Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 623
DEV1AT3 by Jay Kristoff Book Review
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Feedback

What a difference between book 1 and book 2. I enjoyed this one so much more, and I have my guesses why. First, the writing - I don't remember the first book being as funny as this one. The dialogue was better between the characters, and I found myself laughing and enjoying this book more. It was really nice to see more of the world also. The first book did traverse the land, but I felt like this book explored more of the settlements. This provided an interesting look at how this world had really fared after the war. I thought the pacing was better for this book as well. Maybe it was because I was more into the story, but it flew and I wanted to keep continuing. One of my issues with the first book was I never got that wow moment since I guessed the twists early on. However, this book was different. I did not see the twists coming and that kept my interest more. After finishing LIFEL1K3, I was in no rush to continue the story. But after finished DEV1AT3, I cannot wait to continue!

Thank goodness for Lemon Fresh. Seriously. As much as I loved her in the first book, I love her even more now. I am so glad that the majority of the book takes place from her perspective. Honestly though, she definitely saved this book for me because I enjoy her character so much. Throughout the first book, and most of this one, she refers to herself as the sidekick, or the side character, but she really is a main character. Her resourcefulness, cunning, and attitude really makes her shine. I was intrigued to find out more about her and the other deviates she meets as well. The other point of view provided is Cricket's. I found this interesting and I'm glad it was added in. It brought a new viewpoint into the robots thinking and how the laws really do affect them. This also introduced new characters and I was interested in them the entire time. Ezekiel's chapters were just as intriguing. His character definitely grew and I am curious on how his character is going to turn out in the next book. Thank goodness Eve's chapters were at a bare minimum. Oh my goodness I cannot stand her character! I get it, she was lied to her entire life but they make it seem like she never had any choices. From what I read, Silas did give her choices and Eve did spend her life as her own. Understandably why Silas never told her who she was but all of the sudden she forgot everything and was like "I'm bad now." It was just so annoying and unrealistic. In this first book I just thought her character was okay but now, nope - I don't like her at all. It's to the point where I don't want her redeemed (if that's even possible), just let her go.

Overall, DEV1AT3 by Jay Kristoff was such a great sequel. While I enjoyed the first book, this one was so much better. The characters, dialogue, and general story surpassed the LIFEL1K3. I absolutely loved that this book was mostly from Lemon Fresh's point of view. She is such an amazing character and the fact that we got more of her really made this better. The addition of Cricket's point of view really helped this story as well. It gave a new outlook on his character, and the robots as well. What I really didn't like about this book was Eve. I honestly could not stand her character and was so relieved that she only had a couple of scenes. Her progression, if you can call it progression, was just annoying and I just don't like her. I do recommend this book though, even if you weren't really a fan of the first, because it was so much better.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

You Are Fantastic!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Hello!Lucky, the creators of My Mom Is Magical! and...
Early One Morning
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Join a little boy searching the farm for his breakfast...
Little Sap: The Magical Story of a Little Forest Family
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A little tree, guided by her family circle and forest...
The Little Things: A Story about Acts of Kindness
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
One girl’s simple act of kindness causes ripples in her...
The Cruelest Mercy (The Kinder Poison, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this sequel to The Kinder Poison—which People magazine proclaimed...
The City Beautiful
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death lurks around every corner in this unforgettable Jewish historical...
The Shape of Thunder
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cora hasn’t spoken to her best friend, Quinn, in a...
Everyone Dies Famous in a Small Town
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lyrical and heartfelt collection by an award-winning writer that...
The Republic of Birds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young witch must save her sister from evil birds...
Fearless
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Better Nate than Ever meets Love Sugar Magic in this...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It was a test, you fool,” she sneered, “to see...
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Caldecott Honor artist Anita Lobel comes a touching and...
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A playful board book about the pillars of mindfulness from...
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for the littlest bug buffs, this board book offers...
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After solving the case of Truly Devious, Stevie Bell...
Simone Breaks All the Rules
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of You Should See Me in...

Latest Member Reviews

Amazing Islands
 
4.5
"'Amazing Islands' by Sabrina Weiss and Kerry Hyndman is a beautifully illustrated book, chock full of valuable information about islands..."