Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 591
DEV1AT3 by Jay Kristoff Book Review
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Feedback

What a difference between book 1 and book 2. I enjoyed this one so much more, and I have my guesses why. First, the writing - I don't remember the first book being as funny as this one. The dialogue was better between the characters, and I found myself laughing and enjoying this book more. It was really nice to see more of the world also. The first book did traverse the land, but I felt like this book explored more of the settlements. This provided an interesting look at how this world had really fared after the war. I thought the pacing was better for this book as well. Maybe it was because I was more into the story, but it flew and I wanted to keep continuing. One of my issues with the first book was I never got that wow moment since I guessed the twists early on. However, this book was different. I did not see the twists coming and that kept my interest more. After finishing LIFEL1K3, I was in no rush to continue the story. But after finished DEV1AT3, I cannot wait to continue!

Thank goodness for Lemon Fresh. Seriously. As much as I loved her in the first book, I love her even more now. I am so glad that the majority of the book takes place from her perspective. Honestly though, she definitely saved this book for me because I enjoy her character so much. Throughout the first book, and most of this one, she refers to herself as the sidekick, or the side character, but she really is a main character. Her resourcefulness, cunning, and attitude really makes her shine. I was intrigued to find out more about her and the other deviates she meets as well. The other point of view provided is Cricket's. I found this interesting and I'm glad it was added in. It brought a new viewpoint into the robots thinking and how the laws really do affect them. This also introduced new characters and I was interested in them the entire time. Ezekiel's chapters were just as intriguing. His character definitely grew and I am curious on how his character is going to turn out in the next book. Thank goodness Eve's chapters were at a bare minimum. Oh my goodness I cannot stand her character! I get it, she was lied to her entire life but they make it seem like she never had any choices. From what I read, Silas did give her choices and Eve did spend her life as her own. Understandably why Silas never told her who she was but all of the sudden she forgot everything and was like "I'm bad now." It was just so annoying and unrealistic. In this first book I just thought her character was okay but now, nope - I don't like her at all. It's to the point where I don't want her redeemed (if that's even possible), just let her go.

Overall, DEV1AT3 by Jay Kristoff was such a great sequel. While I enjoyed the first book, this one was so much better. The characters, dialogue, and general story surpassed the LIFEL1K3. I absolutely loved that this book was mostly from Lemon Fresh's point of view. She is such an amazing character and the fact that we got more of her really made this better. The addition of Cricket's point of view really helped this story as well. It gave a new outlook on his character, and the robots as well. What I really didn't like about this book was Eve. I honestly could not stand her character and was so relieved that she only had a couple of scenes. Her progression, if you can call it progression, was just annoying and I just don't like her. I do recommend this book though, even if you weren't really a fan of the first, because it was so much better.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When twin heirs are born in Tourin, their fates are...
The Mother of Monsters
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mischievous Ntombi is not at all afraid of the fearsome...
Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail: A Story from Chile
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Brave young Pedro faces monsters and greedy guards when he...
What Beauty There Is
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
What Beauty There Is is Cory Anderson's stunning YA...
Baseball Baby
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This original board book series, which begins with America's favorite...
I Am Not a Penguin
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This hilarious story of a pangolin with an identity crisis...
Poison Priestess (Lady Slayers, #2)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
In 17th-century Paris, 19-year-old Catherine Monvoisin is a well-heeled...
Sam Can't Sleep
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
When Sam can’t sleep, he decides to ask all the...
The Prison Healer (The Prison Healer, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kiva Meridan has spent the last ten years...
Fate Calling
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A cursed fae prince. A lonely human lass. A...
Welcome to California
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to California! We're glad you're here! Introducing a new...
Zoe Rosenthal is Not Lawful Good
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A buttoned-up overachiever works overtime to keep her inner...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi, this...
The Sky Above Us
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
From the author of We Speak in Storms comes...
Zoom: Dinosaur Adventure
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Join Jasmine and Jamie as they travel back in time...
Let's Pretend Fire Station
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It's a busy day at the fire station! Chldren can...

Latest Member Reviews

The Mother of Monsters
 
4.5
"‘The Mother of Monsters’ by Fran Parnell, illustrated by Sophie Fatus, tells the story of Ntombi, the chief's daughter. She..."
Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail: A Story from Chile
 
4.5
"‘Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail’ by Fran Parnell, illustrated by Sophie Fatus, is great for younger elementary readers and anyone who..."
Baseball Baby
 
5.0
"BASEBALL BABY is a delightful board book about baseball. The book begins with heading to the park to play baseball..."
I Am Not a Penguin
 
4.0
"I AM NOT A PENGUIN is a silly picture book that manages to teach young readers about pangolins. A pangolin..."
Sam Can't Sleep
 
4.5
"SAM CAN'T SLEEP is a fun picture book read that introduces the concept of nocturnal animals. It's nighttime, and all..."
Welcome to California
 
4.0
"WELCOME TO CALIFORNIA is a fun picture book of facts about the state. It covers topics from the state capitol..."
Zoom: Dinosaur Adventure
 
4.5
"ZOOM: DINOSAUR ADVENTURE takes the reader on a journey to the time of the dinosaurs. Jamie and Jasmine are going..."
Let's Pretend Fire Station
 
5.0
"LET'S PRETEND FIRE STATION is a delightful peek-through board book about firefighters. The book features pictures of children, firetrucks, and..."
Rosa Loves Dinosaurs / A Rosa Le Encantan Los Dinosaurios
 
3.5
"ROSA LOVES DINOSAURS/ A ROSA LE ENCANTAN LOS DINOSAURIOS is a fun bilingual board book about a love of dinosaurs...."
Eva Evergreen, Semi-Magical Witch
 
5.0
"Eva Evergreen is a young witch about to embark on her Novice Quest. As the daughter of one of the..."
Homer on the Case
 
4.5
"HOMER ON THE CASE is a delightful middle grade mystery, featuring unlikely detectives. Homer, a homing pigeon, and Lulu, a..."
The Thingity-Jig
 
5.0
"THE THINGITY-JIG is a fun picture book read about invention and friendship. Although all his friends are asleep, Bear feels..."
Bridge of Souls (City of Ghosts #3)
 
4.0
"What worked: This is a satisfying conclusion to City of Ghosts series. Engaging characters, fast-paced plot, and spooky magic woven..."
This is Your World
 
5.0
"THIS IS YOUR WORLD is a lovely picture book that introduces the world and the importance of taking care of..."
Mermaid Life: The Joy of Making Waves
 
5.0
"MERMAID LIFE is a fun collection of artwork themed around mermaids. With a few fun facts, silly moments, and inspirational..."
Yawn
 
4.5
"YAWN is a cute book about the contagious nature of yawns. A little boy begins a yawn that carries through..."
The Bear in the Boat
 
4.5
"THE BEAR IN THE BOAT is a sweet story of kindness and helping your neighbors. A storm is arriving, and..."
It's Bath Time! (Indestructibles)
 
4.5
"IT'S BATH TIME! is an adorable installment in the Indestructibles series. The book features baby animals and baby who have..."
I Really, Really Need to Pee!
 
4.0
"I REALLY, REALLY NEED TO PEE! is a silly picture book about a bush baby that is out and about..."
Bloom
 
4.5
"BLOOM is a sweet picture book about the power of kind words. A young girl passes by a beautiful flower..."