Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 484
3 Reasons You Need This Book In Your Life
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
I love the Wayward Children series, and the latest installment, ACROSS THE GREEN GRASS FIELDS, is no exception. Here are 3 reasons to read it:

1.) One word: Centaurs. When Regan, a horse loving young girl, is transported to a world of centaurs, she's finally found a place she belongs. I've read plenty of fantasy books where centaurs are mentioned and maybe one or two where a minor character is a centaur. In ACROSS GREEN GRASS FIELDS, we get to see a whole world of centaurs and what their lives are like in the Hooflands. It's creative and mesmerizing.

2.) This is a perfect stepping point into the series. The Wayward Children series follows a pattern of past and present in the book releases. The first book takes place in the present, focusing on a school for wayward children who have returned from portal worlds. The second book provides the background of a character, telling the story of their own journey into their portal world, and the series continues alternating. In the first 5 books, you meet new characters, but the central group is largely the same. In ACROSS GREEN GRASS FIELDS, you get the background of a new-to-the-series character, Regan. It is likely she will meet the central group in book 7, but for book 6, you don't have to have any prior knowledge of the series going in. It's a great introduction if you want to see if you would like the series and want to commit to reading the prior books (it should be noted that each book is a novella, so the books aren't terribly long).

3.) The themes of found family and belonging- While growing up, Regan is desperate to fit in. She sees what it's like when you don't fit a very specific mold of what a 'girl' should be, and it scares her. The only time she feels truly comfortable and herself is when she is with horses. There is so much beauty when she crosses world and finds a place to belong. Ironically, in the Hooflands, humans are rare and singled out, yet it is in that space where she finds a family who treats her with respect and love, as one of their own. I loved her adventures and the way she grew into herself in her new home.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When twin heirs are born in Tourin, their fates are...
The Mother of Monsters
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mischievous Ntombi is not at all afraid of the fearsome...
Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail: A Story from Chile
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Brave young Pedro faces monsters and greedy guards when he...
What Beauty There Is
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
What Beauty There Is is Cory Anderson's stunning YA...
Baseball Baby
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This original board book series, which begins with America's favorite...
I Am Not a Penguin
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This hilarious story of a pangolin with an identity crisis...
Poison Priestess (Lady Slayers, #2)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
In 17th-century Paris, 19-year-old Catherine Monvoisin is a well-heeled...
Sam Can't Sleep
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
When Sam can’t sleep, he decides to ask all the...
The Prison Healer (The Prison Healer, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kiva Meridan has spent the last ten years...
Fate Calling
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A cursed fae prince. A lonely human lass. A...
Welcome to California
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to California! We're glad you're here! Introducing a new...
Zoe Rosenthal is Not Lawful Good
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A buttoned-up overachiever works overtime to keep her inner...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi, this...
The Sky Above Us
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
From the author of We Speak in Storms comes...
Zoom: Dinosaur Adventure
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Join Jasmine and Jamie as they travel back in time...
Let's Pretend Fire Station
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It's a busy day at the fire station! Chldren can...

Latest Member Reviews

This is our Constitution: Discover America with a Gold Star Father
 
5.0
"This is our Constitution is an entertaining and educational text every student—and some adults—should read. The passion and profound respect..."
Americanized: Rebel Without a Green Card
 
4.0
"What worked: This memoir is the account of an undocumented teen living in the US during the 90s. She gives..."