Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1601
engaging YA thriller/suspense
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
LITTLE CREEPING THINGS was definitely a engrossing read, as I finished it pretty quickly. Here, we have Cassidy, who has been teased and bullied for much of her life by the people in town, who call her fire girl. She was caught in a fire when she was little with a friend, and the other girl died. Her memories of it are really nightmares, and she does not know exactly what happened. However, she takes the blame for it, as the town believes she is a pyromaniac.

She luckily has her BFF, Gideon, who she also has a huge crush on, but they are just friends. However, when she and Gideon seem to be witness to crime that also seems linked to her, her lies and secrets push her BFF away. Cassidy wants to figure out who did it, and she has a bunch of guesses.

Cass was pretty selfish the whole way through, and an unreliable narrator, as she seems to have PTSD, including hallucinations from the fire in her childhood. I wanted someone to take her to the therapist and try to stop the bullying, because that is a lot to deal with. However, Cass is herself also a bully to some, and the lines between her friends and enemies seemed really frequently blurred. In terms of who did it, the answer was not hard to figure out (I had it in mind from early on). I would have liked some bigger twists, and Cass does have a lot of (wrong) guesses throughout that she is not shy about throwing around.

Regardless, I found it to be a pretty engaging read, and it was one that I wanted to follow. The ending felt really rushed, but the lead up was solid and enough to keep you hanging in the story. Recommend for those who like YA thrillers/suspense.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...
The Night Walk
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mama opened our bedroom door. "Wake up, you two," she...
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate the perfect, ugly expression of holiday cheer in this...

Latest Member Reviews

Anchored
 
5.0
"Unlike anything I've read before. The Story: Alora is of two worlds. During her..."
The Forgotten World (The World Apart Series Book 3)
 
5.0
"I don't know how this series keeps getting better, but it does. This third book is just... so much happens..."
Born at Dawn
 
3.7
"BORN AT DAWN is an upper YA fantasy full of adventure - the main character is half human and half..."
Golden Curse (The True Story of Rapunzel)
 
5.0
"This beautiful story is highly enjoyable. The writing flows easily, and the characters feel relatable. The main conflict was interesting..."
The Devil's Apprentice
 
4.5
"This was actually a pretty interesting story. At first I really wasn't sure how it was going to go so..."
Launch (Rise of the Anointed #1)
 
5.0
"This superhero tale is a lot of fun, with likeable characters, lots of action, and a thread of faith that..."
Princess of Death
 
4.0
"What I loved: Pirates, princesses, and a curse! What wasn’t to love and be drawn in by..."
Outlawed
 
4.5
"The story: When her father forces her to travel back in time to correct the mistake he made, Maryanne..."
Legacy of Light (Legends of the Tri-Gard Book 2)
 
4.8
"FEEDBACK Well, this story has gone in a completely different direction than I expected it to. Davion didn’t die..."
Two Worlds of Provenance (Two Worlds, #1)
 
4.0
"An intriguing world. The story: Maray is an American girl living in Vienna with just..."
Moonscript
 
4.5
"4.5 stars! An elf haunted by his past, a girl dissatisfied with her monotonous present, a withered king looking..."
The Forgotten World (The World Apart Series Book 3)
 
5.0
"My heart can’t take much more! The Forgotten World by Robin D. Mahle is the third book in her series..."
The Lost Link
 
5.0
"The Lost Link is Michelle Bryan‘s newest fantasy, and I couldn’t get enough of it! There are dragons, magic, fae,..."
The Lost Link
 
5.0
"Jette suffers from hallucinations, at least that's what the doctors tell her. However, as they take on the shape of..."
Beyond the Longcase Clock
 
4.5
"Sophia goes back in time, taking her little brother along for the ride. Trapped in Victorian England, they find themselves..."
First Earth: Book One in the Arch Mage Series
 
5.0
""Agnes' journey not only kept me turning pages, but pulled me into the journey of self-discovery right along with her...."
Fire Falling
 
4.5
"I fell in love with Air Awakens. The chemistry between the characters and the plot development had a perfect blend...."
 
4.8
"This darker and grittier sequel of Issaura's Claws, steers readers on a journey outside the kingdom of Elysia into the..."
Winter's Captive
 
5.0
"YA fantasy has always been my favorite. However, the past few months, I'd been in a slump. I struggled getting..."
Super Powers
 
4.5
"The story: Hot on the heels of the event of Super Humans (Book One), we get inside..."