Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 357
delightful sequel to an intense and snarky YA fantasy
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
CRUSH is an intense and nail-biting sequel to CRAVE. This second book picks up a few months after the first book with Grace coming back to her life without any memory of what happened over the past few months when she was stuck in stone. Back in her life, she has feelings she cannot explain and is haunted by the boy who shares her body, Hudson, the psychopath and brother of her mate, Jaxon.

Although she is the only one who can see or hear him (except when he takes over her body), getting him out will be quite the process, but Grace is determined to do so. In the meantime, she just has to deal with his snarky and (unfortunately) cute self taking up all her time, while also balancing her schoolwork, learning about her new powers, emotionally healing after the things her classmates put her through, and spending time with her friends and boyfriend.

To make things even better, the Circle has arrived with a vengeance, and Grace's future and life is hanging in the balance. You know, just another few months at Katmere, the school for the paranormal.

What I loved: One of the things I did not particularly enjoy about the first book was the instalove/mating bond elements of her quick relationship with Jaxon. I needed more oomph and substance in their relationship. Once the dust has proverbially settled in the first book, Grace begins evaluating their relationship on her own and figuring out what she wants and how Jaxon can fit into her life. This character growth was really rewarding to me, and I liked the way she developed in the romance field. I could totally see it coming, and I loved the slow path it took to get there. There was definitely a deeper and more mature Grace in this book.

Though the beginning of the book did take a bit to get underway as the scenes were set and roles were recast, the last half was a total nail-biter with all the action and intense plus emotional scenes you could ever want. I completely sped through them, and really loved it all. The ending scenes really blew me away, and I also really enjoyed the bonus scenes from another character's perspective as well. This book was even better than the first, and I am even more excited to see where this series will go. For readers who liked but did not fully love the first, they may love the second, so I would definitely recommend giving the second book a read- it is even better than anticipated.

This series still has space to grow as we continue to learn more about this world and the creatures who reside in it. I am definitely looking forward to continuing to learn more about it in future books.

Final verdict: Even better than the first, CRUSH is an intense and snarky YA fantasy read. Highly recommend for fans of Jennifer L. Armentrout's COVENANT and LUX series, TWILIGHT series, and THE MORTAL INSTRUMENTS series.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Traitors Among Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
World War II may be over. But two sisters are...
The Devil Makes Three
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
When Tess and Eliot stumble upon an ancient book hidden...
African Icons: Ten People Who Shaped History
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet the ten remarkable kings, queens, inventors, scholars, and visionaries...
Liar's Room
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This spooky stand-alone from MG horror expert Dan Poblocki is...
Manu: A Graphic Novel
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Set at a magical school for girls, a funny and...
Barakah Beats
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Nimra Sharif has spent her whole life in Islamic...
Cold-Blooded Myrtle (Myrtle Hardcastle #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Myrtle Hardcastle—twelve-year-old Young Lady of Quality and Victorian amateur detective—is...
How to Get Away with Myrtle (Myrtle Hardcastle #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Myrtle Hardcastle has no desire to go on a relaxing...
Playing the Cards Your Dealt
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ten-year-old Anthony Joplin has made it to double digits! Which...
Kyle's Little Sister
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My name is Grace, not "Kyle's little sister!" ...
Ground Zero
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In time for the twentieth anniversary of 9/11, master storyteller...
Final Season
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author and former NFL player...
Sunny Makes a Splash (Sunny #4)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The latest in the New York Times bestselling Sunny series...
The Magical Reality of Nadia (The Magical Reality of Nadia #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the author's real life experiences, this rollicking, charming...
What Adults Don’t Know About Architecture: Inspiring young minds to build a more beautiful world
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Children are rarely introduced properly to architecture, but there are...
The Curse of the Crystal Cavern (The Pathfinders Society #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fresh from their hair-raising adventures in The Mystery of the...

Latest Member Reviews

Traitors Among Us
 
5.0
"Sisters Krystia and Maria think they're safe after WWII ends. They've seen the horrors of the war ravage their native..."
The Devil Makes Three
 
4.3
"THE DEVIL MAKES THREE is a dark YA horror that creeps up on you. The book follows two teens, Eliot..."
Final Season
 
5.0
"Ben Redd enjoys playing football with his 6th grade friends, especially Tuna, even though sometimes the way they act worries..."
What Adults Don’t Know About Architecture: Inspiring young minds to build a more beautiful world
 
4.0
"This book is an interesting overview of a variety of architecture, although the vast majority of it is from western..."
The Curse of the Crystal Cavern (The Pathfinders Society #2)
 
4.0
"Kyle has settled in to life at Windrose with the help of camp mates and friends Vic, Beth, Harry, and..."
The Mystery of the Moon Tower (The Pathfinders Society)
 
4.0
"Kyle and his mother move back to Windrose, where his mother was raised, and she sends him to Merriweather's camp..."
Poison Ivy: Thorns
 
4.3
"Let me start with the artwork. This was so beautifully done and I loved every single panel. It really pulled..."
Lies My Memory Told Me
 
4.7
"What I Loved: In Lies my Memory Told Me, Nova is the daughter of the people who created Enhanced Memory...."
Signs of Survival A Memoir of the Holocaust
 
4.7
"What worked: This haunting memoir is about two young sisters who helped each other survive the Holocaust. Both of the..."
So. Many. Feelings Stickers: 2,700 Stickers for Every Mood
 
5.0
"SO. MANY. FEELINGS STICKERS is a fantastic and fun collection of stickers around emotions. With 2,700 stickers, it is difficult..."
Hi-Five Farm!
 
5.0
"HI-FIVE FARM! is an adorable board book adventure with opposites and hi-fives aplenty. The book features many barnyard animals offering..."
Sugar and Spite
 
4.0
"Jolina and her family have moved from Manila to the small island of Isla Pag-Ibig. After the death of her..."
The Dead and the Dark
 
5.0
"THE DEAD AND THE DARK is a deliciously creepy paranormal thriller/horror. Logan lives with her two fathers, who co-host a..."
Fearless
 
3.0
"Monica Garcia is thrilled to get an understudy role on Broadway. At 12, this is the first time she will..."
Revolution in Our Time: The Black Panther Party’s Promise to the People
 
5.0
"I've been looking forward to this nonfiction book since at least 2009, when The Rock and the River came out,..."
The Great Destroyers
 
3.3
"THE GREAT DESTROYERS is an intriguing alternate history that brings robot fighting into the Cold War. Jo is a teenager..."
Paradise on Fire
 
4.0
"Addy lives in the Bronx with her grandmother, Bibi, who has moved from Nigeria to care for her after the..."
Fresh
 
4.3
"FRESH is an entertaining and thought-provoking coming-of-age story. Elliott is a middle child, heading to college far from home at..."
Illusionary (Hollow Crown, #2)
 
5.0
"ILLUSIONARY is a beautifully written sequel in a strong YA fantasy duology. The book begins after the first ended, with..."
Bluebird
 
5.0
"It's 1946 and Eva and her friend Brigit leave behind destroyed Berlin for New York City. Eva carries a deadly..."