Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 935
Goddess In The Machine
(Updated: July 10, 2020)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a colonist on a new planet. Only she wakes up a thousand years in the future and finds out that the people on the planet call her 'Goddess'. She's told her family and the other colonists are dead. Zhade, is the exiled bastard prince of Eerensed. Once he wakes Andra, he plans on using her for his own purposes which includes removing his brother from the throne. Andra finds out in order to survive she must play along with Zhade's plans. In the meantime, she tries to find a way to leave the planet.

What worked: Captivating Sci-Fi tale of a teen who wakes up a thousand years in the future to a world that considers her a goddess. Andra knows she's far from being that. She still struggles with insecurities of not being 'enough', even after she finds out her mother and family are long dead.

I really enjoyed this story! Zhade is that handsome, charismatic prince who just happens to be exiled. The chemistry between Andra and Zhade is real, even when she knows he's only manipulating her to get back to his rightful place as ruler of Eernesed.

There's so much more to this then just a futuristic story. The world building of Eerensed with the waste lands to the opposing factions like the Schism are vivid. Also there's remnants of what appears to be technology from Earth. This includes a Crown on Maret, Zhade's half-brother, head, which in reality control nanos. Maret uses this to keep his people in control, but also tries to use Andra to help rebuild the dome protecting his world.

There's hints of what really is going on in Eernesed. I admit, it took me a while to figure it all out, but when I did? Wow. Just wow.

ACROSS THE UNIVERSE meets The 100, readers are sure to be riveted to each page as they follow Andra's search to unlock her own fate. Twists and turns throughout this very imaginative, engaging story. I wanted to know what happens next!
Good Points
1. Futuristic suspense
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"Jewell Parker Rhodes writes electrifying middle grade stories that pack emotion into every sentence, and GHOST BOYS showcases that skill..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"I always struggle to review these types of novels--these black lives matter, civil rights-esque novels. I often go into them..."
Efrén Divided
 
5.0
"Efrén and his family work very hard, but still struggle to make ends meet. His father works several jobs, and..."
Worse Than Weird
 
4.0
"Mac lives with her parents, Hank and Coral, in a small house in Portland. Small, as in she sleeps in..."
I Can Make This Promise
 
5.0
"I CAN MAKE THIS PROMISE is a moving middle grade contemporary fiction about trusting your parents, finding your heritage, and..."
Pip and the Bamboo Path
 
4.0
"PIP AND THE BAMBOO PATH is a gorgeously illustrated story about finding a home with important messages about deforestation and..."
8 Notes to a Nobody (Bird Face book one)
 
5.0
"This is the first book in Cynthia T. Toney’s Birdface series which follows Wendy, a young Louisiana teen, through her..."
8 Notes to a Nobody (Bird Face book one)
 
5.0
"The main character, Wendy, is realistic and sympathetically portrayed, so much so that the book drew me in and transported..."
Sea Prayer
 
5.0
"This fictional picture book, inspired by the tragic death of three-year-old Alan Kurdi's tragic death on a Turkish beach, follows..."
Dangerous Jane
 
4.0
"Following Jane Addams life from her well-to-do but uncomfortable childhood, we see that she was interested in helping the underprivileged..."
Click'd
 
4.0
"Allie has an amazing time in the CodeGirls Summer camp and is really excited about the app she has created,..."
8 Notes to a Nobody (Bird Face book one)
 
N/A
"Thirteen-year-old Wendy Robichaud has a lot going on in her life. She's quiet and artistic, but usually lets her own..."
Slacker
 
4.0
"Cameron lives to play video games, but when he is so concentrated on one that he doesn't take a casserole..."
A Handful of Stars
 
5.0
"What do dogs, bees, and blueberries have in common? Admittedly, not much at first, but to a young girl named..."