Review Detail

To Whatever End Featured
Young Adult Fiction 677
YA romance
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
TO WHATEVER END is a YA contemporary with a magical twist - the main character is able to see the end of her relationship with someone whenever she touches them. Although she is powerless to change the ending, she has not given up hope of being able to do so through her choices. When she meets a guy at a museum, she sees them confessing their love for each other as he is dying in her arms. Although she knows from past experience that she would be unable to change it, she is determined to try.

As they get to know each other, odd things are happening and they seem to be escalating. Whether Quinn will be able to get to the cause of it all is uncertain - and she knows it's only a matter of time before the end of their relationship plays out in real life.

The premise of this was really intriguing, with Quinn being able to see the end of any relationship with a touch (be it friendship, romance, acquaintance). However, we did not get a lot of insight into this "curse" or why it is handed down through the family. I would have liked more knowledge of it and why fate seems so unbreakable. It straddled the line of a thriller, with the crimes and the person behind it all upping the ante along the way, but the pace and cadence of the book was heavily weighted to romance and the focus on her relationship with Griffin.

In terms of the romance, it fell a little flat for me with Quinn being "different than other girls" and spending a lot of time interrogating Griffin to figure out who would try to kill him (with the motive being to change their future ending). They also straddle adulthood with Griffin living on his own and being out of high school, while Quinn is still in and planning to apply to art school. I think with the magic and thriller/mystery elements, the plot was stretched a little thin and needed more weight on one or another.

I do think this would appeal to fans of EVERMORE and BEAUTIFUL CREATURES. Overall, TO WHATEVER END has an interesting premise with elements of thriller/mystery, romance, and a touch of magical realism.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Imposters
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Frey and Rafi are inseparable . . . but very...
Better Than the Movies
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Liz Buxbaum has always known that Wes Bennett was not...
African Icons: Ten People Who Shaped History
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet the ten remarkable kings, queens, inventors, scholars, and visionaries...
Count to LOVE! (A Bright Brown Baby Board Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cuddle up with your little one and get ready to...
The Mystery of the Meanest Teacher: A Johnny Constantine Graphic Novel
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
THE MYSTERY OF THE MEANEST TEACHER: A JOHNNY CONSTANTINE GRAPHIC...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A shocking thriller about a group of friends who go...
Bird Boy
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take flight in this heartwarming story about a boy who...
Love You By Heart
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Acclaimed creator of The Word Collector, Happy Dreamer, Say Something,...
Fa-La-La Llama (Touch-and-Feel Board Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Get ready to deck the halls with these joyful, singing,...
The Oddmire, Book 3: Deepest, Darkest
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The third adventure in the beloved fantasy series full of...
The Oddmire, Book 2: The Unready Queen
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Human-raised brothers Tinn and Cole join forces with Fable, daughter...
The Oddmire, Book 1: Changeling
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is fading from the Wild Wood. To renew it,...
Our Way Back to Always
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
To All the Boys I've Loved Before meets Morgan Matson...
The Last Gate of the Emperor
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Kwame Mbalia and Prince Joel David Makonnen comes an...
Traitors Among Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
World War II may be over. But two sisters are...
The Devil Makes Three
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
When Tess and Eliot stumble upon an ancient book hidden...

Latest Member Reviews

No entries were found