Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 454
enchanting Phantom of the Opera retelling
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world, some people are born with special mutations that mark them as gravoirs or fendoirs, both of which are marked by physical birthmarks and which can manipulate memories through song. Fendoirs have limited abilities to extract elixir, the substance of memory, from people. This is bartered on the market, as each person has a limited amount that marks memory capacity. If you sell some, you will lose some memories and be unable to make that many new memories, since memories rewrite on the elixir you have. When ingested by another, the elixir adds to their memory capacity, creating someone (rich) with extra elixir and thus with photographic memory.

Gravoirs have additional abilities of being able to change, modify, and weaponize these memories. Both gravoirs and fendoirs need to hear a person sing to work their magic, but with the right enhancements, gravoirs are unlimited and thus feared. At birth, fendoirs must be turned over to the government to work as indentured servants their whole lives. Gravoirs at birth are killed.

Isda is a gravoir who lives in the opera with her father-figure, Cyril, who saved her after she was thrown in a well after her birth. She helps him with making his shows a success by altering the audience's memories. She lives under the opera, in the catacombs, and though she watches from afar, Cyril is the only person who knows she exists. That is, until she begins to talk to the janitor, Emeric, who has a beautiful voice that only needs a coach - a service Isda is eager to provide.

As they become closer, Isda will have to face her future, her choices, and reevaluate everything she has ever known.

What I loved: This is an absolutely lush and atmospheric read that pulls the reader into this well-constructed world. The book ended up being darker than I anticipated, and Isda's descent from manipulated and naïve to vengeful and aware was quite the journey. Isda was an intriguing character, built on the fear of her compatriots and hidden from their lives while existing on the periphery. Her personhood has not always been guaranteed, and whether she would be able to create her own future is anything but certain. The fear of differences is a theme seen throughout history, though manifested in a unique way in this book. Other themes including the power of acceptance, vengeance, and the making of villains were thought-provoking.

The plot and pacing builds smoothly to arrive at a crescendo, much like the thematic songs. This is a story that absorbs the reader with new twists and turns until we arrive at the climactic and tragic end. The romance similarly builds slowly with magnetic pull up to the unexpected twist. With the lush world-building, this was quite a consuming read.

Final verdict: Atmospheric, compelling, and riveting, SING ME FORGOTTEN is a dark and unique YA fantasy retelling of The Phantom of the Opera. Highly recommend for fans of WINTERSONG, THE SHADOW QUEEN, and HEARTLESS.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And not...
The Last Fallen Star (Gifted Clans, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Riley Oh can't wait to see her sister get initiated...
Take Me Home: Forests of the World
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Bite-sized facts about forests from around the globe, pointing out...
Hurricane Summer
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
In this sweeping debut, Asha Bromfield takes readers to the...
All Kinds of Other
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
In this tender, nuanced coming-of-age love story, two boys—one who...
Reign of Secrets
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
At the Midnight Ball, leave your inhibitions at the...
The Forest of Stolen Girls
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1426, Joseon (Korea). Hwani's family has never been the...
Go the Distance
 
4.5 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
What if Meg had to become a god? After...
In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A young prince must rely on a mysterious stranger...
These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When twin heirs are born in Tourin, their fates...
Take Me Home: Waters of the World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bite-sized facts about bodies of water from around the globe,...
This Is My America
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hate U Give meets Just Mercy in this unflinching...
Colors in Nature
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Magnificent, hand-painted illustrations by a rising star of Czech watercolor...
Welcome to Arizona
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Arizona! We're glad you're here! Introducing a new...
I Don't Want to Go to School
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
It's Mouse's first day of school. It's Dinosaur's first day...
Somewhere Between Bitter and Sweet
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
I'm Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter meets Emergency Contact...

Latest Member Reviews

The Chronicles of Narnia: The Magician's Nephew
 
4.5
"A prequel and an origin story; in more ways than one. It becomes easy to see..."
The Chronicles of Narnia: The Silver Chair
 
4.0
"Set somewhere around a year after the events of The Voyage of the Dawn Treader, Eustace Scrubb remains much better..."
Before I Fall
 
5.0
"Love this book! One of my favorites."
Resist: 35 Profiles of Ordinary People Who Rose Up Against Tyranny and Injustice
 
4.0
"This is a collection of brief biographies of people who stood up and resisted injustices and tyranny. There's a little..."
Beastly (Kendra Chronicles #1)
 
5.0
""Beastly" is a beautiful and amazing story of second chances, the importance of who you are within, and love. A..."
Abhorsen (Abhorsen #3)
 
4.0
"Picking up right where book #2’s cliffhangery ending left off, Garth Nix brings us the satisfying conclusion to his Abhorsen..."
Monster (Gone #7)
 
4.7
"I have loved all the books in the gone series and this one is no exception. Kept me entertained until..."
Monster (Gone #7)
 
4.7
"Let me start by saying that while this is the seventh (yes, seventh!) book in a series, I haven't ever..."
Fresh off the Boat
 
4.0
"Happy Philippine Independence Day! This is the reason why I picked up this book. June 12 is the day..."
Wicked Lovely (Wicked Lovely #1)
 
4.7
"This fast paced, action packed series is focused on the world that is filled with a variety of faeries that..."
The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (Chronicles of Narnia #1)
 
4.5
"I loved this series as a child, rereading these a number of times. I liked the first book, The Magician's..."
Beastly (Kendra Chronicles #1)
 
5.0
"Yeay! I finished the book! I have to admit, I decided to read this book again because of all the..."
Angus, Thongs & Full Frontal Snogging (Confessions of Georgia Nicolson #1)
 
4.0
DA Dragon Authors
"I (Erin) bought this one as a “blind date” from Malaprops. They wrap books in brown paper and write things..."
Enzo's Very Scary Halloween
 
4.0
"Enzo (dog) and Zoe (human) are both gearing up for Halloween in Garth Stein’s ENZO’S VERY SCARY HALLOWEEN. The story..."
Wicked Lovely (Wicked Lovely #1)
 
5.0
"I remember reading this when it first came out, it was everything I was looking for in a book, great..."
Angus, Thongs & Full Frontal Snogging (Confessions of Georgia Nicolson #1)
 
4.7
"I love this series more than life itself. Georgia is hilarious and someone we can all relate to. Non-stop..."
Coraline
 
4.5
"I still can’t believe that a novel such as Coraline is marketed and written for children. I was, frankly, terrified..."
Enzo's Very Scary Halloween
 
5.0
"Enzo's Very Scary Halloween is a cute children's book that tells the story of an adorable puppy named Enzo and..."
Absolute Brightness
 
3.7
KK Karen Klein
" I think there were many side tangents that were not important to the story and just didn’t seem to..."
 
4.7
"Note: this review is for the Vampire Kisses omnibus containing books 1-3. In this omnibus containing the first..."