Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 655
thrilling and electrifying YA sci-fi
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
HONOR BOUND is an electrifying and thrilling YA sci-fi sequel. Zara, Beatriz, and Nadim are on the run from an enemy they never could have imagined. However, they and Typhon and his crew are unable to travel far without healing starlight. Typhon and Nadim are Leviathans, creatures who live in space and function as living spaceships while also being an alien race with their own customs and culture. Leviathans eat starlight for food and to aid with healing, with different wavelengths being ideal for different Leviathans.

Zara has deep-bonded with Nadim, a connection that makes the two into one and giving them a special bond that allows them to share feelings and pain. Typhon has connected with his Honors, but their connection is one-sided with Typhon controlling them. His grief has led him to spurn equal bonds, but he is still learning as well. The Honors and those they saved from the battle wreckage head to Sliver, a dangerous way-station in space, where they hope to barter for the starlight patches and medicine they need to be able to travel on and fight the enemy they are all too aware of.

However, their time on Sliver teaches them of the other dangers they face, and sends them out on a dangerous quest that will change their lives further.

What I loved: This series is full of space adventure, and this sequel was no different. It is even faster-paced and with wider and far-reaching universe development that imagines other alien races and technology. This world is absolutely fascinating, and the character growth that we saw in the first book only continues in this second book. I love the creatures, the Leviathans, and the bonds they create with their Honors, the humans (or other aliens) chosen to travel with them.

There are also some really interesting themes about humanity, the need for conquering and destruction, as well as the morality of such decisions. This further raises questions about motivations and the ethical value of different motivations, whether there is a better reason for destroying others or not. I found these themes truly intriguing and worth discussion.

Final verdict: A thrilling sequel, HONOR BOUND is an intricately woven YA sci-fi with fascinating themes. Highly recommend for fans of IGNITE THE STARS, HEART OF IRON, and FARSCAPE.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Skyhunter (Skyhunter, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A broken world. An overwhelming evil. ...
Tsalix Silverthorn and the Scepter of Destiny
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The latest phenomenal work from New York Times Bestselling author...
Kingdom of Ice and Bone (The Frozen Sun Saga, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lira and Reyker have lost everything. Including each other. ...
The Adventures of Bubba Jones (#4): Time Traveling Through Grand Canyon National Park
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the fourth book of this award-winning national park series,...
How It All Blew Up
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda goes to Italy in...
Music for Tigers
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Shipped halfway around the world to spend the summer with...
The Companion
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The other orphans say Margot is lucky. Lucky to...
Sanctuary
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It's 2032, and in this near-future America, all citizens...
Teen Titans: Beast Boy
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Author Kami Garcia (Beautiful Creatures) and artist Gabriel Picolo,...
The Magic Misfits: The Fourth Suit (The Magic Misfits, #4)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Misfits must work together to fend off mysterious attacks...
Duck and Penguin Do Not Like Sleepovers
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A hilarious bedtime romp tackles the thrills and anxieties of...
Furia
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A powerful, #ownvoices contemporary YA for fans of The...
Fussy Flamingo
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A hysterical flamingo children's book about a picky eater and...
Blood & Honey
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The stakes are higher. The witches are deadlier. And...
Legendborn (Legendbord #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Filled with mystery and an intriguingly rich magic system,...
The Shadow Mission (The Athena Protocol, #2)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The gripping sequel to The Athena Protocol, a feminist Bourne...

Latest Member Reviews

Legendborn (Legendborn, #1)
 
5.0
"LEGENDBORN is absolutely thrilling YA fantasy that captivated me from the start. Bree gained early entrance into UNC-Chapel Hill and..."
Sia Martinez and the Moonlit Beginning of Everything
 
5.0
"What worked: There's so much to love about this contemporary diverse thriller that is bits Laurie Halse Anderson meets Sci-Fi/X-Files..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Between Burning Worlds
 
4.7
"What worked: This is the second novel in the Systems Divide series. Between Burning Worlds starts right off where the..."
Girls With Razor Hearts
 
5.0
"Now that Mena and the other girls have escaped Innovations Academy, they find their past hasn't left them. Mena vows..."
The Lady Rogue
 
5.0
"THE LADY ROGUE is an absolutely thrilling historical fiction/fantasy. In the vein of THE MUMMY but in Romania and with..."
This Cruel Design
 
5.0
"Feedback This book…. What do I have to say about this book…. I have such a love/hate relationship with it...."
There's Something About Sweetie
 
5.0
"Sandhya Menon's backlist is full of romantic, heartfelt stories, and THERE'S SOMETHING ABOUT SWEETIE is no exception. Sweetie Nair is..."
The Geography of Lost Things
 
4.0
"THE GEOGRAPHY OF LOST THINGS by Jessica Brody is a YA contemporary novel that begins with Ali needing to sell..."
Sanctuary
 
3.0
"X-men Gen X (i.e. the teen version) meets Aliens-lite in this survival-in-space story. Told in first-person past-tense from..."
Confessions of a High School Disaster
 
3.7
"Confessions of a High School Disaster is the first installment of the Chloe Snow series. I read the second installment..."
A Kiss in the Dark
 
3.3
"WHAT I LOVED: Macy is a likable, layered character and her narration flows easily. Even when my frustration mounted..."
The Year of Living Awkwardly
 
4.7
"Chloe Snow is a high school sophomore who is struggling with the abandonment of her mother. She also is absorbed..."
Life Inside My Mind: 31 Authors Share Their Personal Struggles
 
5.0
"This is a raw, honest portrayal of YA authors struggles with mental health. Thirty-one authors share their stories which include..."
 
2.7
""Pretties" is a continuation of the Uglies series where Tally Youngblood has now returned to the city and become a..."
The Wicked Deep
 
5.0
"The promise of a novel filled with the essence of both Practical Magic and Hocus Pocus is fulfilled by reading..."
You'll Miss Me When I'm Gone
 
5.0
"You'll Miss Me When I'm Gone was one of the last books I read in 2017 and I couldn't have..."
The Last Magician
 
5.0
"The Last Magician was a magical and exciting novel set in 1902 that featured time-travel, magic and gangs in New..."
When Dimple Met Rishi
 
3.3
"A contemporary YA romance—heavy on the romance—with an Indian-American take on the attraction of opposites. The story is told..."
Light Years
 
2.3
" Thank you so much Simon Pulse and the FFBC for providing me with a e-arc for review. In compliance..."