Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1846
A Constellation of Roses Review
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
I will admit, I went into this book knowing nothing. The cover and title caught my attention, and I'm so glad I took the chance!

Right from the beginning the story drew me in with Trix's ability to manipulate shadows. Living on her own after her mother's disappearance and running from the group homes and foster families, Trix is barely getting by via stealing. When she's caught, instead of being charged and tried, she has the chance to go live with a long lost aunt and finish high school.

She goes to live with this new family--her aunt, grandmother, and cousin--and as she learns more about these relatives and the father she never knew, she begins to see that there is more to life and she really has the opportunity to start over. Not only do these relatives take her in with open arms, they also have special abilities.

Now, while there are these gifts, I would not categorize this book as fantasy. They're subtle and not a huge focus of the story. And it is the only fantasy element; there aren't even others with abilities.

A Constellation of Roses is a heartbreaking, beautiful story. The focus on family, friends, and moving on from one's past is executed so well. I love strong family ties in books. The author really showed what it's like to have both positive and troubled relationships, which is important in this genre. It gave the book a realistic and relatable quality, even for those who have never experienced the degree of hardships Trix faces.

I truly enjoyed this book and highly recommend it!
Good Points
- Strong family relationships
- Intriguing from the beginning
- Relatable characters and situations
- Emotional story (in a good way)
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming—and heart-tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what...
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join everyone's favorite Wildcats from the Disney+ smash hit original...
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming text honoring the ever-evolving relationship of a parent...
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The brand-new sequel to a well-reviewed bestseller that has been...
Noble Thief (Fantasy and Fairytales Book 6)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A prince of two kingdoms. A woman fighting against the...
All These Bodies
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen bloodless bodies. Two teenagers. One impossible explanation. ...
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They are the Beautiful Ones, Loisail’s most notable socialites, and...
I Am the Shark
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
What makes the great white shark (one of) the greatest...

Latest Member Reviews

Alexander the Great: Son of the Gods
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Mairi This book (which, by the way, is by Alan Fildes) tells the story of Alexander the..."