Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1879
lush and compelling YA fantasy
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
THE KINDER POISON is a compelling and mind-blowing YA fantasy. Zahru lives in a kingdom of magic, but she inherited her magic from her father and is a Whisperer, someone who can talk to animals. While this might sound cool, it's considered lowly as there is not much you can actually do with such an ability. Animals aren't easy to reason with, and it won't start fires or win wars. She is mostly content with her lot in life, but she does wish she could be an Adventurer and see the world.

The god-king, the Mestrah, is dying and has invoked a deadly competition called The Crossing to choose which of his three children shall ascend to the throne. This race has them travel across the desert with checkpoints until they arrive at the final cave, where they shall sacrifice a human to gain power and be crowned as the champion and new Mestrah. To get a glimpse of all the finery and to eat the fantastic food there, Zahru and her friend Han have devised a plan to get Zahru a seat in the spectators section (Han already has a seat due to her magic) of where the three contestants will choose the two gifted individuals who will help them in the race.

However, the name they chose to put of Zahru's mother sets her on a course that she never would have chosen with potentially deadly consequences.

What I loved: The world and character building are really lush and immersive. The magic and mythology of this world are really unique and described enough to feel like the reader is transported there without knowledge dumps. The characters are beyond fantastic- they are three-dimensional and complex. They are all really engaging in different ways, including the three royals who are competing and those they choose as their helpers along the way. I love the way their backstories were all woven into the book and they came alive from the pages. Zahru's father, Fara, is another character that I grew to love, even though he hardly appears himself, through the stories that Zahru reveals about him.

The book has some really interesting themes about what makes a good leader, the value of human life, and the power of kindness. When we got to the part from where the title comes, it was incredible and so much begins to fit into place. The plot is all perfectly paced, and I love that we see the end of the race within the book- though the ending does have me eagerly awaiting the next installment (that ending is mind-blowing!). This is a book that gives all the feels, and I was very much there for it.

Final verdict: Highly compelling, unique, and lush, THE KINDER POISON is a delicious read for anyone who appreciates YA fantasy. Highly recommend for fans of THE GIRL OF FIRE AND THORNS, THE RED QUEEN, and AN EMBER IN THE ASHES. This book is not to be missed!
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Light of Days Young Readers’ Edition: The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
As their communities were being destroyed, groups of Jewish women...
In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A young prince must rely on a mysterious stranger to...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Outer Space
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Blast off into outer space with this mess-free sticker craft!...
These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When twin heirs are born in Tourin, their fates are...
The Mother of Monsters
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mischievous Ntombi is not at all afraid of the fearsome...
Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail: A Story from Chile
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Brave young Pedro faces monsters and greedy guards when he...
What Beauty There Is
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
What Beauty There Is is Cory Anderson's stunning YA...
Baseball Baby
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This original board book series, which begins with America's favorite...
I Am Not a Penguin
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This hilarious story of a pangolin with an identity crisis...
Poison Priestess (Lady Slayers, #2)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
In 17th-century Paris, 19-year-old Catherine Monvoisin is a well-heeled...
Sam Can't Sleep
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
When Sam can’t sleep, he decides to ask all the...
The Prison Healer (The Prison Healer, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kiva Meridan has spent the last ten years...
Fate Calling
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A cursed fae prince. A lonely human lass. A...
Welcome to California
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to California! We're glad you're here! Introducing a new...
Zoe Rosenthal is Not Lawful Good
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A buttoned-up overachiever works overtime to keep her inner...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi, this...

Latest Member Reviews

A Single Shard
 
3.3
"Tree-ear is a orphaned boy who leaves with his homeless friend crane-man under a bridge, tree-ear has always been fascinated..."
The Mighty Miss Malone
 
5.0
"I hope this book will reach out and capture you heart as it did mine."
Super Surprise (Zigzag Kids 6)
 
4.0
"The kids at the Zigzag Afternoon Center are at it again. This time they learn about poetry, rhyming and..."
A Single Shard
 
5.0
"It takes a lot of skill to make a book about an inanimate object interesting. Let me tell you, Linda..."
I Was a Rat!
 
4.0
"Oooooh child! I’m always impressed when an author can take a child’s book and deliver some pretty adult/complicated themes in..."
A Single Shard
 
5.0
"I wasn’t entirely sure what to expect when I picked up ‘A Single Shard.’ I like historical fiction, but it..."
The People of Sparks (Book of Ember #2)
 
5.0
"The second book of Ember finds Boon and Lina in the village of Sparks. The reader can certainly understanding both..."
Johnny Tremain
 
4.0
"While considered a classic in young adult and children’s literature, "Johnny Tremain" is probably not a book that many young..."
Rodzina
 
5.0
"Rodzina is a wonderful story of a little known event in America's not-too-distant history. She is so sympathetic I just..."
The London Eye Mystery
 
4.0
"This story has a lovely flow to it and is written in an easy to follow style - a really..."
The Fairy Godmother Academy #5: Sumi's Book
 
4.0
"Sumi Hara loves fashion so much, it's all she ever thinks about. So when a magic mirror suddenly whisks her..."
 
5.0
"THIS IS A BOOK I CAN READ OVER AND OVER AGAIN. It's the story of a girl who becomes a..."
The Black Stallion Returns
 
4.5
"This book is as full of drama, heartbreak, warmth, and detailed horse life as the first. I loved that we..."
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by bear   The main character name is gabe.  Gabe is in the..."
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Ben B.    The kite fighters is about two brothers. The older one receives an..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Allison K. Young-Sup, a boy who lives in Soul, Korea, is a boy who loves kite..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Daniel This book is about a boy named Young-sup and is brother Kee-sup. Young-sup is better..."
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by C.J. T. Young-sup is looking forward to the New Year but when his brother..."
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Jack.K Back in Seoul, Korea in 1473, two brothers are excited about the kite fights of..."
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Kaylee B Kee-sup is a boy who loves to make things. Young-sup is the opposite of..."