Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 421
hauntingly lyrical story about sisterhood and grief
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
TIGERS, NOT DAUGHTERS is a lyrical book of sisterhood and grief. The Torres sisters had tried to escape their father but failed due to the boys who watch them from across the street. Only two months later, Ana, the eldest, falls out of her window they had tried to escape out of to her death. A year later, the sisters are surviving in their grief as best as they can.

Jessica, Iridian, and Rosa are all very different people, who are bound together as sisters. As things start happening that make it seem as though Ana's ghost is hanging around, the sisters each try to decipher the meanings in their own ways, while also navigating life with their abusive father and the other boys in their lives, some of whom are also abusive.

The most important thing in the book is the sisterhood they have, and the book builds beautifully to the ways in which they save themselves and each other from the horrible forces around them.

What I loved: The whole book is lyrically enchanting and haunting, pulling the reader into the world of the Torres sisters completely. Descriptions come to life off the pages, and the sisters are each different and unique in a way that makes them easy to imagine. While there is a paranormal element in Ana's ghost, it is a relatively minor theme that propels the sisters toward their introspective conclusions.

There is domestic abuse both with their father who is emotionally abusive and neglectful, lost in his own grief and need to lash out and with one of the girl's boyfriends who is violent towards her in several scenes. While the book sets up Hector and his friends as a force, I appreciate how it is the sisters who must collide and forge forward together, and it is their relationships which define the book.

Final verdict: Perfect for fans of THE RAVEN CYCLE and A ROOM AWAY FROM THE WOLVES, Mabry delivers a hauntingly lyrical book about sisterhood and grief that will have readers thinking about the Torres sisters long after the last page is turned.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Kindness Grows
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It all starts with a crack that we can hardly...
Hello You!
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
All it takes is a simple "hello YOU!" to start...
Cookies for Elmo: A Little Book about the Big Power of Sharing
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming new picture book about sharing from beloved Sesame...
Endgame (The Wielders of Arantha Book 3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Go to Mount Calabur. Stand on the Nexus. Win the...
Fae's Promise (Crimes of the Fae)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Griffin O’Shea is trapped. Again....
The Lost Prince (The Nihryst Book 2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A mythical healing flower. A fractured kingdom. A curse unbroken....
Instant Karma
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
In New York Times bestselling author Marissa Meyer's young adult...
Put Yourself in My Shoes
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Cricket goes for a walk, he finds Ladybug searching...
Selma
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Selma is asked: What is happiness? ...
Benjamin's Blue Feet
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young bird with a flair for discovery and invention...
Pocket Piggies: I Love You!
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
What’s the best thing in the world? I...
Everything Under the Sun
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sun’s Reach is in dire peril. The last...
Lizzy Albright and the Attic Window
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lizzy Albright, a red-headed, freckle-faced girl from Overland Park, Kansas,...
Send Me Their Souls (Bring Me Their Hearts, #3)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
There are worse things than death. ...
The Walrus and the Caribou
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
When the earth was new, words had the power to...
The Elephant's Umbrella
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Elephant is always ready and willing to share her prized...

Latest Member Reviews

This is My Brain in Love
 
5.0
"THIS IS MY BRAIN IN LOVE is a powerful YA contemporary romance about family, mental illness, and working hard to..."
Kat and Meg Conquer the World
 
3.7
"WHAT I LOVED: The course of friendship, like love, doesn’t run smoothly. Epcot at Disney World nearly broke up my..."