Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 658
powerful and unputdownable YA contemporary
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
SOMEWHERE BETWEEN BITTER AND SWEET is a highly devourable YA romance/contemporary fiction. The story follows two young adults, Pen and Xander. Pen works at her father's restaurant and one day dreams of opening her own bakery. Her parents have a different dream for her, and they have enrolled her in college - but it is not the future she wants. When she reveals the lie she has been telling her parents, she gets an ultimatum she never anticipated - but she is ready to rise from the ashes.

Xander is undocumented and lives with his abuelo. He knows his father is somewhere in the United States but hasn't heard from him or seen him since he was little. He really wants to be able to find him, but it is difficult to find someone who does not seem to want to be found. When he is given an opportunity to work at Pen's father's restaurant, he is surprised at how much of a family the workers all are and the unexpected ways in which they serve the community.

As Xander and Pen collide, their worlds are certain to change.

What I loved: Although the romance is powerful and strong (a totally ship-worthy couple), the book really shines for its many critical and potent themes. There is a theme about mental illness that is handled fairly well, particularly in terms of insights into the way it must be culturally ignored but also in the strength of facing it and seeking treatments (in the past). There are also really strong themes about family - both blood and found families, and the importance of those relationships in life and for personal growth.

There are also some deeper themes around the fear and uncertainties with being undocumented. Xander must always keep this in mind, and it's a heavy weight. The book also touches on predatory lending and the inability of law enforcement to adequately protect the people it serves around these issues as well as the ability of the wealthy and powerful to stand above it all.

There is a lot of love in the book that really shines through. There is friend love, family love, romantic love, neighborly love, community love, and so many more threads that connect these characters to the people around them. I definitely fell in love with all of it. Xander and Pen felt so genuine and real, as well as those characters around them - this book really brought this world to life, and I loved every second spent in it.

This was a highly emotional read and gave me all the feels. It's difficult to express all of them here, but I really enjoyed the sorrow, the depth, and the happiness that I experienced throughout. On a lighter note, I also felt pretty hungry, because the food passion also shines through the characters.

Final verdict: A powerful, genuine, and touching read, SOMEWHERE BETWEEN BITTER AND SWEET is a thought-provoking YA contemporary fiction that is positively unputdownable. Highly recommend for fans of TWEET CUTE, STAY SWEET, and NORTH OF HAPPY.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 2 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Goodnight, Little Llama
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Little Llama, who is about to make a very...
The Boy and the Sea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A picture book meditation on curiosity, wonder, and finding one’s...
In Your Cozy Bed
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
A soothing bedtime board book from the creators of In...
Chicks Rock!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rocker Chick overcomes stage fright to find her voice in...
The Beach (Bluey)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Read along and join Bluey's latest adventure! ...
All About Bluey
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Bluey! This lovable and imaginative Blue Heeler puppy is...
Instructions for Dancing
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
THE INSTANT #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The critically...
Jonathan: Prince of Dreams
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Still recovering from the tragic loss of his mother, typical...
Missing the Beat
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The dream job? Check. The best friends? Check....
Meeting the Star
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The spotless reputation? Check. The gorgeous movie star?...
Making the Play
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The school of her dreams? Check. The perfect...
Runaway : Immortals of Indriell
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
They claim her mother died a hero. They...
The Cruelest Mercy (The Kinder Poison, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this sequel to The Kinder Poison—which People magazine...
Kneel
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This fearless debut novel explores racism, injustice, and self-expression...
The Tragedy of Dane Riley
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teen confronts his feelings about his father’s death,...
Heartbreakers and Fakers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the author of The Best Laid Plans comes...

Latest Member Reviews

Take the Mic: Fictional Stories of Everyday Resistance
 
4.0
"This is the type of book I’d like to see included in school curriculums. The stories are like wide open..."
Brawler
 
4.7
"Eddie McGuire is a talented high school wrestler with a horribly short fuse. This is no doubt a result of..."
Secrets of a Fangirl
 
5.0
"Sarah Anne is the biggest fan of the MK Nightshade series, but it's taboo in the popular world of her..."
Secrets of a Fangirl
 
4.0
"SECRETS OF A FANGIRL is a fun contemporary middle grade about embracing yourself for who you are and what you..."
The Moon Within
 
5.0
"What worked: Latinx ARE YOU THERE GOD, IT'S ME MARGARET. I LOVE how the author shows a strong preteen heroine..."
Cicada
 
3.5
"CICADA tells the story of working in a corporate job. Cicada is a good employee who works hard and doesn’t..."
Gamer Army
 
4.0
"In a futuristic society where almost everything has gone online, Rogan spends a lot of his time playing the game..."
The Homework Strike
 
4.0
"'The Homework Strike' by Greg Pincus is a relevant and worthwhile story about the power of standing up and fighting..."
Give Me Some Truth
 
4.3
"Carson Mastick and Magpie "Maggi" Bokoni are two Native American high school students living on a reservation outside of Niagara..."
A Werewolf Named Oliver James
 
4.5
"Every day after band practice, Oliver James must be home by six o'clock sharp for dinner. However, tonight is different..."
The Parker Inheritance
 
4.0
"Candice's grandmother was a city official in the small town of Lambert before she fell into disrepute. She thought there..."
Rabbit Moon
 
4.0
"A very cute bedtime story. Rabbit lives on the moon. Each night, children make wishes and they travel to..."
Silent Days, Silent Dreams
 
4.0
"Artist James Castle was born with many problems right before the turn of the last century. Raised on a farm,..."
The Wolf Hour
 
3.0
"THE WOLF HOUR by Sara Lewis Holmes is both a fairytale retelling and something new entirely. The book focuses on..."
Love, Santa
 
5.0
"LOVE, SANTA was so beautifully written and is the perfect way to tell your little one the truth about Santa...."
Shadowhouse Fall The Shadowshaper Cypher series (Book 2)
 
4.3
"I'm a huge fan of diverse novels, especially ones that are set in the paranormal world. I was beyond excited..."
Honestly Ben
 
5.0
"Ben Carver is a perfectly normal high-achieving boy. He is a scholarship student at a fancy private school. He has..."
The Singing Bones
 
4.0
"This wonderfully creepy anthology of the Grimm Brother’s fairy tales, THE SINGING BONES is a perfect read-aloud addition to bedtime..."
Princess! Fairy! Ballerina!
 
3.5
"Fairy! Princess! Ballerina! is the ultimate read for all children! From the beginning, I felt a bit unsure about where..."
Almost Autumn
 
3.3
"'Almost Autumn' by Marianne Kaurin, and translated by Rosie Hedger, is a retelling of the Holocaust and its impact in..."