Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 524
intriguing YA contemporary with strong themes of acceptance and growth
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
SUPER FAKE LOVE SONG is a YA contemporary romance about siblings, feeling like an outcast, and friendship. Sunny definitely feels like a "loser," as he is picked on by the star of the football team and he and his friends spend their time doing videos for the internet for DIY Fantasy FX. Then, he meets Cirrus, who seems so cool and is not interested in him - until she mistakenly walks into his older brother's old room and he begins lying about the guitars and band stuff, saying he is the front for the band, Immortals.

He can't let the lie go and basically copies his brother's style and life to make it his own. He convinces his two BFFs to make the band something real and falls into a spiral of lies. He is nervous about the truth coming out, but he really likes Cirrus and feels like he needs these lies to impress her. A wrench is thrown into his plans when his brother comes back home, and they are unable to connect the way they used to - but his brother sees what he is doing and knows the lie.

Sunny's struggle felt so real - he is pretending to be someone else, but where does the lie end and the truth begin? His search for belonging and coolness is one that will resonate with young readers who may also be struggling with how to define themselves in the first place. Sunny certainly doesn't know who he is yet, and his path to figuring out who he wants to be felt really genuine. I felt that the real elements that shone in this book were the friendships with his BFFs who support him in these unusual schemes and the ways that he tries to relate and connect with his older brother, who is struggling with his own life.

There are some really deep and heartfelt conversations that happen towards the end of the book with his family, about what is important in life and the importance of real conversation/understanding, and with his friends that really made this a much stronger story. That along with the themes throughout the book of trying to find your place, wanting to be more, and connecting with your own truths made this an intriguing read.

Overall, I would recommend this book for fans of YA contemporary where the focus is on character development and growth with a light touch of romance.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...
The Night Walk
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mama opened our bedroom door. "Wake up, you two," she...
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate the perfect, ugly expression of holiday cheer in this...
You and Me
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This sweet celebration of love is perfect for sharing with...
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Babies and toddlers can lift the flaps to look inside...
Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join a tiny mouse as she searches for the biggest...
The Shadow War
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inglourious Basterds meets Stranger Things in this dark and...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. ...

Latest Member Reviews

All the Tides of Fate (All the Stars and Teeth, #2)
 
5.0
"ALL THE TIDES OF FATE picks up Amora's story a season or two after the previous book ended. She is..."
All the Stars and Teeth (All the Stars and Teeth, #1)
 
5.0
"ALL THE STARS AND TEETH is an imaginative and lush YA fantasy that transports the reader to a fascinating new..."