Review Detail

Roaring Featured
Young Adult Fiction 874
fast-paced historical fantasy
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
ROARING takes place in the 1920s- with a twist. Monsters, sirens, minotaurs, basilisks, and more, exist, and they are woven with the mobster scenes. The book alternates perspectives between The Singer (Eris) and The Agent (Colt). Eris knows that she is different, and this is why she does not speak except to occasionally sing at the speakeasy where she works. When a man she cares about steps up to protect her from some Harvard boys that feel entitled to her body, she uses her voice to save him.

In doing so, she sets off a chain of events that reveal a larger plot. Colt works for the Bureau of Investigation (BOI) that hunts down dangerous monsters- and they are definitely interested in stopping the last siren. When they think that they may have found her, Colt, who is immune to a siren's voice, is sent to get her.

What I loved: The time is well built including slang of the 1920s, and the world building around the monsters is really interesting and adds an unique new twist on the historical fantasy plot. The book moves quickly with a lot of action as the events spiral once Eris begins to learn about who she is.

What left me wanting more: There's some heavy instalove here, and a lot of dangerous scenes with back-and-forth saving that move a little too fast for my taste. I would have liked to slow it down and get a slower taste for what is going on and who Eris and Colt are.

Final verdict: ROARING would be great for people who like historical fantasy with fast-paced plots full of action.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming—and heart-tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what...
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join everyone's favorite Wildcats from the Disney+ smash hit original...
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming text honoring the ever-evolving relationship of a parent...
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The brand-new sequel to a well-reviewed bestseller that has been...
Noble Thief (Fantasy and Fairytales Book 6)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A prince of two kingdoms. A woman fighting against the...
All These Bodies
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen bloodless bodies. Two teenagers. One impossible explanation. ...
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They are the Beautiful Ones, Loisail’s most notable socialites, and...
I Am the Shark
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
What makes the great white shark (one of) the greatest...

Latest Member Reviews

Pull the Dragon's Tooth! (Geronimo Stilton Micekings #3)
 
4.0
"The chief of the Micekings is bound and determined to make Geronimo a "true macho mouseking" and enlists the aid..."