Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 338
intriguing conclusion with mystery, action, and found family
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
THE EVER AFTER is the final book in the YA fantasy Omte Origins series, and it goes out with a bang. At the beginning of the book, we join Ulla on a plane that she cannot remember getting onto and at a time that is later than the last she remembers. As for what happened during her missing month, she knows that it must have been important, and the hints of memories she gets suggests that horrific things were done to her and her companions.

As Ulla tries to put together her missing memories from that month, she and her friends must learn quickly - as they soon begin to learn that the fate of the world may depend on their memories and action on those.

What I loved: This world is fascinating with trolls, magic, and connections to other worlds. Ulla is on a quest to figure out who she is and why she was abandoned as an infant - and the answers have been anything but forthcoming. She was led to a man who claims to be her and other trolls' father, leaving many dead in his wake. Her quest for family and belonging is understandable and the questions that arise during this search lead her to reevaluate the importance of blood vs found family. I found these themes intriguing, though they are definitely overshadowed by the mysteries of the missing memories.

The plot moved really quickly at first as we puzzle through the sparse memories with Ulla. The end switches gears a bit, but I really enjoyed the first parts of the book and the search for memories and family. I also really loved that the conclusion surprised me with its reveals about this world at large.

What left me wanting more: The latter part of the book suddenly changes points-of-view to give other characters' perspectives, and I found this a bit jarring to keep switching perspectives, and it took me out of the story a bit. There were also some leaps made in terms of the plot that were at times hard to go with the flow, as they created a lot of questions, but they were necessary for the story - I would have liked a bit more explanation around certain things so that I could understand why particular characters did what they did/switched gears at times. The romance also felt lackluster to me, but it was a background plot by quite a bit, so this did not bother me as much.

Final verdict: Overall, THE EVER AFTER is an intriguing conclusion to the Omte Origins trilogy. With mystery, action, and found family, this series is perfect for fans of YA fantasy and Hocking's earlier books.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Phoebe Unfired
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
CONNECTING IS TOUGH WHEN YOU CAN'T EVEN TOUCH ...
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A 13-year-old girl growing up in Mexico is visited by...
Admission
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lie. Cheat. Bribe. How far would you go to get...
Running
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Cuban American Mariana Ruiz’s father runs for president,...
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...

Latest Member Reviews

Switched at Birthday
 
4.0
"'Switched at Birthday' by Natalie Standiford is a cute fantasy story about the power of empathy. Main characters Lavender and..."
The Time of the Fireflies
 
5.0
"In The Time of the Fireflies, twelve-year-old Larissa Renaud immediately reveals her chaotic family life and her inner turmoil as..."
Switched at Birthday
 
4.0
"I had the privilege of reading and reviewing The Secret Tree a couple of years ago, and so I was..."
Meeting Cezanne
 
4.0
"Yannick is a lonely boy visiting the Provence region of France, where he wanders the fields and forests, wonders about..."
The Door
 
5.0
"Reminiscent of Clive Barker's ABARAT series, THE DOOR is a magical adventure filled with twisty turns and strange wonders. ..."
Bluffton: My Summers with Buster Keaton
 
4.0
"This book starts out slow and sleepy, like a warm summer day. Readers who enjoy flashy, humorous graphic novels or..."
The Little Leftover Witch
 
3.0
"When Felina, a young witch, crash lands near Lucinda's house on Halloween, Lucinda's family, the Doons, take her in. Since..."
The Little Leftover Witch
 
3.0
"What a cute little story this one is! Short and sweet, The Little Leftover Witch is a story that features..."
Beholding Bee
 
5.0
"Pick up this book. Behold, in your hands, you hold a magical story that will write itself on your heart...."
The Passover Lamb
 
4.5
"A young Jewish girl, who is excited and prepared for Passover and her first recital of the 'four questions' during..."
Homesick
 
3.0
"Benny's mother has finally had it with the junk that his father brings home, especially since he has lost the..."
Summer at Forsaken Lake
 
5.0
"Nicholas and his twin sisters Hayley and Hetty are sent to a small Ohio lake front town to stay with..."
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
 
4.0
"A brilliant read. The narrative voice is so authentic I had to wonder if this was in some part a..."