Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 320
highly devourable YA fantasy romance
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
LIVE LIKE LEGENDS is an absolutely fantastic YA fantasy romance. We follow Kalista, who is a princess born to be a peace baby, married off to another country's prince to keep peace. She has been raised and trained specifically for that purpose. However, she is suddenly surprised when she is instead wed to a different prince from a different land, owing to a prophecy that she may be able to save them from their monster.

Kalista goes to this land with her new husband, not speaking the language or knowing any of the customs. Estral is plagued by a monster who kills so many. Kalista believes this to be a legend until she barely escapes a terrifying encounter. She now has a new purpose to her life- to defend herself and those she cares about from this monster.

What I loved: I was completely engrossed in this story very quickly- it's an excellent page-turner and the pacing is absolutely perfect. Kalista is someone you can care about very quickly, and even though she does not speak the language, the romance is really well built, slow and beautiful. There is also the portrayal of PTSD from her encounter and the consequences of that, which add to the dimensionality of her experience.

There is also a really big twist towards the end that totally surprised me, and I absolutely love to be surprised. This is also a stand-alone read, and so it was really nice to have a contained novel. And what a read this is! I loved every second of it, and absolutely devoured it in a few hours- the mystery, the romance, the danger, the characters! Beyond Kalista, the other main characters, like her husband Carson, his cousin Luke, and her religious teacher, Emmett, are all also really compelling and easy to fall in love with.

There are also some interesting background themes about what is love/what makes a marriage, religion and its role in society, and politics/culture.

Final verdict: Highly devourable and compelling, LIVE LIKE LEGENDS is a fantastic romantic YA fantasy. I would recommend this for fans of THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US, THE WINTER DUKE, and GIRL OF FIRE AND THORNS.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Zora's Zucchini
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The first zucchini of a summer garden is always exciting,...
Libby Loves Science
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Libby loves science! In this STEM-themed picture book, a companion...
The Hidden Rainbow
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
All the colors of the rainbow are hidden in the...
The Places We Sleep
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A family divided, a country going to war, and a...
Chasing Starlight
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Midwestern high school seniors and swim teammates Alli and Brandon...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
True love has never been more deadly in this lush...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Across race and time, a magical battle for freedom... ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Grace Richardson is a young mortal woman whose only concerns...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...

Latest Member Reviews

Bogus
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Drew This book is a notebook about a semi-artsy fartsy kid named Aldo Zelnick...."
Bogus
 
5.0
"What would you do with a $1,000? Aldo would buy& 893 taquitos, 250 packs of Pokémon cards, 555..."
Artsy Fartsy
 
4.0
"Artsy Fartsy, by Karla Oceanak & Kendra Spanjer is a fun, creative, and funny comic novel. When Aldos..."
Artsy Fartsy
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Julie M. Prince For those book lovers who favor Wimpy Kid, here's another comic/sketchbook style tale you..."