Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 442
Jo & Laurie
(Updated: July 04, 2020)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a sequel. She's asked by her publisher to write a happily-ever-after ending to all her characters. Only Jo's having a hard time writing this. Her life has some unexpected twists like her father staying in the South to help with rebuilding and Beth's serious illness. Then Laurie proposes after a trip to New York. When Beth rejects his proposal, Laurie goes off to college. She goes back to her writing. Only she gets a case of major writer's block and her finished work is rejected. When Laurie comes back to Concord with a new girlfriend, Jo life takes an unexpected turn. Should she continue on the path of being independent or follow her heart?

What worked: Okay, confession time. When I read LITTLE WOMEN as a tween I hated that Jo turned Laurie down. I mean, they were perfect together. I didn't quite buy the whole Laurie and younger sister Amy together. It felt forced and too sudden to me. So when I found out Stohl and De La Cruz did a retelling? I wanted to read that novel. And I wasn't disappointed!

In this 'What if' scenario Jo doesn't know what to think of her modest success with LITTLE WOMEN. Readers get to meet the same characters they loved in the original story, but Stohl and De La Cruz fleshed them out a little more. I really enjoyed seeing the dynamics of the 'real' sisters and I loved Laurie even more!

Jo suffers from doubt, writer's block, and a driving motivation to succeed at writing in a mostly male's world. Meg is the older, prim sister, but unlike the original novel, she also has her own insecurities and fears. Amy is younger in this novel and suffers a devastating illness that brings everyone together.

I really enjoyed this engaging historical, though at times the pacing was slow. It does pick up, especially during Amy's illness and Jo's struggles on her writing. The romance is sweet, not only with Jo and Laurie, but Meg and Brooke.

Sweet retelling of LITTLE WOMEN where Jo struggles to write the perfect sequel and finds that truth is stronger than fiction.
Good Points
1. Sweet retelling of LITTLE WOMEN
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...

Latest Member Reviews

The Day Before (Riverdale Novel 1)
 
4.0
"Riverdale: The Day Before features the perspectives of the four main characters of season 1: Jughead, Archie, Betty, and Veronica...."
These Broken Stars (Starbound #1)
 
5.0
""These Broken Stars" is an interesting YA sci-fi that follows two young people after a space shuttle crash. Lilac LeRoux..."
Deception (Defiance #2)
 
4.0
""Deception" continues Rachel and Logan's story as the survivors of Baalboden head into Wasteland to make a new life for..."
Across a Star-Swept Sea (For Darkness Shows the Stars #2)
 
5.0
""Across a Star-Swept Sea" is an incredible sequel that introduces a new world and cast of characters, making it also..."
Ready Player One
 
5.0
"I enjoyed this story it kept me entertained. I enjoyed the characters and ending."
These Broken Stars (Starbound #1)
 
4.0
"I’ll admit I was a bit hesitant to pick this one up. First of all, it sounded a bit like..."
Nevermore (Nevermore #1)
 
4.0
"What a ride! As a Poe enthusiast, I found this book irresistible. I struggled to put it down. And, when..."
Nevermore (Nevermore #1)
 
4.7
" It's great! What I love the most is how dark and gritty the world felt. It was so cool..."
How to Disappear
 
5.0
"I am so absolutely in love with Sharon Huss Roat. Her books are funny, relatable, and so easily devoured. I..."
Angelfall (Penryn & the End of Days #1)
 
4.0
"Possible spoilers ahead. Angelfall is most definitely a unique story with a dark twist on angels and the apocalypse..."
172 Hours on the Moon
 
4.0
"172 Hours on the Moon was an interesting novel. It was full of suspense, thrills, and horror. The author crafted..."
Angelfall (Penryn & the End of Days #1)
 
4.7
"This book follows Penryn, a young girl living in a dystopian world where angels have conquered the world and have..."
Vampire Academy: Last Sacrifice (Book 6)
 
4.7
"Rose Hathaway and Princess Valissa Dragomir must uncover the mysteries going on in St. Vladamir's Academy and their world. St...."
Thirteen Reasons Why
 
5.0
"Definitely the reason why I decided to reread this was because of the show. and now that I finished reading..."
Thirteen Reasons Why
 
3.7
"Thirteen Reasons Why (stylised as Th1rteen R3eason Why) follows shy high school teenager Clay Jensen. Clay has received a..."
L.A. Candy (L.A. Candy #1)
 
3.3
"This is is not very good but for some reason I kind of enjoyed it. It's going to be one..."
Anna and the French Kiss
 
4.7
"Anna's father decides he's going to send Anna to a international boarding school in Paris. It's her senior year and..."
Allegiant (Divergent #3)
 
5.0
"The Divergent series comes to an end as Tris, Tobias and the gang venture outside the fence. This was another..."
Vampire Academy: Last Sacrifice (Book 6)
 
4.0
"4.5 stars! Action packed and filled with humor, the Vampire Academy series is a great read for teens. Richelle Mead..."
Ready Player One
 
4.7
K Karen@Thebookreturn.com
"I have to say that I think this will be a must read for everyone although I think that those..."