Review Detail

fantastic new book in the Frozen world
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
DANGEROUS SECRETS: THE STORY OF IDUNA AND AGNARR is a great MG/YA fantasy romance. Based on Frozen, this book tells the story of Anna and Elsa's parents, how they met, became best friends, and later fell in love. This book has a lot of tie-ins with the movies, including quotes/refrains and some characters in common that are sure to delight Frozen fans.

I really enjoyed watching them fall in love, and as fans of Frozen will know, their ending is not entirely happy. This book definitely kept my attention, and I appreciated seeing both Iduna and Agnarr's points-of-view. Together, they are so perfect, and their love is conveyed through every page. Although the brunt of the story takes place when they are teens and falling in love, I really enjoyed that the book includes scenes from when they first met, and scenes of their lives following - up until their stories tragically ended, though still happy in love.

This book felt appropriate for young YA audiences and would be great for older MG readers as well. This story really breathes life into these two characters in a way that I really enjoyed. This adds a whole new element to the series, and I loved being adjacent to the story we know from the movies, while also experiencing some new characters. The strength of their connection and love is beautiful to see.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this book for fans of the Frozen movies - this book contains many of the same themes of fear of people who are different (the Northuldra people), political intrigue, the difficulty of being true to yourself, and, above all, the importance of love.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...
The Night Walk
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mama opened our bedroom door. "Wake up, you two," she...
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate the perfect, ugly expression of holiday cheer in this...
You and Me
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This sweet celebration of love is perfect for sharing with...