Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 368
engrossing and atmospheric
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
ASH PRINCESS is an engaging YA fantasy that takes us to the conquered land of Astrea. Theodosia's mother, the Fire Queen, was murdered before her when she was only 6 years old, as the Kalovaxians seized control. The Kaiser has kept her in her mother's palace where he now resides since then, punishing her brutally (whipping and similar) for any Astrean crimes. Her identity was stripped and she lives as Lady Thora, trying to forget all the awful things that surround her.

Everything comes crashing through her walls when she is forced to kill an Astrean prisoner who meant something to her before the siege. She begins to plot a revolt that will take down the Kaiser and the Kalovaxians, who have enslaved and killed her people. The path she walks is not easy, and she will find herself challenged by the feelings she has for the Prinz who she uses and the "friends" she has made.

What I loved: This book is completely engrossing. Much of it takes place inside Theo's head, but it's really like slipping into someone's life and mind. The pacing is absolutely perfect to keep the reader hooked. I loved the characters and the conflicts, and the way the book completely sucks you in to this other world. The world-building here is completely lush and fully developed.

Final verdict: Engaging, atmospheric, and fantastically well written, ASH PRINCESS is a wonderful read that hooks readers right from the start. Highly recommend for fans of THE SELECTION, FROSTBLOOD, and/or THE REMNANT CHRONICLES.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Artemis Fowl: Guide to the World of Fairies
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This beautifully illustrated novel is a compendium of Artemis Fowl's...
Personalized Notebook Doodles Adorable Pets Coloring Book
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From hamsters and hermit crabs to cats and canaries, you'll...
The Last Summer
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For the first eleven years of their lives, neighbors Lila...
The Falling in Love Montage
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two girls embark on a summer of montage-worthy dates (with...
Super Puzzletastic Mysteries: Short Stories for Young Sleuths from Mystery Writers of America
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bestselling author Chris Grabenstein and the Mystery Writers of America...
Beauty Mark: A Verse Novel of Marilyn Monroe
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In a powerful novel in verse, an award-winning author offers...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Anger, hurt, and rejection threaten Joshua’s ability to save the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bernita, a teenager from a prominent South American family, knows...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
How do you fix a computer glitch that disappears before...
Hope in the Mail: Reflections on Writing and Life
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Part writing guide and part memoir, this inspiring book from...
Daniela and the Pirate Girls
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Who hasn’t heard of the legendary vessel, the Black Croc!...
Child of Galaxies
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Your body was made from the stuff of the stars,...
Shy Ones
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
He's not the type to stand out. In fact, unless...
You Brought Me the Ocean
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
The voices that shaped LGBTQ Young Adult literature, Lambda Award-Winning...
The Most Dangerous Place on Earth
 
2.0
 
0.0 (0)
In an idyllic community of wealthy California families, new teacher...
Slamdown Town
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ollie and his older brother, Hollis, have wrestling in their...

Latest Member Reviews

Still a Work in Progress
 
3.0
" Noah's seventh grade year at his small school starts off a bit tense-- his friend Sam has left a..."