Review Detail

Crave FeaturedHot
Young Adult Fiction 5132
exciting new paranormal romance
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
CRAVE is a really engaging new YA fantasy/paranormal romance that follows Grace in the first person. Grace lost her parents in a horrible car accident a month earlier, and she is now coming to Alaska to live with her uncle and cousin. Her uncle runs the mysterious Katmere Academy in the mountains. When Grace arrives, she notices everyone staring at her. Adding to that, the hot popular boy warns her that people are dangerous and she should leave.

As things happen around her, resulting in a lot of unexpected injuries, Grace begins to realize that there is something different about the academy and its students. She finds herself most intrigued by Jaxon, the boy who is always warning her to stay away but seems to be drawing her closer.

As hinted in the description and advertising, we learn halfway through that Jaxon is a vampire. However, what vampires mean and the conditions of other students are to be learned.

What I loved: The book easily draws you in from the start with all the mystery and snark. This book could take a really dark tone, but it stays light with all the humor and sarcasm. It is very tongue-in-cheek at times; for example, Jaxon sends Grace a copy of Twilight when he is warning her off. There are some more complex power dynamics at play here with the roles of staff/students and how all the people in this paranormal world function/relate. I assume this will be expanded in future books, and I really liked the flair. The first half and then the ending were absolutely fantastic- I was completely engrossed, and I loved the twists at the end. You know something is coming, but it was unexpected, and I loved the way the typical roles were switched (when you read it, you'll get what I mean).

What left me wanting more: The second half of the book turns into a big push-pull instalove drama, and I would have liked a lighter version of that. We do see them interact, but it's very Spiderman-style (in the I-love-you-but-it's-too-dangerous-for-you-to-be-with-me). However, it definitely felt like some Twilight-style flair/angst, which will appeal to many audiences.

Final verdict: Overall, this is a really engrossing and snarky YA paranormal/fantasy romance with a premise that has a ton of potential. I would definitely be interested to see how this develops (particularly given those twists and cliffhanger at the end). Highly recommend for fans of TWILIGHT and VAMPIRE DIARIES.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 2 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Goblin King (Permafrost, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Kara Barbieri's Goblin King, the stunning sequel in the...
Hollowpox: The Hunt for Morrigan Crow (Nevermoor, #3)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Morrigan battles a new evil as a strange, frightening illness...
The Gilded Wolves (The Gilded Wolves, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
*AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER* From New York...
Among the Beasts and Briars
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Ashley Poston, acclaimed author of Heart of Iron, returns...
Warriors of Wing and Flame (Sisters of Shadow and Light, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Warriors of Wing and Flame, the spellbinding sequel...
Corona Daze: Eva's time at home during Covid-19
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"Angel's artwork is an inspirational blend of photographic images and...
Fae's Prisoner (Crimes of the Fae)
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
Griffin O’Shea is a traitor. It’s what those outside...
The Mirror: Broken Wish (The Mirror, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen-year-old Elva has a secret. She has visions and...
Swamp Thing: Twin Branches
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
#1 New York Times bestselling author Maggie Stiefvater (the...
Launch (Rise of the Anointed #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the biblical stories, Samson had great strength. The prophet...
How to Catch a Yeti
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the New York Times and USA Today bestselling team...
Along Came a Fox
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect story to encourage children to treat others as...
Rosa's Big Pizza Experiment (Rosa's Workshop)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Follow Rosa and her friends as they prepare pizzas! Each...
The Other Side of Midnight
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The sense of foreboding came out of nowhere. It was...
Light of Orion-Guardians of Orion Book 2
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Evil is gathering strength. When she learns the truth, it...
Mark of Orion-Guardians of Orion Book 1
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you like sinister demons, warrior angels, supernatural powers, ancient...

Latest Member Reviews

 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by teetee This book is great if you haven't read it you should! Basically it's about a..."
 
1.0
"Reader reviewed by Denise Elizabeth, aka "Kid," has never questioned her life as a thief. Since moving in with..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Iryna Emily needs a change of scenery. Shes been pegged as the arty girl by the..."
Black Rabbit Summer
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Sara Title: Black Rabbit SummerAuthor: Kevin BrooksPublisher: Chicken House (Scholastic)Date Published: 2008Genre: Young AdultMain Themes: Missing persons,..."
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by stephanie Same Difference is a very good book. It talks about friendship, love and relationships in..."
A Little Friendly Advice
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by c-alexis This novel presented a friendship that is not like your typical girl friendships- you know, the..."
A Little Friendly Advice
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by stephanie Ruby is finally turning sixteen and all she wants is to overdose on ice cream cake,..."
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by undercover reader With his father back in jail again nothing is going well for Tyrell. Now homeless..."
A Little Friendly Advice
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Tasha All Ruby plans on doing for her sixteenth birthday is indulge in ice cream cake, take..."
A Little Friendly Advice
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by jocelyn A Little Friendly Advice, Siobhan Vivians fantastic debut novel, is blurbed on the back cover by..."
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Mary Tyrell's lived a hard life. His dad was busted while working at his illegal job and..."
A Little Friendly Advice
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by the book muncher For Ruby, her friends are like her lifeline. First, theres Beth, the girl who..."
A Little Friendly Advice
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Chelsea, 2008 Teen Demi-Goddess Ruby's best friend Beth has always been there for her, offering a shoulder..."