Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 578
beautifully crafted sequel
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
COURT OF LIONS finishes the MIRAGE duology with aplomb. This YA fantasy series takes us to another planet and the two women who have been brought together amidst a challenging political climate. Amani is the daughters of poor farmers on an outer moon, Cadiz, who was captured by androids and brought to the palace. She is the shield (double) for the princess, Maram, who is half-Kushaila and half-Vathek. The Vathek conquered the Kushaila and cemented their victory by marrying Maram's mother and fathering Maram, who will take over the crown.

Maram and Amani had grown close in the first book, and their falling out at the end of the first plunges them into dangerous waters in the second. This sequel begins not long after the first ends with the royal wedding that had been planned for so long. As they navigate the current waters, Amani tests the bounds of her relationship with Maram and pushes her to become the queen she believes Maram could be. The rebellion is growing and questions remain about whom should lead.

What I loved: This book was even better than the first. Although it has a slow start, it soon launches into the action and political plotting that are absolutely engrossing. The characters are also growing here, both Amani and Maram, into the women they will become. I really loved that we get scenes from Maram's point-of-view as well as Amani's, which gives her a deeper character. She also finds her own romance, and it was brilliant to watch.

The ending sections gave me chills. There are poignant quotes, observations, and some surprises that I absolutely enjoyed reading. Nothing happens easily, but very carefully, and there are some great secondary messages about what makes a leader and the value of government. The mythology and world-building here is really strong, and I loved learning about their culture and the bits of their history that we see. This is a beautifully woven sequel that brings all the strings from the first book to a satisfying conclusion.

What left me wanting more: As a relatively small point, I wish that we could have witnessed more of the romances for both Amani and Maram. They had the potential to be so deep, and while I loved both of the couples, I would have liked a bit more depth/substance behind the built relationships.

Final verdict: Satisfying and enchanting, COURT OF LIONS is a perfect finale to a beautifully woven YA fantasy series. Highly recommend for fans of THE DIABOLIC, THE GUINEVERE DECEPTION, and SORCERY OF THORNS.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
Roaring
 
3.0
"ROARING takes place in the 1920s- with a twist. Monsters, sirens, minotaurs, basilisks, and more, exist, and they are woven..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
Finder, Coal Mine Dog
 
4.5
"Thomas' father perished in a mining accident, so when his mother became ill and died, he ended up with his..."
Watermark (The Broken Bell, #1)
 
3.0
"WATERMARK is a dark historical (takes place in the 1990s) suspense. The book follows Jeannine, Angel's sister, and Alex, her..."
We Dream of Space
 
4.0
"WE DREAM OF SPACE is a highly engaging middle grade historical fiction. The book follows three siblings, Cash, Fitch, and..."
The Invincible Summer of Juniper Jones
 
4.7
"THE INVINCIBLE SUMMER OF JUNIPER JONES is a heart-wrenching YA historical novel that takes place primarily in 1955. Ethan is..."
Blood Countess (Lady Slayers)
 
4.3
"Visually, this book is a gorgeous work of art, splattered with blood from cover to cover. For those familiar with..."
The Paper Girl of Paris
 
4.7
"THE PAPER GIRL OF PARIS by Jordyn Taylor is a new young adult novel that is both a contemporary and..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.0
"JO & LAURIE takes place after the publication of the original LITTLE WOMEN, which is about half of the current..."
The Jewel Thief
 
5.0
"THE JEWEL THIEF by Jeannie Mobley is a YA Historical Fiction novel, set in Paris, France during the reign of..."
Great Escapes #1: Nazi Prison Camp Escape
 
3.5
"Bill Ash was an American who volunteered for the Canadian Air Force in 1940, and was sent to Europe shortly..."
Spindle and Dagger
 
3.7
"Spindle and Dagger by J. Anderson Coats is a beautiful, yet brutal, literary novel set in Medieval Wales. It is..."
Spindle and Dagger
 
3.7
"Spindle and Dagger by J. Anderson Coats is a unique, dark tale set in Medieval Wales. The author did their..."
They Went Left
 
5.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale of eighteen-year-old Holocaust survivor Zofia Lederman who searches for her brother after the war. I've..."
The Court of Miracles (Court of Miracles, #1)
 
5.0
"THE COURT OF MIRACLES is an enagaging and lush YA historical that imagines an alternate France where the revolution has..."
The Paper Girl of Paris
 
4.0
"The Paper Girl of Paris is written by journalist Jordyn Taylor and is set in both historical 1940’s and nowadays..."
The Mall
 
3.7
"Cassie Worthy won't let a little thing like Mono hold her back from completing the Plan. It's the summer of..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
We Are All His Creatures: Tales of P. T. Barnum, the Greatest Showman
 
3.0
"WE ARE ALL HIS CREATURES by Deborah Noyes is a series of eleven short stories about the beloved showman, P.T...."