Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1493
lush and compelling YA sci-fi
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
SKYHUNTER is an enthralling and lush YA fantasy. Lu really paints the story with her words, and this new novel is every bit as enchanting and captivating as her earlier works. Talin is a refugee in a land that barely acknowledges them, leaving them to fend for themselves outside the walls. She is a Striker for the last country left standing against the Federation, Mara. As a Striker, she hunts and kills Ghosts, the twisted and poisoned former humans the Federation uses as a militia to destroy the lands it invades. This is a position that requires elite levels of skills and a lifetime of training. They are celebrated but also tend to have a short lifespan.

Strikers work in pairs and call their partner their Shield. The pairs are as close as humanly possible, living and breathing together so that they can always anticipate the other's moves on the battlefield. When Talin's Shield dies, she is set adrift in her grief. Then, she sees a Federation prisoner who is being sentenced to death unless he provides information about the Federation. As she watches his execution, she sees something that causes her to unexpectedly intervene. After she does so, she is set on another path to really discover the Federation, its machinations, as well as her own desires and goals.

What I loved: The storytelling here is really masterful and the landscape, and characters really come to life throughout the book. The characters were the strongest part of the story, and Talin, in particular, is multifaceted and compelling. Through her, we are introduced to some intriguing themes of external and internal motivations and the many reasons which may compel us to choose certain paths. These themes are repeated in the other characters. Other themes such as the right of decisions over others, treatment of refugees, and the power of psychological injury resonate throughout the story.

I also really liked that there are deep and fulfilling relationships without overt romance (though with space for them to develop). This is really a sci-fi/dystopian novel with fantastic world- and character-building. The story moves relatively quickly, and I appreciated the fast pace combined with just the right amount of explanations.

Final verdict: Overall, this is a lush and compelling YA sci-fi/dystopian told in Lu's lyrical and enchanting style. Highly recommend for fans of her earlier books - this is a new series not to be missed.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...

Latest Member Reviews

How to Make Friends with the Dark
 
3.0
"A weighty YA Contemporary, grappling with a wide array of crises and quandaries. What I..."