Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 2139
Goddess In The Machine
(Updated: July 10, 2020)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a colonist on a new planet. Only she wakes up a thousand years in the future and finds out that the people on the planet call her 'Goddess'. She's told her family and the other colonists are dead. Zhade, is the exiled bastard prince of Eerensed. Once he wakes Andra, he plans on using her for his own purposes which includes removing his brother from the throne. Andra finds out in order to survive she must play along with Zhade's plans. In the meantime, she tries to find a way to leave the planet.

What worked: Captivating Sci-Fi tale of a teen who wakes up a thousand years in the future to a world that considers her a goddess. Andra knows she's far from being that. She still struggles with insecurities of not being 'enough', even after she finds out her mother and family are long dead.

I really enjoyed this story! Zhade is that handsome, charismatic prince who just happens to be exiled. The chemistry between Andra and Zhade is real, even when she knows he's only manipulating her to get back to his rightful place as ruler of Eernesed.

There's so much more to this then just a futuristic story. The world building of Eerensed with the waste lands to the opposing factions like the Schism are vivid. Also there's remnants of what appears to be technology from Earth. This includes a Crown on Maret, Zhade's half-brother, head, which in reality control nanos. Maret uses this to keep his people in control, but also tries to use Andra to help rebuild the dome protecting his world.

There's hints of what really is going on in Eernesed. I admit, it took me a while to figure it all out, but when I did? Wow. Just wow.

ACROSS THE UNIVERSE meets The 100, readers are sure to be riveted to each page as they follow Andra's search to unlock her own fate. Twists and turns throughout this very imaginative, engaging story. I wanted to know what happens next!
Good Points
1. Futuristic suspense
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming—and heart-tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what...
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join everyone's favorite Wildcats from the Disney+ smash hit original...
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming text honoring the ever-evolving relationship of a parent...
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The brand-new sequel to a well-reviewed bestseller that has been...
Noble Thief (Fantasy and Fairytales Book 6)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A prince of two kingdoms. A woman fighting against the...
All These Bodies
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen bloodless bodies. Two teenagers. One impossible explanation. ...
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They are the Beautiful Ones, Loisail’s most notable socialites, and...
I Am the Shark
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
What makes the great white shark (one of) the greatest...

Latest Member Reviews

Pull the Dragon's Tooth! (Geronimo Stilton Micekings #3)
 
4.0
"The chief of the Micekings is bound and determined to make Geronimo a "true macho mouseking" and enlists the aid..."