Review Detail

Horrid Featured
Young Adult Fiction 1892
intensely creepy Halloween read
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
HORRID is an intensely creepy story that follows Jane and her mother, Ruth. Jane's father has just died and after finding out that were in dire financial straights, Ruth is moving them across the country from California back to Maine, where her mother's house has been empty in the years since she died. The house is dilapidated and full of creaks and sounds.

As Jane begins to go around town, people remark about how much she looks like someone else- though her mother is quick to cut them off from saying more. Her mother is a terrible liar, so we know she is hiding something big from Jane, and it seems that everyone in the small town but her know. At the same time, the groans and such from the house are not just settling. Jane is hearing a person from the locked room that her mother claims is just storage and seeing shadows from it.

Jane never really knows if she is just imaging things or if the things she sees and hears are real. Not everyone is town is welcoming, and Jane is barely holding herself together between the grief over her father's sudden death and the cross-country move during her senior year of high school.

This book covers some heavy topics, and it's hard to say what all without giving things away, but pica is one that we learn about early on, as Jane eats books as a way to self-regulate. The ending really shocked me, and we never really find out what is real. The paranormal elements are really well woven such that even the reader is left guessing. This is definitely a super-creepy book that is perfect for Halloween reading.

HORRID is an intense and compelling YA horror novel that will leave readers reeling. Highly recommend for people looking for some creepy Halloween reads.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...
The Night Walk
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mama opened our bedroom door. "Wake up, you two," she...
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate the perfect, ugly expression of holiday cheer in this...
You and Me
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This sweet celebration of love is perfect for sharing with...
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Babies and toddlers can lift the flaps to look inside...

Latest Member Reviews

Fable (Fable, #1)
 
5.0
"FABLE is a fascinating YA fantasy that takes on a sea voyage. Fable is a young woman whose father left..."
Second Star (The Neverland Transmissions)
 
5.0
"When Second Star by J.M. Sullivan was first brought to my attention, I noticed two things: the sci-fi cover and..."
Second Star (The Neverland Transmissions)
 
3.0
"SECOND STAR alternates POV between Peter and Wendy. It starts off with Peter sabotaging Captain Hooke's ship and stranding them..."
These Rebel Waves
 
4.7
"THESE REBEL WAVES is the first book in a fantasy duology by Sara Raasch. The story is told in third..."
The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue
 
5.0
"What can I say that hasn't already been said about this magnificent book? The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue..."
The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue
 
4.7
" The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue is a remarkable, witty, and outstanding adventure..."
The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue
 
5.0
"THE GENTLEMAN’S GUIDE TO VICE AND VIRTUE follows Henry “Monty” Montague as he takes his grand tour across Europe with..."
Daughter of the Pirate King (Daughter of the Pirate King #1)
 
4.7
"YA Fantasy, DAUGHTER OF THE PIRATE KING mixes the supernatural with good ol' piracy. Fans of PIRATES OF THE CARIBBEAN..."
Daughter of the Pirate King (Daughter of the Pirate King #1)
 
4.7
"Lift up your anchors and get ready to sail into a swashbuckling tale of pirates, swoons, magic, and the quest..."
The Dust of 100 Dogs
 
4.0
"What I Loved: What can I say about this book? I really do not know how I feel about the..."
The Pirate Vortex: Elizabeth Latimer Pirate Hunter
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Tami Brady Elizabeth Latimer is a pirate hunter. You could say pirating and pirate hunting are in..."
The Pirate Vortex: Elizabeth Latimer Pirate Hunter
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by The Bookish Snob There were so many interesting characters in this book that really contributed to the..."
To Catch a Pirate
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by Bellacarolina33@aim.com To Catch a Pirate by Jade ParkerOnce caught, its harder still to let a pirate..."
To Catch a Pirate
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Hatice It was the sight of the cover that first captivated me to read this book. Even..."
To Catch a Pirate
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Sara From back cover:"Once caught, it's harder still to let a pirate go...When Annalisa Townsend's ship is..."
To Catch a Pirate
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by Lexie To my bemusement I often found myself forgetting that this book was a) aimed at young..."
To Catch a Pirate
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Bookmac Me + Horror = can't sleep for a week without the light on. Just kidding...kind of...."
The Dust of 100 Dogs
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by Steph Su Emer Morrisey has not had an easy childhood. Growing up in poor..."
The Dust of 100 Dogs
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by stephanie So when I finally got a hold of a copy of The Dust of 100..."
The Dust of 100 Dogs
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Max Emer Morrisey is a pirate. When she's killed, she's cursed to live the life of..."