower pace in places, as this is a lot to fit in one book. This is more of an action-driven plot with much happening throughout.

Final verdict: RAVAGE THE DARK is a satisfying conclusion to a unique YA fantasy duology. Would recommend for fans of FABLE, THE LAST VOYAGE OF POE BLYTHE, and SEAFIRE.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 2 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And not...
The Last Fallen Star (Gifted Clans, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Riley Oh can't wait to see her sister get initiated...
Take Me Home: Forests of the World
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Bite-sized facts about forests from around the globe, pointing out...
Hurricane Summer
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
In this sweeping debut, Asha Bromfield takes readers to the...
All Kinds of Other
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
In this tender, nuanced coming-of-age love story, two boys—one who...
Reign of Secrets
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
At the Midnight Ball, leave your inhibitions at the...
The Forest of Stolen Girls
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1426, Joseon (Korea). Hwani's family has never been the...
Go the Distance
 
4.5 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
What if Meg had to become a god? After...
In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A young prince must rely on a mysterious stranger...
These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When twin heirs are born in Tourin, their fates...
Take Me Home: Waters of the World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bite-sized facts about bodies of water from around the globe,...
This Is My America
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hate U Give meets Just Mercy in this unflinching...
Colors in Nature
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Magnificent, hand-painted illustrations by a rising star of Czech watercolor...
Welcome to Arizona
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Arizona! We're glad you're here! Introducing a new...
I Don't Want to Go to School
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
It's Mouse's first day of school. It's Dinosaur's first day...
Somewhere Between Bitter and Sweet
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
I'm Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter meets Emergency Contact...

Latest Member Reviews

Thirteen Therapists
 
5.0
"What a romp of a read! In a world foreign to many of us, in a world of butlers..."