Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 360
beautiful and highly devourable YA contemporary romance
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
THE STATE OF US is a really fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows the children of two political rivals. Dean's mother is running for POTUS as a Republican, and he has spent his life in the political spotlight, as she was first a war hero and then governor of Florida. She is running against Andre's (Dre) father, who is the Democratic candidate. Dre was only recently thrust into the political spotlight, as his father was not previously a politician, and even scoring the party's nomination had seemed unlikely.

Dre is out and vocal about his political opinions. Dean is not and keeps most of his personal opinions separate from his public life. When an incident leaves them alone in a room together, they begin to connect over their shared experience of being the child of a candidate. They begin to message each other following that, and they find that their friendship could blossom into something even better- if politics don't get in the way.

What I loved: Dean and Dre are highly likable characters who seemed fully developed. It was easy to fall in love with them and cheer for their relationship. The romance is slow-building but really strong, and they developed a great relationship throughout the story. The star-crossed nature of the romance only added to the appeal. Their banter and chemistry leaps off the pages.

The political discussions are inevitable in the book, and it was interesting to see so many sides- Democrat, Republican, and those in between on a diversity of issues. There are some valid points about disagreeing with someone you love and yet still caring for them anyway (parent-wise), as well as a lot of discussions about LGBTQ+ rights that were woven into the story well. The ultimate relationships with parents are loving and that was also really lovely to see (at least for the main characters - there's some mentions of 'conversion therapy' threats for a secondary character). The book also takes care to explain some concepts (aro/ace, drag) that readers may or may not be familiar with, and these were really well and carefully done.

Final verdict: Highly engaging and thought-provoking, THE STATE OF US is a star-crossed YA contemporary romance that is completely devourable. Highly recommend for fans of RED, WHITE, AND ROYAL BLUE, ONLY MOSTLY DEVASTATED, and WE CONTAIN MULTITUDES.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Endgame (The Wielders of Arantha Book 3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Go to Mount Calabur. Stand on the Nexus. Win the...
Fae's Promise (Crimes of the Fae)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Griffin O’Shea is trapped. Again....
The Lost Prince (The Nihryst Book 2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A mythical healing flower. A fractured kingdom. A curse unbroken....
Instant Karma
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
In New York Times bestselling author Marissa Meyer's young adult...
Put Yourself in My Shoes
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Cricket goes for a walk, he finds Ladybug searching...
Selma
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Selma is asked: What is happiness? ...
Benjamin's Blue Feet
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young bird with a flair for discovery and invention...
Pocket Piggies: I Love You!
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
What’s the best thing in the world? I...
Everything Under the Sun
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sun’s Reach is in dire peril. The last...
Lizzy Albright and the Attic Window
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lizzy Albright, a red-headed, freckle-faced girl from Overland Park, Kansas,...
Send Me Their Souls (Bring Me Their Hearts, #3)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
There are worse things than death. ...
The Walrus and the Caribou
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
When the earth was new, words had the power to...
The Elephant's Umbrella
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Elephant is always ready and willing to share her prized...
Calvin Gets the Last Word
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The dictionary as narrator? YES! ...
Goblin King (Permafrost, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Kara Barbieri's Goblin King, the stunning sequel in the...
Hollowpox: The Hunt for Morrigan Crow (Nevermoor, #3)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Morrigan battles a new evil as a strange, frightening illness...

Latest Member Reviews

Knocked Out by My Nunga-Nungas
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by safia It is the third great book in the Georgia Nicolson series. Funny and fabulous, it..."
Knocked Out by My Nunga-Nungas
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by linda Georgia Nicholson has all the problems a normal girl has; embarrassing parents (who drag her off..."
Knocked Out by My Nunga-Nungas
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Jersey georia is still the girlfriend of a sexgod (robbie) and she cheats on him with Dave..."
Knocked Out by My Nunga-Nungas
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by iki Another Georgia Nicolson story this time with Red Bottomosity, Angus,Naomi the sex kitten, the Sex God,..."
Knocked Out by My Nunga-Nungas
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Chloe O.M.G. At this rate these books will have e laughing till my death! They get better..."
Knocked Out by My Nunga-Nungas
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by noxzeema This book made me laugh so hard. Georgia is the girlfriend of Robbie, the..."
Knocked Out by My Nunga-Nungas
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by LJK Georgia is back! And so is Angus, and the Sex God, and Dave the Laugh, and..."
Knocked Out by My Nunga-Nungas
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by mzblonde I love these books. This is the third in the series and I can't wait to..."
Knocked Out by My Nunga-Nungas
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Dylana The confessions of Georgia Nicholson are the best! They keep you laughing nonstop. They are..."
Knocked Out by My Nunga-Nungas
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Kristen This was the 3rd book in the Georgia Nicolson series. I liked this on the best...."
Knocked Out by My Nunga-Nungas
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by lookwhaticando I loved this book because it was a laughout loud YA fiction. I loved how she..."
Knocked Out by My Nunga-Nungas
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Heather This Book is a wonderful enterpretation of a teenage girls life. From boys, to beauty, this..."