Review Detail

The Good Girls Featured
Young Adult Fiction 1589
engaging and compelling suspense read
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
THE GOOD GIRLS is an enthralling read. The book begins after the disappearance and seeming murder of the police chief's daughter who is a senior in high school, Emma. What follows is the accounts provided by three girls whose lives were adjacent to Emma's in some ways and who seem to be suspects in her murder - particularly since the video surfaced of her being pushed into Anna's Run, a river notorious for its current and inability for people who fall in to survive.

As we read each of the girl's accounts, interspersed by narratives and passages from Emma's diary, we begin to see a different picture of their lives and how they connected with Emma. Claude is the seeming "bad" girl, who is frequently shamed for her behavior and relationships with boys, but hers and the others' stories are more complex than they seem on the surface. Gwen is the academic competing with Emma to win a prestigious scholarship that would allow the winner to leave the poverty-stricken town to go to college away. Avery is a cheerleader along with Emma.

This was a highly compelling read, and I definitely moved through it quickly. While I did guess some of the twists, I did not put all of it together, and I enjoyed the surprises along the way. I found all the characters really intriguing, and I appreciated seeing their stories develop. I enjoyed the format that showed us not only their lives but also that of Emma and that of the last person who died at Anna's Run, Lizzy, who was Gwen's sister.

Ultimately, there are some heavy-hitting themes about feminism, recrimination, and sexual abuse as it relates to culture and the need to believe survivors. This ended up being a difficult read for these reasons.

Overall, I found this to be a highly devourable, fast-paced suspense read. Recommend for fans of SADIE, THEY WISH THEY WERE US, and/or I KILLED ZOE SPANOS.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming—and heart-tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what...
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join everyone's favorite Wildcats from the Disney+ smash hit original...
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming text honoring the ever-evolving relationship of a parent...
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The brand-new sequel to a well-reviewed bestseller that has been...
Noble Thief (Fantasy and Fairytales Book 6)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A prince of two kingdoms. A woman fighting against the...
All These Bodies
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen bloodless bodies. Two teenagers. One impossible explanation. ...
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They are the Beautiful Ones, Loisail’s most notable socialites, and...
I Am the Shark
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
What makes the great white shark (one of) the greatest...

Latest Member Reviews

Not Inside This House!
 
5.0
"This book is great for any young reader or non-reader in your household. My boys, ages 6 and 4,..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Kim Peek A runaway pumpkin rolls down the hill making a thumpety, bumpety, bumpin' sound. As it..."