Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 329
engaging STEM-themed YA contemporary romance
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
THE QUANTUM WEIRDNESS OF THE ALMOST-KISS is a delightful YA STEM-themed romance. Evie and Caleb have been BFFs since they were five. Now that they are teens, they attend the same boarding school together for teens who are gifted in mathematics, physics, programming, and engineering. Evie has trouble connecting with other people, in no small part because of her social anxiety and panic attacks, which are under control with cognitive-behavioral therapy. They have long been exacerbated by the horrible and intense bullying she experienced at past schools - though luckily, that is not the same at the current school. She may also be on the spectrum of neurodivergence, as she has trouble reading and understanding people's emotions.

Although many boys have seemed interested in Evie, she has not found herself romantically interested in any of them - until Leo, the new boy who is also gifted with mathematics like Evie. Caleb has been in love with Evie for as long as he can remember, but she has not been interested in anything but their whole-hearted friendship and deep understanding. Caleb is the most important person in her life, but she is starting to understand the desire for physical romantic connections with the feelings she gets from Leo. Told in both Evie and Caleb's points-of-view, we follow them during an eventful year of romances and pining, where they also attempt to win a major prize that could change their futures.

What I loved: I really love the perspectives on STEM, toxic family, and deep friendships (Caleb and Bex). As a female in mathematics, Evie experiences prejudice from teachers and adults that force her to have to prove her abilities - something that would not happen if she was a boy. This theme was really well woven throughout the book with Evie's experiences and mentioned regarding other classmates who experience similar prejudices not being white. A lot of the book takes place internally, and I felt that this really brought both Evie and Caleb to life, as well as expounded on internal struggles so well.

The romance is definitely the focus of the book, and there is a lot of related angst and tension. I actually really enjoyed the journey and was captivated by the story and the will-they-won't-they vibes. The perspectives and writing really pull the reader in and keep the book flowing well. The addition of the competition was a great way to bring them all together.

I also really appreciated that the book shows the importance of therapy through some of Evie's sessions and her reflections. This also gives her the courage to tackle problems with her toxic family, particularly her mother whose controlling and single-minded sentiments could have dangerous consequences. The boundaries that Evie creates for herself with the aid of her therapist set a good example.

Final verdict: This book is ultimately a charming friends-to-more, STEM-themed YA contemporary romance. Recommend for fans of THE CODE FOR LOVE AND HEARTBREAK, THE KISS QUOTIENT, and FOUR DAYS OF YOU AND ME.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Phoebe Unfired
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
CONNECTING IS TOUGH WHEN YOU CAN'T EVEN TOUCH ...
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A 13-year-old girl growing up in Mexico is visited by...
Admission
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lie. Cheat. Bribe. How far would you go to get...
Running
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Cuban American Mariana Ruiz’s father runs for president,...
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...

Latest Member Reviews

Switched at Birthday
 
4.0
"'Switched at Birthday' by Natalie Standiford is a cute fantasy story about the power of empathy. Main characters Lavender and..."
The Time of the Fireflies
 
5.0
"In The Time of the Fireflies, twelve-year-old Larissa Renaud immediately reveals her chaotic family life and her inner turmoil as..."
Switched at Birthday
 
4.0
"I had the privilege of reading and reviewing The Secret Tree a couple of years ago, and so I was..."
Meeting Cezanne
 
4.0
"Yannick is a lonely boy visiting the Provence region of France, where he wanders the fields and forests, wonders about..."
The Door
 
5.0
"Reminiscent of Clive Barker's ABARAT series, THE DOOR is a magical adventure filled with twisty turns and strange wonders. ..."
Bluffton: My Summers with Buster Keaton
 
4.0
"This book starts out slow and sleepy, like a warm summer day. Readers who enjoy flashy, humorous graphic novels or..."
The Little Leftover Witch
 
3.0
"When Felina, a young witch, crash lands near Lucinda's house on Halloween, Lucinda's family, the Doons, take her in. Since..."
The Little Leftover Witch
 
3.0
"What a cute little story this one is! Short and sweet, The Little Leftover Witch is a story that features..."
Beholding Bee
 
5.0
"Pick up this book. Behold, in your hands, you hold a magical story that will write itself on your heart...."
The Passover Lamb
 
4.5
"A young Jewish girl, who is excited and prepared for Passover and her first recital of the 'four questions' during..."
Homesick
 
3.0
"Benny's mother has finally had it with the junk that his father brings home, especially since he has lost the..."
Summer at Forsaken Lake
 
5.0
"Nicholas and his twin sisters Hayley and Hetty are sent to a small Ohio lake front town to stay with..."
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
 
4.0
"A brilliant read. The narrative voice is so authentic I had to wonder if this was in some part a..."