Review Detail

They Went Left Featured
Young Adult Fiction 1050
They Went Left
(Updated: April 17, 2020)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
What worked: Beautifully written tale of eighteen-year-old Holocaust survivor Zofia Lederman who searches for her brother after the war. I've read many books set before and during the Holocaust, but not one that takes place after. This story is gut-wrenching as we follow Zofia on her search for her younger brother, Abek. He's the only surviving family she has. She made a promise to him at the camps that after the war, she would look for him.

Zofia's trials don't end when the war is over. When she returns to her home in Poland, she encounters antisemitism, which includes her former landlady. Zofia suffers from lapses of memory. She's not sure what is real or not and fears that the truth will shatter her.

The scenes in the displacement camp show others who have survived the war. Through it all Zofia continues searching for Abek. She falls for Josef, who has his own secrets. This relationship starts off slow and then strong. There's heartbreak and also betrayals. Each backstory of those other survivors in the camp are tragic with the pain they each encountered from losing loved ones to trying to survive in a Post-WWII world. Hesse's nails the emotions, struggles so well.

Bittersweet, powerful writing that follows Zofia on her search that ends with a note of hope. I feel this has to be Hesse's best novel yet. The final reveals had me gasping and gave me goosebumps. Totally recommend to those who love historicals set during WWII.
Good Points
1. Beautifully written tale of a Holocaust survivor searching for her brother after the world
2. Heartwrenching.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
A Story of Giants - Book 1
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if I told you that we are not alone,...

Latest Member Reviews

Little Red
 
3.0
"LITTLE RED is a simple telling of the Little Red Riding Hood tale with accompanying red, white, and black illustrations...."
The Ugly Duckling (Storytime Lap Books)
 
5.0
"THE UGLY DUCKLING is a lovely new book that features this classic tale. The book features the story in simple..."
Jack and the Beanstalk (Storytime Lap Books)
 
5.0
"JACK AND THE BEANSTALK uses accessible language, colorful cartoonish images, and oversized board book pages to bring this classic fairytale..."
The Three Little Superpigs: Once Upon a Time
 
4.5
"THE THREE LITTLE SUPERPIGS: ONCE UPON A TIME is an adorable and fun retelling of the classic story of the..."
The Girl Who Drank the Moon
 
5.0
"THE GIRL WHO DRANK THE MOON is a simply stunning and magically lyrical story. The book follows many points-of-view in..."
Rapunzel, the One With all the Hair (Twice Upon a Time #1)
 
4.0
"In RAPUNZEL: THE ONE WITH ALL THE HAIR, we get the traditional story of Rapunzel with slight variations to bring..."
Gris Grimly's Tales from the Brother's Grimm
 
5.0
"What I Liked: This is just the chapter sampler but I am blown away once again by the amazingness that..."
Little Red
 
5.0
"Little Red is such an amazing illustrated story about the classic tale about Little Red Riding Hood. I have been..."