Review Detail

The Good Girls Featured
Young Adult Fiction 1908
engaging and compelling suspense read
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
THE GOOD GIRLS is an enthralling read. The book begins after the disappearance and seeming murder of the police chief's daughter who is a senior in high school, Emma. What follows is the accounts provided by three girls whose lives were adjacent to Emma's in some ways and who seem to be suspects in her murder - particularly since the video surfaced of her being pushed into Anna's Run, a river notorious for its current and inability for people who fall in to survive.

As we read each of the girl's accounts, interspersed by narratives and passages from Emma's diary, we begin to see a different picture of their lives and how they connected with Emma. Claude is the seeming "bad" girl, who is frequently shamed for her behavior and relationships with boys, but hers and the others' stories are more complex than they seem on the surface. Gwen is the academic competing with Emma to win a prestigious scholarship that would allow the winner to leave the poverty-stricken town to go to college away. Avery is a cheerleader along with Emma.

This was a highly compelling read, and I definitely moved through it quickly. While I did guess some of the twists, I did not put all of it together, and I enjoyed the surprises along the way. I found all the characters really intriguing, and I appreciated seeing their stories develop. I enjoyed the format that showed us not only their lives but also that of Emma and that of the last person who died at Anna's Run, Lizzy, who was Gwen's sister.

Ultimately, there are some heavy-hitting themes about feminism, recrimination, and sexual abuse as it relates to culture and the need to believe survivors. This ended up being a difficult read for these reasons.

Overall, I found this to be a highly devourable, fast-paced suspense read. Recommend for fans of SADIE, THEY WISH THEY WERE US, and/or I KILLED ZOE SPANOS.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Women in Sports: 50 Fearless Athletes Who Played to Win
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Illustrated profiles of fifty pioneering female athletes, from the author...
PJ Masks Save Lunchtime!
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Catboy, Owlette, and Gekko save a lunchtime birthday party in...
Lala's Words: A Story of Planting Kindness
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
From debut author-illustrator Gracey Zhang comes a timeless and timely...
Dangerous Play
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A fierce team of girls takes back the night in...
Shatter City
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
When the world sees Frey, they think they see her...
If You Miss Me
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A healing story of loss and love, this beautiful picture...
Learning about the Garden with Sleeping Beauty (Fairytale Encyclopedia)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Roses were very dangerous for Sleeping Beauty―that everybody knows. But...
Squirrel Do Bad (Trubble Town, #4)
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the author of the “Pearls Before Swine” comic strip...
Playing the Cards You'reDealt
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ten-year-old Anthony Joplin has made it to double digits! Which...
Discovering the Underground with Snow White (Fairytale Encyclopedia)
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
There are not only dwarves in the underground. This hidden...
Rock by Rock: The Fantastical Garden of Nek Chand
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This luminous picture book tells the fascinating true story of...
Bisa's Carnaval
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the sights and sounds of Brazil through the eyes...
Redemptor (Raybearer, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The highly anticipated sequel to Raybearer, the instant New York...
Dark and Shallow Lies
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A teen girl disappears from her small town deep in...
Imposters
 
4.0
 
5.0 (1)
Frey and Rafi are inseparable . . . but very...
Better Than the Movies
 
4.7
 
5.0 (1)
Liz Buxbaum has always known that Wes Bennett was not...

Latest Member Reviews

Wish on all the Stars
 
4.0
"In this sequel to See You on a Starry Night, Juliet is getting used to living in San Diego and..."
See You on a Starry Night
 
5.0
"Juliet's parents have separated, and she has moved into her grandparents' beach cottage with her mom and older sister, Miranda...."
Sealed with a Secret
 
4.0
"Phoebe's sister, Alice, is getting older and they're no longer as close as they used to be. Phoebe wants nothing..."
Sealed with a Secret
 
4.0
"This sequel to My Secret Guide to Paris finds Phoebe and her sister Alice back home in London following their..."
It's Raining Cupcakes (Cupcakes #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Reading Angel I was really in the mood for something light and fun when I picked up..."
It's Raining Cupcakes (Cupcakes #1)
 
4.0
"I love cupcakes! But then again, who doesn't? For those looking for a fun, cute tale, Lisa Schroeder's..."
It's Raining Cupcakes (Cupcakes #1)
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Sofia It's Raining Cupcakes by Lisa Schroder is a great page-tuning book full of lesson's.  In It's Raining..."
It's Raining Cupcakes (Cupcakes #1)
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Jill This was a really cute and sweet book that is perfect for the tween set.  I..."
Baby Can't Sleep
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Kim Peek When Baby can't sleep, Daddy teaches him to count sheep. But, these sheep are far..."