Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 945
cute bookish YA rom-com
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
N/A
RECOMMENDED FOR YOU is a cute YA romantic comedy set in a bookstore. Shoshanna loves working at Once Upon, an independent bookstore at the mall. When the new guy, Jake, starts, Shoshanna is shocked to learn that he doesn't read many books and they get off to a terrible start as a result. When the bookstore owner starts a contest for who sells to the most customers with a cash bonus at the holidays, Shoshanna is determined to win. She needs the money to fix Barbra, her car.

At the same time, Shoshanna is dealing with a difficult home environment as her mothers are fighting more and more frequently. Shoshanna is desperate to save their marriage and the family life that had always been so great. She is also dealing with some drama with her BFFs over a bad decision she made.

What I loved: I love Shoshanna's growth during the story, as she begins to think twice before making what could be a bad decision. She learns a lot throughout, and I loved watching it happen. The inclusion of marital strife in parents was also a great inclusion that adds some depth to the story and is a situation that some teens may really connect with. And, of course, the bookstore setting will delight booklovers everywhere. The holiday setting and Jewish main characters also added a nice touch to the story.

The romance is a bit background, but I love a good enemies-to-relationship story, and this one did deliver amongst the other, heavier themes. I liked both Shoshanna and Jake and was happy with the way their friendship developed.

Final verdict: A cute YA rom-com with a holiday setting, RECOMMENDED FOR YOU will delight booklovers with its charm and bookish fun. Recommend for fans of THE BOOKWORM CRUSH and TWEET CUTE.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Nosotros Means Us: Un cuento bilingüe
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A moving bilingual ode to the unshakeable bond between a...
Awakened Are the Starry-Eyed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A new city and unexpected freedom give Andrea the fresh...
A Brutal Justice
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Protect the weak. Safety for all. Power without virtue is...
A Tale of Ashes
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Across the country, human teens are going missing, and all...
The Captain's Daughters
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What would you do if you were abducted by aliens,...
The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Truth or Dare
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Summervale… One of the USA’s top vacation...
Around Curiosity's Edge: Hidden Meridians
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A hidden world waits, a dark society schemes, and a...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming—and heart-tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what...

Latest Member Reviews

The Promised Prince
 
5.0
"Hello viewers, I am Eva Joe, from the USA, i want to use this opportunity to thank Dr. DAVID ..."
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
"When Renna goes swimming in a pond, she never expects to meet a boy named Trev in the most unladylike..."
Sword of the Seven Sins
 
5.0
" The story: Ari and Eva are young members of a society based on the seven deadly sins,..."
The Verity
 
5.0
"FEEDBACK Friends. FRIENDS. This book was so good. I apologize in advanced if it’s just a bunch of rambling..."
Sunshine in the Shadows: Book 2 of the Sunshine Series
 
4.7
"This one is probably the least exciting out of the 3 books, but its lovely getting to know the characters..."
Sunshine Reigns: Book 3 of the Sunshine Series
 
5.0
"This my favourite book of the 3-part series. Sunny comes into her own with a very satisfying ending."
Legacy (The Biodome Chronicles #1)
 
4.5
"Future collides with the past in Legacy by Jesikah Sundin, the first book in her series The Biodome Chronicles. Following..."
Skin Hunter
 
4.5
"Milla steals an armband and an identity which could put her to death if she is found out. She takes..."
Skin Hunter
 
4.3
"What I loved: The world building was perfectly illustrated without bogging down the story. Everything from the..."
Adaptive
 
4.8
"The story: Lune Avery has survived the Elite Trials and escaped the clutches of her tyrant father,..."
Oberon Academy Book One: The Orphan
 
4.5
"This is a promising start to an exciting new fae series! What I loved: The writing style is..."
Adaptive
 
5.0
"Reactive was one of my favorite books of 2018, and I think it is safe to say Adaptive is going..."
Reactive: A YA Dystopian Romance (The Elite Trials Book 1)
 
5.0
"“I don’t want to be dramatic and say I found the next The Hunger Games or Divergent, but I totally..."
North To Nara (Crimson Sash, Book 1)
 
5.0
"I’ve always been a sucker for dystopian. This is not a secret. The obsession with The Hunger Games is still..."
Crimson Legacy
 
4.8
"Awaken by Michelle Bryan is the story of a young woman, just turned 18 living in a world after “The..."
Lions and Lamps
 
4.0
"What I Loved: The setting is fascinating and complex, the world building rich and thoughtful. Robinson fully realizes the steampunk..."
After the Green Withered
 
4.0
"I've just finished reading ATGW and I read it in relatively quickly - I can be a fairly slow reader..."
Reactive: A YA Dystopian Romance (The Elite Trials Book 1)
 
4.0
"The story: Lune Tatum, the adoptive daughter of this dystopian world’s Supreme Elite, wants out. Out of the walled..."
Ten Silver Coins: The Battle for Acchora
 
5.0
"An important story about courage in the world. Filled with vivid imagery, the action-packed plot is populated with memorable..."
Ten Silver Coins: The Battle for Acchora
 
5.0
"An important story about courage in the face of danger that is funny, imaginative and filled with amazing and memorable..."