Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 740
Reckoning with depression
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
In a small, very white town, Morgan is trapped in the expectations and assumptions of everyone around her. She hasn't found a place to fit in, and her head is full of a pain she can't shake. Learning to live, learning to thrive, with depression is no easy task in any circumstance, let alone hers. But as Morgan finds new people and music, she discovers how to put her mental health first and how to flourish in the world she's in.

WHO PUT THIS SONG ON is a fantastic addition to the list of YA books that tackle mental health in an authentic way. Depression looks different for everyone, and marginalized identities alongside that create unique experiences. Morgan's depression involves tears, feelings of isolation, and loneliness. It also involves people second guessing her mental health and doubting her experience, something that is unfortunately all too common. Those who have experience with depression will likely find a strong connection with Morgan and those that don't will get an authentic glimpse into what living with depression can look like.

Morgan Parker has a distinct voice that makes these characters feel real and immediate, though the story is set in the 2000s. Young readers will get to view what it was like being a teenager, and specifically a Black teenager, as the Obama era was just starting. Music also plays a huge role in WHO PUT THIS SONG ON, highlighting the power of connection to discovering music that fits exactly what you feel, as well as the connections that can be formed when you share music with others.

Morgan Parker's WHO PUT THIS SONG ON pairs well with books like Tiffany D. Jackson's LET ME HEAR A RHYME and Cindy L. Rodriguez's WHEN REASON BREAKS.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

You Are Fantastic!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Hello!Lucky, the creators of My Mom Is Magical! and...
Early One Morning
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Join a little boy searching the farm for his breakfast...
Little Sap: The Magical Story of a Little Forest Family
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A little tree, guided by her family circle and forest...
The Little Things: A Story about Acts of Kindness
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
One girl’s simple act of kindness causes ripples in her...
The Cruelest Mercy (The Kinder Poison, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this sequel to The Kinder Poison—which People magazine proclaimed...
The City Beautiful
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death lurks around every corner in this unforgettable Jewish historical...
The Shape of Thunder
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cora hasn’t spoken to her best friend, Quinn, in a...
Everyone Dies Famous in a Small Town
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lyrical and heartfelt collection by an award-winning writer that...
The Republic of Birds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young witch must save her sister from evil birds...
Fearless
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Better Nate than Ever meets Love Sugar Magic in this...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It was a test, you fool,” she sneered, “to see...
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Caldecott Honor artist Anita Lobel comes a touching and...
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A playful board book about the pillars of mindfulness from...
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for the littlest bug buffs, this board book offers...
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After solving the case of Truly Devious, Stevie Bell...
Simone Breaks All the Rules
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of You Should See Me in...

Latest Member Reviews

No entries were found