Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1071
beautifully written read, tackling tough topics
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
THIS IS MY BRAIN IN LOVE is a powerful YA contemporary romance about family, mental illness, and working hard to save the family business. Jocelyn has finished her sophomore year of high school, and she lives with her family above the Chinese restaurant that they own called A-Plus. Her life might be turned upside down when her parents announce that the restaurant has not been doing well and that they might have to leave Utica to go back to NYC, where her uncle runs restaurant chains with one in need of a manager.

Jocelyn (Jos) gets her parents to agree to let her try some things with social media and marketing to increase profits and allow them to stay where she has currently built her life. As part of that, she gets to hire someone to help. William (Will) is looking for a summer job opportunity when he applies to the posting Jos made. When he is offered the job, he is somewhat surprised to accept, but he knows that he can help with web presence and some other ideas to help the business.

Told in alternating points-of-view, Will and Jos are characters that come alive throughout this completely engrossing and charming YA contemporary romance.

What I loved: This book is really beautifully written. Both Jos and Will completely come to life and though it seems like a breezy and cute romance at the start, the story gains huge depth from their personal challenges and does not shy away from tough topics. The two main characters are struggling with mental illness (anxiety and depression), and they are aware of the stigmas around this. While Will has been in therapy for years, learning to use cognitive behavioral techniques to aid with his anxiety and panic attacks, Jos does not recognize her own symptoms. There are also some secondary characters with other mental illnesses (post-partum depression, anorexia and likely ADHD) that shine a light on the stigmas and the need for IEPs, therapy, and, when appropriate, medication.

The book also tackles race and microaggressions a bit in the book, as Jos is a second generation Chinese American and Will is biracial with his mother being Nigerian American. Both encounter microaggressions and racism during the course of the book that have an impact made clear to the reader. These inclusions are an important secondary theme in the book. These experiences also relate to how they approach other themes (mental illness, dating, academic expectations, etc.), and as this is an #ownvoices story, it really adds to the immersion in this world and with these three-dimensional characters.

Another minor theme is in wealth disparity, as Will's family is wealthy while Jos's family is struggling to make ends meet with the restaurant. They are also challenged by practices that seem unfair but are legal like rent hikes and other ways that can be used to force businesses or tenants out. As a budding reporter, Will knows that there is a story there, and he uses his skills to investigate deeper.

I also really loved how the parents in the book ultimately love and support their children, even if the path to getting there is not easy. The familial bonds in the book are background but really important. Also, the portrayal of therapy as a helpful tool is really useful and encouraging to young readers who may be in similar situations.

Final verdict: Powerfully written with an adorable love story, THIS IS MY BRAIN IN LOVE is a great YA contemporary romance that will sweep readers off their feet. Highly recommend for fans of Maurene Goo, Sandhya Menon, and/or Angie Thomas.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Wings of Ebony (Wings of Ebony, #1)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this riveting, keenly emotional debut fantasy, a Black teen...
You Say It First
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
One conversation can change everything. Meg has her entire...
My High School Royal Boyfriend
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
ALEX A tragedy at Langley Estate puts my family...
The Forgotten World (The World Apart Series Book 3)
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
Clark thought he knew what grief was. Addie thought...
Tales from the Hinterland
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A gorgeously illustrated collection of twelve “lush and deliciously...
Sisters of Shadow and Light
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
From the acclaimed author of Defy, Sara B. Larson,...
In the Penalty Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Willow Figure skating was supposed to be my whole...
Unchosen
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Katharyn Blair crafts a fiercely feminist fantasy with a horrifying...
Miracle Girl
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Leanne Strong hates June eighth even though it's supposed to...
The Memory Thief  (Thirteen Witches #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Rosie Singer’s mom is missing whatever it is that...
Singled Out: The True Story of Glenn Burke
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
On October 2nd, 1977, Glenn Burke, outfielder for the Los...
The Elephant in the Room
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It's been almost a year since Sila's mother traveled halfway...
Alone in the Woods
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jocelyn and Alex have always been best friends...until they aren't....
Disaster Days
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hannah Steele loves living on Pelling, a tiny island near...
Wild River
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Daniel Redmayne is fast asleep on the first night of...
The Last Hurrah
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
3 nights, 2 days, and 1 massive music fest ....

Latest Member Reviews

The Night Circus
 
4.3
"I couldn’t begin to express how much I adore this book. This book, magically, soothed my temper and let me..."
Wings of Ebony (Wings of Ebony, #1)
 
4.7
"WINGS OF EBONY is a beautifully crafted YA fantasy. A year has passed since Rue's life was irrevocably changed. Her..."
The Forgotten World (The World Apart Series Book 3)
 
5.0
"I don't know how this series keeps getting better, but it does. This third book is just... so much happens..."
The Tempest Sea
 
5.0
"This book... oof. It hurt. But if you know me at all, you know my favorite books are the kind..."
The Fractured Empire
 
5.0
"This book grabbed me from the very beginning, throwing me into this beautifully-crafted, intriguing new world. The plot is fast-paced..."
The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1)
 
4.3
"THE GILDED ONES by Namina Forna is a YA fantasy novel and the first book in the Deathless series. The..."
Unchosen
 
5.0
"UNCHOSEN is a fantastic and completely captivating YA apocalyptic fantasy, filled with feminism, friendship, sisterhood, and romance. Charlotte is the..."
The Memory Thief  (Thirteen Witches #1)
 
5.0
"Rosie has always taken care of herself and her mother in their house overlooking the coast of Maine. Her mother..."
Singled Out: The True Story of Glenn Burke
 
4.5
"Maraniss, whose Strong Inside covered Black basketball player Perry Wallace, turns his incredible research skills the the story of Glenn..."
The Elephant in the Room
 
5.0
"Sila's family has been happy in Oregon, even though her father, who is a mechanical engineer, has to work as..."
Alone in the Woods
 
5.0
"Jocelyn always looks forward to the vacation in a cabin that she and her friend Alex's family take every year...."
Disaster Days
 
5.0
"Hannah doesn't understand why her parents are SO overprotective, even though she occasionally has a hard time dealing with her..."
We Dream of Space
 
4.0
"Bird, her twin brother Fitch, and their older brother Chase are all doing the best they can in 1986 Park,..."
Wild River
 
5.0
"Daniel isn't all that sure why he was chosen to go on an outdoor experience trip with four other students..."
In the Penalty Box
 
4.0
"IN THE PENALTY BOX is a cute YA contemporary hockey romance. Willow is a figure skater heading for the Olympics,..."
The Afterlife of the Party (Afterlife, #1)
 
4.7
"THE AFTERLIFE OF THE PARTY is a YA vampire book for anyone who doesn't want to make out with the..."
The Alcazar (The Cerulean, #2)
 
3.0
"THE ALCAZAR wraps up an intriguing YA fantasy duology. The book continues to follow four main characters in alternating points-of-view,..."
Super Fake Love Song
 
4.0
"Super Fake Love Song is about Sunny Dae, a Korean American teenager who is a mega-nerd trying to survive at..."
Hot British Boyfriend
 
4.3
"Ellie lives in Washington D.C. and attends an elite school, even though the tuition is a stretch for her single..."
Charlie Thorne and the Lost City (Charlie Thorne #2)
 
5.0
"After her adventures in Charlie Thorne and the Last Equation, Charlie is hiding out in the Galapagos Islands in Ecuador,..."