Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 543
beautiful, raw, and resonant
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
AMELIA UNABRIDGED is an absolutely stunning and breathtaking YA read about grief, love, and healing. Everyone has a story about the first time they read the Orman Chronicles, a magical series that transports readers alongside two sisters into another world. Amelia's story is also the time that she met her best friend and the girl who changed her life, Jenna.

Together, the two are unstoppable, and they have big plans for their future. Beginning with their graduation gift from Jenna's parents to go to a book festival where the reclusive author of the Orman Chronicles will be making a big and rare announcement - and the two have VIP tickets to attend and get their books signed. When Amelia has to go to the bathroom, Jenna gets a chance to meet the author - right before the event is entirely canceled, leaving Amelia without her own chance. As feelings do not always make sense, they have a fight about it before Jenna heads to her big botanist trip abroad - a trip that Jenna does not return from after an unexpected car accident.

Set adrift, Amelia's world feels off kilter without Jenna - and then a rare edition of an Orman Chronicles book is delivered to her favorite bookstore, the one where the two friends met. Following the signs and trying to learn more about this gift from Jenna and the messages she may have left behind, Amelia heads to Michigan from Texas to the bookstore that sent this mysterious package. What she finds there is bigger and more important than anything she could have anticipated.

What I loved: This book is everything. It broke my heart into a million pieces so many times, and I loved every second of it. Amelia is raw, genuine, and heartfelt. Along with the other characters we get to meet during the story, they all burrow into the reader's heart and come to life throughout the book. The characters are truly phenomenal, and I was delighted to meet them all. They have flaws and histories, and they felt so true and real.

A major theme of the book is about loss, grief, and the guilt and sorrow the people we love leave behind. Although we only know Jenna for a few chapters, she lives during this time so fiercely that her loss resonates through Amelia and the pages of the book. Alongside other characters and their grief, this theme was quite powerful, with discussions about how to move forward after such a loss and redefine yourself in the wake of it.

Other themes around healing and being true to yourself also resonate in the book and create a really strong story. This book is an absolute gem. I also want to add that it may have one of the best epilogues I have ever read. It is difficult to do such a book justice in a review, but this book is every bit as magical as the series that features within.

Final verdict: Raw, heartfelt, and beautiful, AMELIA UNABRIDGED is a powerful read about grief, love, and finding your truths. Highly recommend for fans of IF I STAY, LOOKING FOR ALASKA, and BRIDGE TO TERABITHIA.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Mommy Loves You
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
With heart-shaped lift-the-flaps and a surprise mirror at the end,...
Calm Bunny (Yoga Tots)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Charming illustrations and step-by-step instructions take little ones through a...
The Problem with Pierre
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
The differences between Bertram and his neighbor Alan were never...
Noisy Tractor (I Can Learn)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Children will love to press the soft, silicone buttons on...
Ravage the Dark (Scavenge the Stars, #2)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Step into an opulent world filled with risk, romance, and...
Phoebe Unfired
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
CONNECTING IS TOUGH WHEN YOU CAN'T EVEN TOUCH ...
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A 13-year-old girl growing up in Mexico is visited by...
Admission
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lie. Cheat. Bribe. How far would you go to get...
Running
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Cuban American Mariana Ruiz’s father runs for president,...
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...

Latest Member Reviews

Speechless
 
4.7
"this story is amazing! i have a project for honors english 10, and this is a great story to chose..."
Toil & Trouble: 15 Tales of Women and Witchcraft
 
4.3
"WHAT I LOVED: The two stories that tie for the best of the anthology are Tess Sharpe’s “The Heart..."
Nightingale
 
4.0
"Amy Lukavics is one of my favorite horror writers. All of Lukavics's books are a little odd (in the best..."
Nexus (The Androma Saga #2)
 
3.7
"NEXUS is the second and final book in the Androma Saga and it picks up right where Zenith left off...."
Rogue (Talon #2)
 
4.3
"More dragons, what more could you want? Julie has done it again, not only has she written another fantastic..."
IF I FIX YOU
 
5.0
"The book is more like a 4.5 but I am going to give it a 5 star read because the..."
Stone Cold Touch (Dark Elements #2)
 
5.0
"This installment picks up just a few weeks after Roth has sacrificed himself at the end of White Hot Kiss...."
The Iron Flower (The Black Witch Chronicles Book 2)
 
5.0
"*I was lucky enough for NetGalley and Harlequin Teen to approve me for this ARC in exchange for an honest..."
Daughter of the Burning City
 
3.3
"Daughter of the Burning City was nothing like what I was expecting. For some strange reason I thought it would..."
The Iron Flower (The Black Witch Chronicles Book 2)
 
5.0
"Feedback Welcome to the resistance. What a sequel! This book was just as dense as the first book but..."
The Black Witch
 
5.0
"Feedback Wow, just wow. What an amazing story this was! This book was a little over 600 pages which..."
Shadow of the Fox (Shadow of the Fox #1)
 
5.0
"SHADOW OF THE FOX alternates POV between a half-kitsune named Yumeko and a samurai named Kage Tatsumi. After watching a..."
Shadow of the Fox (Shadow of the Fox #1)
 
5.0
"Julie Kagawa NEVER disappoints. As a fan who has been following her writing since The Iron Fey series came out,..."
North of Happy
 
4.0
""North of Happy" is a touching YA book about exploring your passions and recovering after tragedy. Carlos was in high..."
Frat Girl
 
4.0
"The writing style is what really stands out in this book-- SO easy to read, conversational, believable character interactions. It..."
Legacy of Kings
 
2.0
"Legacy of Kings was not a bad book per se, but I found it a confusing, frequently boring one. Perhaps..."
Frat Girl
 
4.3
"College life is rarely (if ever) simple, and in Kiley Roache's FRAT GIRL, Cassie Davis makes things even harder on..."
Zenith: The Androma Saga
 
4.0
"ZENITH: THE ANDROMA SAGA by Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings is a young adult science fiction novel that follows the..."
Ace of Shades
 
5.0
"When Enne's mother doesn't return home, Enne travels to the City of Sin and she's desperate to find her. It's..."
Someone to Love
 
4.3
"First off, I would like to give a trigger warning because the main character has bulimia and cuts herself. ..."