Review Detail

The Jewel Thief Featured
Young Adult Fiction 1304
The Jewel Thief
(Updated: May 07, 2020)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
THE JEWEL THIEF by Jeannie Mobley is a YA Historical Fiction novel, set in Paris, France during the reign of the Sun King. Juliette is the daughter of the King’s crown jeweler, which seems like an illustrious position, but in truth is quite dangerous. Jean, Juliette’s father, realizes the risk of not meeting King Louis XIV’s expectations, when he’s commissioned to cut the Tavernier Violet. Due to its odd shape, the task of turning the diamond brilliant is almost impossible. The more Jean tries to find a solution, the more depressed he becomes, to the point that Juliette must take over the work. Yet, with the best of intentions, Juliette’s actions land her in the Bastille, with the threat of execution the next day. What’s worse is that Rene, the man she loves, now feels betrayed by her. In order to convince him she’s the girl he thought she was, and to get pardoned by the King, Juliette must make a confession. However, it may be too little, too late on both accounts.

I absolutely love this book. There’s romance, a quasi-heist, political intrigue, and royalty— what more could I possibly want? With that being said, the most compelling element of the story is the love between Juliette and Rene. There are so many swoon-worthy moments, which are dramatized by how the book is structured. By flipping back and forth in time, Juliette has to win Rene back, while simultaneously, the audience gets to see them fall for each other. This creates tension. Mobley also successfully shows us how their love transcends rank and does this in quite a clever way.

My other favorite element of this book is the Benzacars. Isaac and his grandfather are such dynamic characters, and the injustice served to them breaks my heart. Their story, though fictional, is presumably an experience many can relate to, even today, which is part of the reason why I love historical fiction novels. They remind us of the mistakes we keep making as a society. The Benzacar plotline allows us to see some of the religious politics of the time, not just in France, but in other countries as well.

To be thorough, I must mention that the stakes feel quite low throughout the novel. Of course, it is life or death for Juliette, but I know from the beginning she’ll make out just fine. This may be a product of Juliette’s demeanor or the fact that we as the audience don’t viscerally sense time slipping away for her. I also don’t believe that Juliette would be able to do all that she physically does with broken ribs. However, despite these minor points, this is a book I could read again and again.

THE JEWEL THIEF is a fictional origin story of the Hope Diamond, but more than that, it is a tale of a girl who is willing to risk it all for the ones she loves. Anyone who is looking to get completely swept away by a story will enjoy this one.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 3 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
"STANLEY'S PAINT BOX is a charming board book about colors. Stanley is helping Sophie, Little Woo, and Benjamin paint boxes...."
Baby Up, Baby Down: A First Book of Opposites
 
4.7
"BABY UP, BABY DOWN is an adorable board book that teaches some basic opposites. Each page features a baby with..."
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
"BE OUR GUEST! is a colorful book of photographs. The book takes us to a hotel, where a monkey named..."
Stanley's Toolbox
 
4.5
"STANLEY'S TOOLBOX is a delightful board book that shows many tools in action as Stanley helps to repair Little Woo's..."
Spring Is Here!
 
5.0
"SPRING IS HERE! is a delightful board book that features several animals in the springtime setting. The book is extra..."
Zoom: Space Adventure
 
4.5
"ZOOM: SPACE ADVENTURE is a fun journey through outer space with Ava. Ava is going on a space adventure, and..."
In My Heart
 
5.0
"IN MY HEART shows how strong the love of a mother is even when she and the child are apart...."
If You Plant a Seed
 
4.0
"IF YOU PLANT A SEED is a sparsely narrated book about sharing and kindness. A rabbit and a mouse plant..."
Rest & Relax: Sleepy Time for Little Ones (Mindful Tots)
 
4.3
"REST & RELAX is a great book that presents a form of mindfulness or meditation for little ones. This book..."
Let's Play, Funny Flamingo
 
5.0
"LET'S PLAY, FUNNY FLAMINGO is a cute board book that introduces opposites with silly animals and rhyming phrases. Each page..."
Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star and Other Favorite Bedtime Rhymes
 
3.5
"TWINKLE, TWINKLE, LITTLE STAR is a large collection of nursery rhymes and lullabies. The book features one or two rhymes..."
Touch-and-Feel Tower Dinos
 
5.0
"TOUCH-AND-FEEL TOWER DINOS is a fun tactile adventure through dinosaurs. Each page features a touchable tail in a rectangular strip..."
My Peekaboo Animals
 
4.7
"MY PEEKABOO ANIMALS is a fun lift-the-flap adventure of animals around the world. The book features page spreads of different..."
Snap (My Little World)
 
5.0
"SNAP is a fun book about colors. The little red crab is hiding under a rock and surprises the sea..."
Let's Find the Dinosaur
 
5.0
"LET'S FIND THE DINOSAUR is a really fun lift-the-flap board book. T-Rex is hiding, and we must go look for..."
Mindful Tots: Animal Antics
 
4.3
"MINDFUL TOTS: ANIMAL ANTICS is a way to introduce yoga-like movements to little ones through animals. Children are given instruction..."
Zoom: Ocean Adventure
 
5.0
"ZOOM: OCEAN ADVENTURE is a delightful nautical journey. Young children can follow along with Noah as he embarks on a..."
Good Night, Baboon!: A Bedtime Counting Book
 
4.0
"GOOD NIGHT, BABOON! is a cute and colorful countdown book of animals getting ready for bed- all except one! The..."
ABC Dance!: An Animal Alphabet
 
5.0
"ABC DANCE! is a lively and colorful second-level alphabet book. Instead of the usual A-is-for-apple style, this delightful book charges..."
Your Nose!
 
5.0
"Boynton delivers another delightful book for toddlers in YOUR NOSE! As you can probably guess, this book is a love..."