Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 985
compelling and heartfelt YA contemporary
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
HOW IT ALL BLEW UP is an absolutely riveting coming-out story. Amir Azadi is an Iranian American who has always felt a bit on the outside, even in his own family who he is sure would not love him if he comes out. When another boy at high school blackmails him before graduation to pay him off or for him to expose him to his parents, Amir panics. When he is unable to find the money, he flees and chooses a random place to go. His family is worried about him, and he just tells them he is OK before trying to find his own way.

In Rome, Amir finds his own community and begins to embrace himself as he is. That doesn't mean he is ready to tell his parents though. The book is told through flashbacks while the family is being interrogated by US Customs Officers after an incident on a plane. With both his, his sister's, and occasionally his parent's perspectives, the book manages not only to capture the difficulty of coming-out, but also the trouble with forced coming-out, finding your own community, embracing yourself as you are, and the racism towards people who appear Middle Eastern.

What I loved: I was completely captivated by the characters and events in this book. Although the main themes are about coming-out and embracing yourself, there is an important theme around racism that appears throughout the US Customs interrogation. I really enjoyed that although we know the officer(s) is/are there, the only people we hear from are Amir and his family. His parents, through these interviews, state the ways in which they have previously changed their appearance to be less of a target (for instance, his mother only wearing her hijab at the mosque and his father shaving off his beard). This secondary theme is really powerful and important.

Amir's story is pretty unique, and I love the idea of traveling to Rome at 18, feeling unable to be fully yourself and finding a new family who allows you to do so. Amir has many missteps, but this felt so believable and genuine. His path to loving himself also follows his parents and their reckoning with who their son is. Ultimately, I loved seeing the growth of all the characters, both Amir's and his family's (primarily told through his sister's eyes).

Final verdict: Ultimately powerful and genuine, HOW IT ALL BLEW UP is a riveting story of coming-out and family - both blood and found. Highly recommend for fans of SIMON VS. THE HOMO SAPIENS AGENDA and/or MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...
The Night Walk
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mama opened our bedroom door. "Wake up, you two," she...
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate the perfect, ugly expression of holiday cheer in this...
You and Me
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This sweet celebration of love is perfect for sharing with...
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Babies and toddlers can lift the flaps to look inside...

Latest Member Reviews

Fable (Fable, #1)
 
5.0
"FABLE is a fascinating YA fantasy that takes on a sea voyage. Fable is a young woman whose father left..."
Second Star (The Neverland Transmissions)
 
5.0
"When Second Star by J.M. Sullivan was first brought to my attention, I noticed two things: the sci-fi cover and..."
Second Star (The Neverland Transmissions)
 
3.0
"SECOND STAR alternates POV between Peter and Wendy. It starts off with Peter sabotaging Captain Hooke's ship and stranding them..."
These Rebel Waves
 
4.7
"THESE REBEL WAVES is the first book in a fantasy duology by Sara Raasch. The story is told in third..."
The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue
 
5.0
"What can I say that hasn't already been said about this magnificent book? The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue..."
The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue
 
4.7
" The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue is a remarkable, witty, and outstanding adventure..."
The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue
 
5.0
"THE GENTLEMAN’S GUIDE TO VICE AND VIRTUE follows Henry “Monty” Montague as he takes his grand tour across Europe with..."
Daughter of the Pirate King (Daughter of the Pirate King #1)
 
4.7
"YA Fantasy, DAUGHTER OF THE PIRATE KING mixes the supernatural with good ol' piracy. Fans of PIRATES OF THE CARIBBEAN..."
Daughter of the Pirate King (Daughter of the Pirate King #1)
 
4.7
"Lift up your anchors and get ready to sail into a swashbuckling tale of pirates, swoons, magic, and the quest..."
The Dust of 100 Dogs
 
4.0
"What I Loved: What can I say about this book? I really do not know how I feel about the..."
The Pirate Vortex: Elizabeth Latimer Pirate Hunter
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Tami Brady Elizabeth Latimer is a pirate hunter. You could say pirating and pirate hunting are in..."
The Pirate Vortex: Elizabeth Latimer Pirate Hunter
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by The Bookish Snob There were so many interesting characters in this book that really contributed to the..."
To Catch a Pirate
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by Bellacarolina33@aim.com To Catch a Pirate by Jade ParkerOnce caught, its harder still to let a pirate..."
To Catch a Pirate
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Hatice It was the sight of the cover that first captivated me to read this book. Even..."
To Catch a Pirate
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Sara From back cover:"Once caught, it's harder still to let a pirate go...When Annalisa Townsend's ship is..."
To Catch a Pirate
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by Lexie To my bemusement I often found myself forgetting that this book was a) aimed at young..."
To Catch a Pirate
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Bookmac Me + Horror = can't sleep for a week without the light on. Just kidding...kind of...."
The Dust of 100 Dogs
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by Steph Su Emer Morrisey has not had an easy childhood. Growing up in poor..."
The Dust of 100 Dogs
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by stephanie So when I finally got a hold of a copy of The Dust of 100..."
The Dust of 100 Dogs
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Max Emer Morrisey is a pirate. When she's killed, she's cursed to live the life of..."