Review Detail

satisfying conclusion to a YA fantasy duology about sisters
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
WARRIORS OF WING AND FLAME is an intriguing conclusion to a YA fantasy duology about sisterhood. This book picks up where the first left off with Zuhra and Inara once again together, but the world is under attack from Barloc, the jakla who has stolen others' (including Inara's) Paladin powers. Mourning the losses among them and their disconnect once again from their home world, the small group of Paladin now in the citadel must regroup and try to find a way to track and stop Barloc before he destroys humanity and the Paladin.

This book follows both Zuhra and Inara in separate points-of-view but with a focus on their inner turmoil, growth, and development. Both have been trapped in the citadel with little knowledge of the outside world, and their knowledge has now exploded in good and bad ways. They must come to terms with the changes, their losses, and own feelings before they can forge a path forward.

This book ended up being a lot more about character growth, and although the beginning was a little slow, the end feels absolutely action-packed. A lot begins happening at the end and lives are changed in unexpected ways. Overall, the main plot lines were tied up at the end. I did want to know more about their mother's transformation and some more background for Inara and her growth, but most others were tied up in one way or another.

Overall, this was a solid YA fantasy duology that I would recommend for fans of CROWN OF CORAL AND PEARL and SISTERS OF SWORD AND SONG.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 1

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Manga Classics Hamlet: Shakespeare
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
The dead still walk in Denmark. Already crushed by his...
Wings of Ebony (Wings of Ebony, #1)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this riveting, keenly emotional debut fantasy, a Black...
All the Tides of Fate (All the Stars and Teeth, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The thrilling sequel to instant New York Times bestseller All...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera Cass....
Born Royal
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
Imprisoned and experimented on since she was twelve, Princess...
Born at Dawn
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Half-human thief Neva Roberts, 17, has always hidden her...
I'll Be the One (I'll Be the One #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The world of K-Pop has never met a star...
The Dog Patrol: Our Canine Companions and the Kids Who Protect Them
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In a full-color dog book unlike any other, acclaimed children’s...
Unchosen
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Katharyn Blair crafts a fiercely feminist fantasy with a...
Watch Over Me
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Mila is used to being alone. Maybe that’s why...
The Safekeeper
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Her job is to keep their secrets safe. ...
City of the Plague God
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Best-selling author Rick Riordan presents CITY OF THE PLAGUE GOD,...
The Shadow War
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inglourious Basterds meets Stranger Things in this dark and thrilling...
The Valley and the Flood
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rose Colter is almost home, but she can't go back...
Don't Tell A Soul
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stay up all night with this modern day Rebecca! Perfect...
58 Farm End
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
58 Farm End: a twisted romantic crime thriller series (Book...

Latest Member Reviews

The Night Circus
 
4.3
"I couldn’t begin to express how much I adore this book. This book, magically, soothed my temper and let me..."
Crave
 
4.3
"After the death of her parents, Grace comes to an Alaskan boarding school. Once there, she senses something is 'off'..."
Crave
 
4.3
"CRAVE is a really engaging new YA fantasy/paranormal romance that follows Grace in the first person. Grace lost her parents..."
White Stag: A Novel (Permafrost, #1)
 
5.0
"WHITE STAG is a really fantastic YA fantasy that I was absolutely pulled into and found it hard to put..."
Obsidian (Lux #1)
 
5.0
"That's why I love paranormal romances :D"
Alienated (Alienated #1)
 
4.7
"I think I fell in love! Aelyx and Cara’s romance is of the slow-burn kind.... simply swoony! The..."
Stone Cold Touch (Dark Elements #2)
 
5.0
"This installment picks up just a few weeks after Roth has sacrificed himself at the end of White Hot Kiss...."
The Collector (Dante Walker #1)
 
3.0
"I have some mixed feelings. "The Collector" follows Dante in the first person- he is telling us his story. Dante..."
Anomaly (Schrodinger's Consortium #1)
 
4.0
"“Anomaly” was an interesting YA sci-fi/fantasy where we’re introduced to a whole other world. Josie lives with her mother and..."
Zombie Queen of Newbury High
 
4.3
"This book was probably the best book I have ever read. I loved the end so much I wished there..."
The Night Circus
 
4.0
"The Night Circus was an enchanting, mind-boggling story that enraptured me. It was confusing, lovely, frightening, elusive, all at once...."
Wicked (A Wicked Saga #1)
 
5.0
"I read a TON of fae fiction and A WICKED TRILOGY by Jennifer L. Armentrout is so hilarious and refershing...."
The Dream Thieves (The Raven Cycle #2)
 
5.0
"I really loved The Dream Thieves! It was a fun, magical and captivating novel. The Dream Thieves continues Gansey's,..."
House of Night: Hunted
 
3.3
"So the Nerd Herd is now underground and hiding away from Kalona. Aphrodite and Stevie-Rae have imprinted, Stark is an..."
House of Night: Untamed
 
3.3
"So this one picks up right where the other left off and don't worry if you haven't read the others..."
House of Night: Chosen
 
3.3
"Zoey now knows that her old mentor is not what she claims to be. She's hiding something and doing things..."
House of Night: Betrayed
 
3.3
"This one picks up not far where Marked left off. Zoey is now in charge of the Daughters of Darkness...."
Eerie
 
3.3
"if you look through my books here in goodreads, the paranormal genre does not belong here. but this book drew..."
Eerie
 
5.0
"Book 2 promises to just as good 8D with several new surprises ;)"
One Wish Away (Djinn Empire #1)
 
3.3
"One Wish Away is a magical, quick read full of action, romance, and twists. In it, we follow Marielle, a..."