Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 511
thought-provoking YA contemporary
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a name for herself as an influencer. While she initially started her profile to shout her political positions, it has turned into a lifestyle blog about fashion and LGBT rights. CeCe is bisexual, and she has been with her influencer girlfriend Silvie, for years. Together, as #Cevie, they are highly shipped and a OTP. Although they have been arguing more lately, CeCe really loves her - which is why she is thrown for a loop when Silvie says she wants to break up.

Feeling a little lost, CeCe begins to define herself, who she wants to be, and balance social media. When she meets a cute violinist who abhors social media, CeCe is conflicted about how much of her other life to share. Even though CeCe knows she is bi, her social media following doesn't seem like they will understand. When everything catches up to her, CeCe finds herself at the crossroads, where she will have to decide who she is and who she wants to be- on social media and IRL.

What I loved: The inclusion of the posts and comments from social media added something special to this story with some important themes. The book discusses how that B in LGBT+ fits into the spectrum and the prejudices those individuals face in identifying with some really poignant insights. This discussion really captures the challenges around being bisexual and the way this is accepted (or not) by the larger world poignantly.

I also appreciated the challenges and anxieties that CeCe faces in being true to herself - something that often seems difficult to do. Other themes such as the impact of social media on self-esteem and the feeling of being on both sides of the social media crosshairs feel really poignant in today's atmosphere, particularly given the challenges that teens may have in navigating them. This book could set the stage for some important conversations about social media and how to handle a virtual life psychologically and safely.

Another major theme was CeCe and wanting to be true to who she is, while also dealing with some social anxieties. I would have liked to see more resources for her in handling this, but I do appreciate the penultimate message of the importance of authenticity and being your true self.

In terms of the romance, it was cute and slow-building, but I think there was also strength in showing resilience after a surprising breakup. CeCe is shocked by Silvie's declaration, and dealing with the fallout is something most people will face at some point. This was mostly handled with grace throughout, while also showing the emotional difficulties of a breakup.

Final verdict: FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is an engaging YA contemporary about being authentic, living your life for yourself, and the pressures of social media. This would be a great book to help frame discussions around internet use as well as LGBTQIA+ issues.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 3 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When twin heirs are born in Tourin, their fates are...
The Mother of Monsters
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mischievous Ntombi is not at all afraid of the fearsome...
Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail: A Story from Chile
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Brave young Pedro faces monsters and greedy guards when he...
What Beauty There Is
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
What Beauty There Is is Cory Anderson's stunning YA...
Baseball Baby
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This original board book series, which begins with America's favorite...
I Am Not a Penguin
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This hilarious story of a pangolin with an identity crisis...
Poison Priestess (Lady Slayers, #2)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
In 17th-century Paris, 19-year-old Catherine Monvoisin is a well-heeled...
Sam Can't Sleep
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
When Sam can’t sleep, he decides to ask all the...
The Prison Healer (The Prison Healer, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kiva Meridan has spent the last ten years...
Fate Calling
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A cursed fae prince. A lonely human lass. A...
Welcome to California
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to California! We're glad you're here! Introducing a new...
Zoe Rosenthal is Not Lawful Good
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A buttoned-up overachiever works overtime to keep her inner...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi, this...
The Sky Above Us
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
From the author of We Speak in Storms comes...
Zoom: Dinosaur Adventure
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Join Jasmine and Jamie as they travel back in time...
Let's Pretend Fire Station
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It's a busy day at the fire station! Chldren can...

Latest Member Reviews

This is our Constitution: Discover America with a Gold Star Father
 
5.0
"This is our Constitution is an entertaining and educational text every student—and some adults—should read. The passion and profound respect..."
Americanized: Rebel Without a Green Card
 
4.0
"What worked: This memoir is the account of an undocumented teen living in the US during the 90s. She gives..."