Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 641
compelling and thought-provoking YA dystopian
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
AGNES AT THE END OF THE WORLD is a poignant YA dystopian that really speaks to humanity and the present. Agnes has grown up in Red Creek, a cult that is ruled over by the Prophet and resembles those we have heard of. Women are suppressed and are wed when they are as young as 14 to men with many wives. Illnesses are only to be treated with prayer, and death is God's punishment for fault. Agnes had a revelation when she was young and the Earth spoke to her as a voice and music she knew as God. However, when she brought this up, she learned quickly to suppress it, her Sunday School teacher beating her hands with a Bible until her finger broke- only the Prophet can talk to God.

Now, Agnes is in rebellion and aware of the dangers it carries. She meets with someone from the outside to get the medicine that can save her brother Ezekiel, who has type 1 diabetes and would die without the insulin. However, doing so goes against all the Prophet's teachings, and Agnes lives a life which is otherwise "pure." Things are changing though, in her world and in the Outside, as the outsider she meets for medicine warns her.

Agnes must make hard decisions about who she is, the religion that raised her, and her own destiny.

What I loved: This book is highly addictive and captivating. Agnes and her story are something unique and different that speak to organized religion and cults, the problems with a black-and-white world view, sexism, the manifestation of God (as Agnes experiences), and faith. During the book, we see the world from 16-year-old Agnes and, to a lesser extent, her 15-year-old sister Beth's points-of-view, both intriguing, multidimensional, and heartfelt. Complicated love shines through the pages, primarily for humanity and family. This book gave me all the feels and chills as I was reading it, particularly right now when a plague feels somewhat prophetic (of course manifesting differently and with different consequences).

This book has elements of magical realism and the wonder of the world- for things we know and those we cannot yet know. The complexity of faith and religion is also touched on throughout in really intriguing ways. This is a truly thought-provoking read that will stick with me for some time.

Final verdict: Compelling and poignant, AGNES AT THE END OF THE WORLD is a fantastic read about humanity, faith, and love. The complexities and intricacies of the plot and relationships are beautifully combined into a triumph of dystopian fiction. Would highly recommend for fans of THE HUNGER GAMES, THE HANDMAID'S TALE, and THE GRACE YEAR.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Manga Classics Hamlet: Shakespeare
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
The dead still walk in Denmark. Already crushed by his...
Wings of Ebony (Wings of Ebony, #1)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this riveting, keenly emotional debut fantasy, a Black...
All the Tides of Fate (All the Stars and Teeth, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The thrilling sequel to instant New York Times bestseller All...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera Cass....
Born Royal
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
Imprisoned and experimented on since she was twelve, Princess...
Born at Dawn
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Half-human thief Neva Roberts, 17, has always hidden her...
I'll Be the One (I'll Be the One #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The world of K-Pop has never met a star...
The Dog Patrol: Our Canine Companions and the Kids Who Protect Them
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In a full-color dog book unlike any other, acclaimed children’s...
Unchosen
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Katharyn Blair crafts a fiercely feminist fantasy with a...
Watch Over Me
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Mila is used to being alone. Maybe that’s why...
The Safekeeper
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Her job is to keep their secrets safe. ...
City of the Plague God
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Best-selling author Rick Riordan presents CITY OF THE PLAGUE GOD,...
The Shadow War
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inglourious Basterds meets Stranger Things in this dark and thrilling...
The Valley and the Flood
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rose Colter is almost home, but she can't go back...
Don't Tell A Soul
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stay up all night with this modern day Rebecca! Perfect...
58 Farm End
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
58 Farm End: a twisted romantic crime thriller series (Book...

Latest Member Reviews

Sounder
 
3.0
"HarperCollins issued a revised edition of this on 30 Decemember 2019. This 1970 Newbery winner is set in the deep..."
Holes
 
5.0
"Important message. Unique perspective."
Holes
 
3.5
"A family curse, a false accusation, a local legend, and a series of coincidences come together in this generation-spanning tale..."
It's Kind of a Funny Story
 
3.5
"A mature contemporary YA, set in New York City. The story is told in first-person present-tense, exclusively from the perspective..."
The Sleeper and the Spindle
 
4.5
"The Sleeper and the Spindle is a short illustrated novel by renowned genius Neil Gaiman that spins a clever twist..."
 
5.0
"Johnny loves his job as a teen stuntman, even if it means filling in for Ricky Corvette and not being..."
The Clique (The Clique #1)
 
4.0
"This is the most realistic book about girls in middle school I have ever read. it gets how girls..."
Confessions of an Imaginary Friend
 
4.5
"Confessions of an Imaginary Friend is humorous and delightful. I laughed my way through this book, and it’s no surprise..."
The Sleeper and the Spindle
 
5.0
"The Sleeper and the Spindle is a picture book that is as illuminating as it is dark. Spinning the fairytales..."
The Bad Beginning (A Series of Unfortunate Events #1)
 
3.0
"After a long day I wanted to read but I wanted something light, and entertaining. I opted for a kid’s..."
The Graveyard Book
 
4.0
"One can't possibly claim the title of this book isn't fitting...or exceedingly literal. >.> The story does indeed revolve around..."
Because of Winn-Dixie
 
4.0
" “Because of Winn Dixie” is written by Kate DiCamillo..."
Bliss
 
4.0
" This book is recommended to 12+ and in my opinion you will enjoy it for all the readers out..."
 
N/A
"This book is about a boy named Widge, and he is an orphan, and he has a good personally. I..."
 
4.0
"I found it vaguely reminiscent of 'My Side of the Mountain', from a distinctly female perspective, and facing a harsher..."
 
4.0
" I have to credit my early love of this book for a phase of reclusive nature-loving, and much..."
The Forbidden Library
 
4.0
"My heart has always held a special place for book. They take you to far off places away from every..."
 
3.0
"I really enjoyed this book for what it was. It kept me up till late, I finished it in one..."
 
4.5
"I really enjoyed the book No Talking by Andrew Clements. I think we all could learn an important lesson from..."
Are You There God? It's Me, Margaret
 
5.0
"I read this book when I was in high school (who didn't right??) It's still a classic and probably one..."