Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1020
epic YA fantasy
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
CROWN OF BONES is a thrilling and intricately woven YA fantasy. The book primarily follows Ash and Marcus with interludes from other characters throughout. In this world, people's fortunes are read upon their birth, and they are given one of three fates: a savant, a non-savant, or to be given to the sea. Although the third has been banned in their realm, it still happens in the others. Ash is a non-savant, but she works where savants are trained. Savants have the ability to raise a phantom that is an extension of themselves. After training, they can master control, working with their phantom, and gain magical type abilities. Different phantoms have different abilities, and this defines their roles in society. As a result, there is a lot of prejudice against non-savants, such as Ash.

Marcus is Ash's BFF, and importantly, he is the heir to their realm. He has been unable to raise his phantom and is running out of time. If he does not raise it soon, then he may never be able to do so and train it. He finally does so in the nick of time, but they still must race to the training realm before the doors are closed for the season. Although advised against it, Marcus takes Ash as his recorder, as well as a healer and other select members for the journey. The journey will be more perilous and fraught than they ever could have imagined.

What I loved: I was completely caught up in this world and all its magic. Ash and Marcus were both compelling characters, and others that we meet along the way (Kaylin) are equally as intriguing. The world is built so fantastically with storylines woven together to make a truly epic fantasy. Although we learn so much about this world and its magic, there are still so many questions left to be answered that I am beyond eager for the next book.

There are some intriguing themes in the book, such as those of destiny/fate, power and politics, and social class disparity. There is also some romance here and there, and I loved the addition - I am really curious to see how the relationships will develop. I am also particularly intrigued by the black robes that cast the bones to read fates, and I hope we get to learn more about this in future books. There are so very many questions I have about Kaylin, and I also can't wait to hear more. I am completely hooked on this world!

Final verdict: Compelling, captivating, and fantastic, CROWN OF BONES is an epic read that transports the reader to a world of destiny, danger, and the unexpected. Highly recommend for fans of THE GOLDEN COMPASS, BRING ME THEIR HEARTS, and/or HAVEN.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Instructions for Dancing
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
THE INSTANT #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The critically...
Jonathan: Prince of Dreams
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Still recovering from the tragic loss of his mother, typical...
Missing the Beat
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The dream job? Check. The best friends? Check....
Meeting the Star
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The spotless reputation? Check. The gorgeous movie star?...
Making the Play
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The school of her dreams? Check. The perfect...
Runaway : Immortals of Indriell
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
They claim her mother died a hero. They...
The Tragedy of Dane Riley
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teen confronts his feelings about his father’s death, his...
Even and Odd
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Even and Odd are sisters who share magic. Lately, though,...
Bee a Good Human: A Pollinators' Guide to a Better Life
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Combining inspiration, humor, and entomology, Instagram artist Ali Beckman (@SoFlyTaxidermy)...
Goodnight, Little Bunny
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Little Bunny on the day that she ventures out...
Flying Over Water
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
N.H. Senzai and Shannon Hitchcock expertly craft the intersection of...
Rukhsanna Guidroz
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Samira thinks of her life as before and after: before...
Not Now, Cow
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this hilarious picture book, all of the farm animals...
Cucu! en el Mar/Peekaboo! in the Ocean
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Peekaboo! Who's hiding in the ocean? Lift the flap to...
Family Reunion
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this contemporary #OwnVoices tale, a boy is reluctant to...
A Season of Sinister Dreams
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Furyborn meets A Curse So Dark and Lonely in this...

Latest Member Reviews

Crossing the Line
 
4.3
"The story: In 1983, high school senior Laura Sherman was gunned down by a jealous classmate, who then turned..."