Review Detail

The Cousins Featured
Young Adult Fiction 2256
twisty and devourable family mystery
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
THE COUSINS is a highly devourable and engaging family drama/mystery. The Story family is very wealthy, running a bunch of properties on a small island. However, about 24 years ago after the death of their father, the matriarch of the family, Mildred, cut off all the children with an ominous message that they know what they did. The four children mostly went their separate ways though they all claim they did not know what they did to get removed from their will.

Now, three of the Story children have had children of their own who are close to turning 18. Letters arrive for the three asking them to spend the summer on one of their family properties, working as their parents did long ago. Although each Milly, Jonah, and Aubrey are reluctant to go for their own reasons, not going is not an option. They each arrive on the island, carrying their own secrets and wanting to know the answer to the bigger family secret, especially as things seem to get stranger and stranger once they are there.

What I loved: This was a twisty book with plenty of new information that keeps the reader enthralled. I definitely wanted to learn more and devoured this book. The ending was shocking - although I could guess some of what happened, the big twist definitely surprised me. The book is told in each of the cousin's perspectives as well as that of the Story children many years ago. I really liked this method, as I felt I could get a deep dive into the characters and get some first-hand knowledge of the past, so to speak. This is masterfully crafted, and I really enjoyed reading it.

Final verdict: THE COUSINS is an intricate, twisty, and unexpected read - highly recommend for people who enjoy summer settings, family mysteries, and compelling characters. I would definitely recommend for fans of I KILLED ZOE SPANOS and THE INHERITANCE GAMES.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 2 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A shocking thriller about a group of friends who go...
Bird Boy
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take flight in this heartwarming story about a boy who...
Love You By Heart
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Acclaimed creator of The Word Collector, Happy Dreamer, Say Something,...
Fa-La-La Llama (Touch-and-Feel Board Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Get ready to deck the halls with these joyful, singing,...
Our Way Back to Always
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
To All the Boys I've Loved Before meets Morgan Matson...
The Last Gate of the Emperor
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Kwame Mbalia and Prince Joel David Makonnen comes an...
Traitors Among Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
World War II may be over. But two sisters are...
The Devil Makes Three
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
When Tess and Eliot stumble upon an ancient book hidden...
African Icons: Ten People Who Shaped History
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet the ten remarkable kings, queens, inventors, scholars, and visionaries...
Liar's Room
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This spooky stand-alone from MG horror expert Dan Poblocki is...
Manu: A Graphic Novel
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Set at a magical school for girls, a funny and...
Barakah Beats
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Nimra Sharif has spent her whole life in Islamic...

Latest Member Reviews

Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Hot British Boyfriend
 
4.3
"Ellie lives in Washington D.C. and attends an elite school, even though the tuition is a stretch for her single..."
Hot British Boyfriend
 
4.0
"When Ellie is completely humiliated by her best friend an crush, she decides the best way to escape her jeering..."
Loveboat, Taipei
 
4.7
"WHAT I LOVED: Ever’s pushy parents have already gotten their way by making her apply to medical school, but..."
13 Little Blue Envelopes
 
5.0
"Ginny's artistic, beloved aunt Peg moved away from the US suddenly, and passed away unexpectedly. When Ginny receives a packet..."
Blood & Honey
 
5.0
"This is going to be a hard review to write because I have so many words that want to come..."
Don't Call the Wolf
 
5.0
"Ren is the queen of the forest, a lynx shifter, and the protector of the forest's creatures. When a dragon..."
Moment of Truth
 
4.0
"Hadley Moore is a dedicated high school swimmer who is hoping to get a college scholarship for the sport, so..."
The Paper Girl of Paris
 
4.7
"THE PAPER GIRL OF PARIS by Jordyn Taylor is a new young adult novel that is both a contemporary and..."
The Betrothed
 
3.0
"THE BETROTHED is a YA romance that follows Hollis, a young woman who has her eyes on the crown. Although..."
The New David Espinoza
 
5.0
"David is the skinniest kid at high Florida high school, and he's taken his share of bullying about it. On..."
The Paper Girl of Paris
 
4.0
"The Paper Girl of Paris is written by journalist Jordyn Taylor and is set in both historical 1940’s and nowadays..."
The Betrothed
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Fan the Fame
 
4.7
"WHAT I LOVED: Excuse me, who gave Anna Priemaza permission to bug my house and use my brother and I..."
 
4.7
"Four very different high school girls plan to spend one month together in GIRLS OF JULY, and they each have..."
The Beholder
 
4.0
"When Selah's proposal to her childhood crush is rejected, she is sent away on a boat to meet possible suitors...."
On the Fence
 
5.0
"I'm a sucker for YA and Friends to Lovers romance, and Kasie West is one of my favorite YA author..."
On the Fence
 
5.0
"I've read this book twice now, and I can't stop thinking about it. I feel madly in love with Charlie,..."
Fame, Fate, and the First Kiss
 
4.0
"When Lacey scores a leading role in a zombie movie, she wants to give it her all. However, she struggles..."
Stolen Time
 
3.0
"STOLEN TIME by Danielle Rollins is the first book of a YA time travel trilogy. It begins when Ash, a..."