Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1932
The Paper Girl of Paris
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
THE PAPER GIRL OF PARIS by Jordyn Taylor is a new young adult novel that is both a contemporary and historical fiction. The story is told from two perspectives— Alice in present day and Adalyn during WW2, the link between them being Chloe Bonhomme, Alice’s late grandmother and Adalyn’s sister. Having never known much about her grandmother’s childhood, Alice is surprised when Chloe wills her a secret Parisian apartment. Now, on top of trying to understand her mother’s depression and her father’s denial, Alice is determined to figure out why Chloe hid her past. With the help of her new French friend, Paul, Alice searches her grandmother’s old apartment, which no one has been in since the 1940’s, and finds Adalyn’s diary. Paul aids in translating it, and the truth is more than Alice could have ever expected. In fact, it may be what heals not only Alice’s family, but those from Adalyn’s past too.

This story is absolutely heartbreaking and I haven’t been able to stop thinking about it since I finished reading. The spirit of the book is so beautiful, and it’s made me consider how well I really know my own grandparents. In fact, it’s sparked multiple conversations, and I love when a work of fiction makes me think about life in a deeper and meaningful way. It also resonates strongly right now as it’s about human connections and the bonds between us, which some people may be strengthening or reexamining during this time of quarantine.

All the important questions are tied up by the end of the book, but I still have so many more. I want to know about Chloe Bonhomme. I want to know how she met the American soldier. I want to know about her zazou friends, and if she knew of her sister’s or her parents’ fate. When was she aware the apartment was hers? What made her keep it? How did she feel about Adalyn later in life? I understand that we, the readers, are made to share Alice’s experience, as she, too, probably wishes she could inquire about the same subjects, and in that way, the book is a perfect mirror to life. With that being said, I’d love to read a sequel, or prequel, to learn more about the woman who connected Alice and Adalyn. In the book, as it is, we don’t know too much about her character, since Adalyn kept a secret life from Chloe, and later Chloe kept her secrets from Alice.

With that being said, THE PAPER GIRL OF PARIS is an enchanting read set in an enchanting city with enchanting characters, surprising twists, and sweet romances. This book is a must-read for fans of ALEX & ELIZA and JOJO RABBIT.
EJ
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Poison Ivy: Thorns
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
There's something unusual about Pamela Isley--the girl who hides behind...
Lies My Memory Told Me
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
From the thrilling voice of Sacha Wunsch comes a heart-stopping...
Signs of Survival A Memoir of the Holocaust
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
RENEE: I was ten years old then, and my sister...
So. Many. Feelings Stickers: 2,700 Stickers for Every Mood
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
2,700 stickers for every mood! ...
Hi-Five Farm!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ready, set, off we go! ...
Sugar and Spite
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jolina can't take Claudine's bullying any longer! The taunts and...
Leaving England
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometime around now an unnamed virus has laid London and...
Top Choice
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A female-run society. An ambitious girl driven to become its’...
The Dead and the Dark
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Courtney Gould’s thrilling YA debut The Dead and the Dark...
Heart Fire
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the realm of Ryuu within the snow...
When Jackie Hit The Road
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Jackie planned for every situation on her solo road-trip...
Starvation
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
John Green meets Laurie Halse Anderson in this award-winning, "haunting,"...
The Great Destroyers
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Blood, sweat, and death. Welcome...
Fresh
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A hilarious and vulnerable coming-of-age story about the thrilling new...
Illusionary (Hollow Crown, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this thrilling adventure, our magical heroine embarks on a...
Bluebird
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In 1946, Eva leaves behind the rubble of Berlin for...

Latest Member Reviews

Tor Maddox: UNLEASHED
 
4.0
"Full review on my blog https://mollyeyablog.wordpress.com/2015/06/27/tor-maddox-unleashed-liz-coley/"
Tor Maddox: UNLEASHED
 
4.3
"Note: I received a free copy from Xpresso Tours in exchange for an honest review. This is a modern..."
Tor Maddox: UNLEASHED
 
3.3
"Note: I received a free digital copy of this book thanks to Xpresso Book Tours in exchange for an honest..."
Tor Maddox: UNLEASHED
 
4.3
"Love, dogs, mystery, and vocab tests are all important parts of Tor Maddox's first thrilling adventure. A teenager..."