Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 272
beautifully written read, tackling tough topics
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
THIS IS MY BRAIN IN LOVE is a powerful YA contemporary romance about family, mental illness, and working hard to save the family business. Jocelyn has finished her sophomore year of high school, and she lives with her family above the Chinese restaurant that they own called A-Plus. Her life might be turned upside down when her parents announce that the restaurant has not been doing well and that they might have to leave Utica to go back to NYC, where her uncle runs restaurant chains with one in need of a manager.

Jocelyn (Jos) gets her parents to agree to let her try some things with social media and marketing to increase profits and allow them to stay where she has currently built her life. As part of that, she gets to hire someone to help. William (Will) is looking for a summer job opportunity when he applies to the posting Jos made. When he is offered the job, he is somewhat surprised to accept, but he knows that he can help with web presence and some other ideas to help the business.

Told in alternating points-of-view, Will and Jos are characters that come alive throughout this completely engrossing and charming YA contemporary romance.

What I loved: This book is really beautifully written. Both Jos and Will completely come to life and though it seems like a breezy and cute romance at the start, the story gains huge depth from their personal challenges and does not shy away from tough topics. The two main characters are struggling with mental illness (anxiety and depression), and they are aware of the stigmas around this. While Will has been in therapy for years, learning to use cognitive behavioral techniques to aid with his anxiety and panic attacks, Jos does not recognize her own symptoms. There are also some secondary characters with other mental illnesses (post-partum depression, anorexia and likely ADHD) that shine a light on the stigmas and the need for IEPs, therapy, and, when appropriate, medication.

The book also tackles race and microaggressions a bit in the book, as Jos is a second generation Chinese American and Will is biracial with his mother being Nigerian American. Both encounter microaggressions and racism during the course of the book that have an impact made clear to the reader. These inclusions are an important secondary theme in the book. These experiences also relate to how they approach other themes (mental illness, dating, academic expectations, etc.), and as this is an #ownvoices story, it really adds to the immersion in this world and with these three-dimensional characters.

Another minor theme is in wealth disparity, as Will's family is wealthy while Jos's family is struggling to make ends meet with the restaurant. They are also challenged by practices that seem unfair but are legal like rent hikes and other ways that can be used to force businesses or tenants out. As a budding reporter, Will knows that there is a story there, and he uses his skills to investigate deeper.

I also really loved how the parents in the book ultimately love and support their children, even if the path to getting there is not easy. The familial bonds in the book are background but really important. Also, the portrayal of therapy as a helpful tool is really useful and encouraging to young readers who may be in similar situations.

Final verdict: Powerfully written with an adorable love story, THIS IS MY BRAIN IN LOVE is a great YA contemporary romance that will sweep readers off their feet. Highly recommend for fans of Maurene Goo, Sandhya Menon, and/or Angie Thomas.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

A Sprinkle of Spirits (Love Sugar Magic, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Leonora Logroño has finally been introduced to her family’s bakery...
The Order of Time
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
“If you’re into secret societies, time-travel, dangerous artifacts, deadly assassins,...
Thomas Edison
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Learn about the life of Thomas Edison in this early...
Pete the Cat: 5-Minute Bedtime Stories: Includes 12 Cozy Stories!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join Pete the Cat for 12 groovy, cozy stories perfect...
Sabina: In the Eye of the Storm
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
As in Anne Frank's "Diary of a Young Girl" and...
Literally: Amazing Words and Where They Come From
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A stunning non-fiction picture book about the origins of the...
Ty's Travels: All Aboard!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join Ty on his imaginative adventures in Ty's Travels: All...
Cuddle Close, Little Koala
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A reassuring bedtime story about the special bond between a...
We Are Together
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The power of love and friendship is celebrated in this...
Rage and Ruin (The Harbinger, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Half-angel Trinity and her bonded gargoyle protector, Zayne, have been...
Diamond City (Diamond City, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
"A thrilling adventure, through a vibrant city as alive as...
Shadow of the Batgirl
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Cassandra Cain, teenage assassin, isn't exactly Batgirl material...yet. Will she...
Of Ice and Shadows
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
The long-awaited sequel to Of Fire and Stars—in which Mare...
Agnes at the End of the World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Handmaid's Tale meets Wilder Girls in this genre-defying novel...
My Love is All Around
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mommy Bear shows Baby Bear how love is all around...
I'm not a Mouse!
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Olivia really doesn't like her nickname - mostly because it...

Latest Member Reviews

A Sprinkle of Spirits (Love Sugar Magic, #2)
 
5.0
"A SPRINKLE OF SPIRITS is the delightful second book in the LOVE SUGAR MAGIC middle grade series. Leo is a..."
The Order of Time
 
3.0
"THE ORDER OF TIME by Scott P. Southall is a Middle Grade Sci-Fi Fantasy novel. The story follows two twins,..."
Pete the Cat: 5-Minute Bedtime Stories: Includes 12 Cozy Stories!
 
5.0
"'Pete the Cat 5-Minute Bedtime Stories' by Kimberly and James Dean is an adorable storybook that any lover of children's..."
Ty's Travels: All Aboard!
 
5.0
"'Ty's Travels: All Aboard!' by Kelly Starling Lyons, pictures by Nina Mata, is an adorable story of Ty and his..."
Cuddle Close, Little Koala
 
4.0
"CUDDLE CLOSE, LITTLE KOALA is a sweet story of the special connection between mother and child. Little Koala is lost..."
We Are Together
 
3.5
"WE ARE TOGETHER is a book about activism and teamwork. In the form of a rhyming poem, the book stresses..."
My Love is All Around
 
4.5
"MY LOVE IS ALL AROUND is a sweet book about love between parent and child and the many ways in..."
I'm not a Mouse!
 
4.0
"I'M NOT A MOUSE! is a cute picture book about nicknames. Olivia's mother always calls her mouse, and she doesn't..."
My Panda Sweater
 
5.0
"MY PANDA SWEATER is a lovely book about the way that clothes can affect us. A young girl loves her..."
One Day on our Blue Planet... In the Outback
 
4.0
"ONE DAY ON OUR BLUE PLANET... IN THE OUTBACK is a picture book that follows a red kangaroo joey through..."
Mrs Bibi's Elephant
 
5.0
"MRS BIBI'S ELEPHANT is a sweet story about the special place we have in our hearts for our pets. Mrs...."
Artemis Fowl: Guide to the World of Fairies
 
4.0
""Written" by dwarf Nord Diggums with contributions from experts in the field of magical creatures such as Professor Ivana Therey..."
Super Puzzletastic Mysteries: Short Stories for Young Sleuths from Mystery Writers of America
 
5.0
"Short story collections are hard to review, especially when one includes so many fantastic authors! My students will be glad..."
Daniela and the Pirate Girls
 
3.5
"DANIELA AND THE PIRATE GIRLS is a fun high-seas adventure about helping others and making new friends. Daniela is the..."
Child of Galaxies
 
4.0
"CHILD OF GALAXIES is a lovely poem about life and the broad meaning of it all. The poem begins by..."
Shy Ones
 
5.0
"SHY ONES is a sweet look at friendship and the people (or sea creatures) who are shy. The story is..."
Once Upon an Eid
 
5.0
"This collection has a wide variety of stories about different aspects of Eid, and is particularly poignant during this time..."
Slamdown Town
 
4.0
"Ollie is in 6th grade and is small for his age. His older brother, Hollis, is in 8th, and has..."
Ragweed and Poppy
 
3.5
"RAGWEED AND POPPY is an interesting middle grade novel that follows Ragweed, a mouse who is on a journey. Ragweed..."
The Right Place
 
3.5
"THE RIGHT PLACE is a picture book that stresses the importance of friends and home. Squirrel wakes up after a..."