Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 392
The Year of the Witching
(Updated: July 21, 2020)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Immanuelle lives in the town of Bethel where the Prophet's word is law and the highest honor for a woman is to be chosen to be one of his many wives. Immanuelle's mother was chosen, but instead she rejected him and fled to the Darkwood where she met an outsider and fell in love. She also came back pregnant. Immanuelle reminds those in Bethel of that fateful day. She's taught not to go into the evil woods. Later, though, Immanuelle ends up in the Darkwood and is given a book by some witches. In this book she learns about what really happened to her mother and the darkness of Bethel. She also discovers a power that has been within her. But in order for Bethel to change, she'll have to change.

What worked: Intense, dark tale of Immanuelle who carries the curse of her mother's action of making the mistake of falling in love with an outsider. Immanuelle tries hard to 'fit' in the town of Bethel by studying the scriptures of the Prophet and being 'good'. Yet she can't deny the allure of the Darkwood that calls to her. The scenes in Darkwood are like stumbling into a Holly Black novel. Loved the vivid descriptions that include the witches and a mysterious book that holds some of the secrets Immanuelle wants. Readers see the struggle Immanuelle has to either follow what Martha, her grandmother, teaches or to read what's in the book the witches gave her.

There's dark magic and feminist tones in this captivating fantasy. Great pacing, suspense set in a world where men keep control with rigid rules and laws. Anyone who goes against the word of the Prophet or is accused of being a witch is burned at the stake. Loved how Immanuelle rises up, even when others in her town try to keep her down. She's shunned by most, except Leah, one friend who is promised to the Prophet.

Immanuelle's struggles and then her overwhelming desires to know more about what was behind her mother's actions and the silence of the town are compelling. I couldn't put this story down and read it in one day. Yes, it's captivating, engaging and so good!

Haunting fantasy that shows a girl standing up against an evil Patriarchy. Handmaid's tale meets Holly Black.
Good Points
1. Handmaid's Tale meets Holly Black
2. Intense, dark fantasy where a girl fights against a Patriarchy
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
Roaring
 
3.0
"ROARING takes place in the 1920s- with a twist. Monsters, sirens, minotaurs, basilisks, and more, exist, and they are woven..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
Finder, Coal Mine Dog
 
4.5
"Thomas' father perished in a mining accident, so when his mother became ill and died, he ended up with his..."
Watermark (The Broken Bell, #1)
 
3.0
"WATERMARK is a dark historical (takes place in the 1990s) suspense. The book follows Jeannine, Angel's sister, and Alex, her..."
We Dream of Space
 
4.0
"WE DREAM OF SPACE is a highly engaging middle grade historical fiction. The book follows three siblings, Cash, Fitch, and..."
The Invincible Summer of Juniper Jones
 
4.7
"THE INVINCIBLE SUMMER OF JUNIPER JONES is a heart-wrenching YA historical novel that takes place primarily in 1955. Ethan is..."
Blood Countess (Lady Slayers)
 
4.3
"Visually, this book is a gorgeous work of art, splattered with blood from cover to cover. For those familiar with..."
The Paper Girl of Paris
 
4.7
"THE PAPER GIRL OF PARIS by Jordyn Taylor is a new young adult novel that is both a contemporary and..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.0
"JO & LAURIE takes place after the publication of the original LITTLE WOMEN, which is about half of the current..."
The Jewel Thief
 
5.0
"THE JEWEL THIEF by Jeannie Mobley is a YA Historical Fiction novel, set in Paris, France during the reign of..."
Great Escapes #1: Nazi Prison Camp Escape
 
3.5
"Bill Ash was an American who volunteered for the Canadian Air Force in 1940, and was sent to Europe shortly..."
Spindle and Dagger
 
3.7
"Spindle and Dagger by J. Anderson Coats is a beautiful, yet brutal, literary novel set in Medieval Wales. It is..."
Spindle and Dagger
 
3.7
"Spindle and Dagger by J. Anderson Coats is a unique, dark tale set in Medieval Wales. The author did their..."
They Went Left
 
5.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale of eighteen-year-old Holocaust survivor Zofia Lederman who searches for her brother after the war. I've..."
The Court of Miracles (Court of Miracles, #1)
 
5.0
"THE COURT OF MIRACLES is an enagaging and lush YA historical that imagines an alternate France where the revolution has..."
The Paper Girl of Paris
 
4.0
"The Paper Girl of Paris is written by journalist Jordyn Taylor and is set in both historical 1940’s and nowadays..."
The Mall
 
3.7
"Cassie Worthy won't let a little thing like Mono hold her back from completing the Plan. It's the summer of..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
We Are All His Creatures: Tales of P. T. Barnum, the Greatest Showman
 
3.0
"WE ARE ALL HIS CREATURES by Deborah Noyes is a series of eleven short stories about the beloved showman, P.T...."