Review Detail

Watch Over Me Featured
Young Adult Fiction 449
Watch Over Me
(Updated: January 22, 2021)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Eighteen-year-old Mila has just graduated from high school and aged out of the foster care program. So when a job prospect to teach on a farm comes up, she's quick to jump at it. Only thing is the farm is isolated and rumor has it that there are ghosts. Mila at first is troubled when she does in fact see ghosts, but soon grows comfortable on the farm and teaching Lee, a young boy. But not all is what it seems. Mila has her own secrets. Secrets that come back to her of the time she spend with her mother and boyfriend. Haunting memories that Mila's been running from.

What worked: Just omg, this book kept me glued to the very end! Quiet, heartwrenching tale of a foster teen who goes to work on a secluded farm and runs into not only figurative ghosts, but literal ones as well.

Mila's voice is one of a teen struggling with a painful secret. A secret that she fears will have others reject her. I really loved how readers see Mila's new simplistic life on a farm hidden away from others. Mila's determination to 'fit' in with the new people in her life is realistic and touching.

At first, I didn't know if the 'ghosts' Mila and the others on the farm saw were in fact real or not. There was times that had me gasping out loud on a reveal. Lots of twists with the plot. Great pacing and quiet tension. More psychological at times, but still hints of horror are hinted at.

One big theme throughout though is loss, grief, and forgiveness. Beautifully crafted. Loved this story so much!

Evocative, haunting story of a girl who tries hard to find a home and in the end learns she has to face her own truths. No matter how painful and hard that might be.
Good Points
1. Evocative
2. Haunting tale
3. Quiet, heartwrenching
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Phoebe Unfired
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
CONNECTING IS TOUGH WHEN YOU CAN'T EVEN TOUCH ...
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A 13-year-old girl growing up in Mexico is visited by...
Admission
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lie. Cheat. Bribe. How far would you go to get...
Running
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Cuban American Mariana Ruiz’s father runs for president,...
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...

Latest Member Reviews

No entries were found