Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1183
heart-wrenching YA historical fiction
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
THE INVINCIBLE SUMMER OF JUNIPER JONES is a heart-wrenching YA historical novel that takes place primarily in 1955. Ethan is biracial, but has been primarily raised by his white father who does not seem to grasp the concept of race or racism. After he punches a boy at school for saying something horrible and is suspended from school, his father decides that his punishment will be going to Alabama for the summer to stay with his aunt and uncle in the small town of Ellison.

Ellison is gripped by outright racism and the Ku Klux Klan. The townspeople take no time at all to make sure Ethan knows that he is not welcome there, resorting to outright threats. His aunt and uncle are also wary of him and they say terrible things to keep up appearances. We view these things through Ethan's eyes, making it clear the harmful effects silence or going with the flow can have.

However, Juniper Jones, a fiery young girl Ethan's age, decides that Ethan is going to be her best friend and that together, they will have the best summer ever. He soon gets swept away in her plans and adventures, all the while dealing with the town and its racist occupants.

What I love: The book really sweeps you away in the story, and we feel Ethan's conflicts and pains throughout the book. It also shows the problems with colorblindness that lead to his father sending him to such a dangerous place and not speaking about race at home. Microaggressions as well as outright racism and hate crimes are pervasive throughout the novel, and the focus on Ethan's experience shines a light on all these issues that are still occurring today. Through his eyes, we also see the things that Ethan notices, which the white residents may ignore (as his father likely did), such as the confederate flag hanging in the center of town. The book also shows the power of having a vocal ally, and the need for those people to also speak up.

The ending surprised me, but I appreciated the surprise (even if I cried). This was a really heart-wrenching story, and books which can make you feel so deeply are always a treasure. This was a true coming-of-age story, and we can see the ways in which it would shape Ethan's life (in the last chapter when we flash forward to 2015).

What left me wanting more: As a small point, I am somewhat surprised that Ethan and his father were unaware of the racial tensions in the South before he arrived (and that Washington was so much better that racism was not much of a problem they were aware of), but this may be time accurate as knowledge was more difficult to transfer (without internet and much TV).

Final verdict: Heart-breaking and well written, THE INVINCIBLE SUMMER OF JUNIPER JONES is a YA historical fiction about racism, friendship, and the events that are indelibly printed on our souls.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
A Story of Giants - Book 1
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if I told you that we are not alone,...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...

Latest Member Reviews

Anchored
 
5.0
"Unlike anything I've read before. The Story: Alora is of two worlds. During her..."
The Curse of Jenny Greene
 
5.0
"I should start by saying The Curse of Jenny Greene is far from my normal genre preferences. I’m not usually..."
Emmie and the Tudor Queen
 
4.5
"This sequel resolved a lot of questions I had that weren’t answered in the first book like where did the..."
The Reclaimed Kingdom (The Syphon Series, Book 1)
 
5.0
"I’m a new fan of Dana Claire as I recently read “The Connection” and loved it. While I eagerly..."
Sleeping Beauty's Spindle
 
4.0
"Briar Rose hasn't had any easy life. After losing her parents, she's struggling to keep her siblings together as a..."
The First Holidays
 
5.0
"A sweet and perfect novella to go with this series. The Story: Four best..."
The Connection
 
4.8
"I’ll cut to the chase before I delve into a more detailed review; I loved this book! I binge-read The..."
The Parkour Club
 
5.0
" The Parkour Club is a rollicking good read! Bronte’s journey to find her place in the world..."
The Forgotten World (The World Apart Series Book 3)
 
5.0
"I don't know how this series keeps getting better, but it does. This third book is just... so much happens..."
The Tempest Sea
 
5.0
"This book... oof. It hurt. But if you know me at all, you know my favorite books are the kind..."
The Fractured Empire
 
5.0
"This book grabbed me from the very beginning, throwing me into this beautifully-crafted, intriguing new world. The plot is fast-paced..."
My High School Royal Boyfriend
 
4.0
"'My High School Royal Boyfriend' by Kylie Key follows new River Valley High students Blaire and Alex, as they try..."