Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1045
And adorable own voices story.
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

The story:
Just like her sisters before her, Winnie isn’t allowed to date in high school. With strict Thai parents, she’s always been a rule follower. Then her mom changes her mind, deciding Winnie needs practice with boys before going out into the real world. Enter Mat, son of her parents best friend and Winnie’s sworn enemy/ex-friend. They hate each other.
But the only thing stronger than hate is love.

What I loved: pretty much every cultural aspect. Asian representation in romance is sorely lacking and Winnie being Thai adds an element of depth to the story. It’s a huge part of her identity, making her an entirely lovable character. She’s clumsy and awkward but kind and endearing. The arguments with Mat are funny and full of chemistry. These two are so good together that from the very first fake date, you want them to end up together.
Despite being first person, the writing style manages not to be overly young or annoying. It flows super well and doesn’t rely on inner monologue to let the reader know what Winnie is thinking.

What left me wanting more:
There’s not a ton or originality. The story felt like it’s been done many times over - yet this one is better than similar books in the genre.
There were some drama moments that made Winnie seem younger than she was, but they were always fixed quickly and don’t leave the reader guessing for too long.

Final verdict:
An engaging story with a rich cultural element and the kind of chemistry great romances are made of.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...

Latest Member Reviews

How to Make Friends with the Dark
 
3.0
"A weighty YA Contemporary, grappling with a wide array of crises and quandaries. What I..."