Review Detail

Miss Meteor Featured
Young Adult Fiction 568
Miss Meteor
(Updated: October 07, 2020)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Meteor, New Mexico is the site where a meteor crashed years ago. It's also the site of the Miss Meteor beauty pageant. For years only one 'type' of contestant wins-White, blonde, blue-eyed, and thin. Lita Perez wants to be the first Latina to win that title. She also has a secret. Her former best friend Chicky Quintanilla has been struggling with her own secret. Together they get together, along with the infamous Quintanilla sisters-in order to give Lita a chance at winning. She feels this will help her with another more pressing problem. Lita doesn't have much time left, until she goes back to the stars.

What worked: This is a sweet, empowering diverse tale for the underdog. I loved this enpowering story! Lita is linked to the meteor that crashed in her small town. Only Bruja Lupe, the town curandera, knows the truth. Here's where realistic magic weaves itself in this charming tale. Lita might fix what the town thinks is Miss Meteor material, but her spunk and determination show these naysayers how wrong they are.

Chicky fears her own secret of her sexual orientation will cause her family and others to be like the bullies of the town-Royce and his sister Kendra-to reject her. It's also the reason why she broke off her friendship with Lita back in middle school. Chicky at first doubts how she can help Lita, but ends up enlisting the help of her sisters. I really loved how the authors show Latino families here without the trite stereotypes. This family has a hard time with their restaurant, but the love and encouragement they show to each other is realistic. Also kuddos for the heart-felt representations of a trans character and a pansexual heroine.

Love interest Cole-the trans boy who has a soft spot for Lita and stands up for her in quiet ways is fleshed out where he shows his true strength. The chemistry between these two is there. Cole shows his affections in many quiet ways.

Junior has always been in the background. Quiet, but there for Chicky, when others throw hurtful words her way. The strength in this novel is the engaging writing, likeable heroines, and the theme of being true to yourself.

Dumplin' meets realistic magic where realizing that there is power in being true to yourself.
Good Points
1. Sweet, enpowering tale
2. Dumplin' meets realistic magic
3. Theme of being true to yourself
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...

Latest Member Reviews

The Last Grand Adventure
 
5.0
"Bea's parents are divorced, her father remarried, and her mother taking advantage of the social upheaval of 1967 to travel..."