Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 543
The Everything I Have Lost
(Updated: March 11, 2020)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
At age twelve, Julia starts writing in a diary. She writes about what she witnesses in her town of Juarez, Mexico, but also her questions about her father's work that keeps him gone for days at a time. She shares her feelings of the adults withholding secrets from her. Also she writes about her wish to be able to stay in El Paso, Texas with her tia, bis-great-grandmother, and cousin. Later, when she does join them, she finds things are much more complicated.

What worked: Authentic with it's unflinching portrayal of a young teen who lives in Juarez, Mexico. Julia writes down her reflections in a diary of growing up in a border town. The emotions are real with how she questions her father's line of work; why the adults speak in whispers about the violence in town; her anger at her mother for not being totally truthful ; and her fears of fitting in at a U.S. high school.

I felt the world of Julia was very realistic with how it angers her when the adults in her life are afraid to share the 'truth' on what is happening around her. She gets glimpses of what is happening when a neighbor suddenly 'disappears'. Or when it's almost casually announced that her PE teacher died suddenly. Around her the whispers tell a different story. One that involves her beloved Papi. One that is almost too horrific to accept.

There's also mention of muertas de Juarez. The dead women of Juarez. Julia and her classmates are told to be careful and not walk outside alone at dark and not to speak to strangers. Her whole life she's trapped inside her house. Afraid to leave or even to answer the phone.

Julia's entries also show her friendships that one minute are good and the other not so good. Her sadness at watching her beloved bis's decline in health. Also her growing anger at her mother for keeping secrets from her.

The journal format is perfect and is sure to resonated with readers. You're sucked right into Julia's life. The portrayals of not only Juarez, Mexico, but her fears and wishes are realistic.

Coming-of-age novel of a young Mexican teen shown through her diary entries. This story gives a voice to current issues at the border.
Good Points
1. Authentic and unflinching
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 2 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Nest That Wren Built
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Nature lovers and poetry fans alike will be drawn to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
So, you want to know about Jack Wilson? Here’s some...
Elysium Girls
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From a lush, dazzlingly original new voice in young adult...
The Lost Legends
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
A plague. A prophecy. A centuries-long curse. All her...
In the Hall with the Knife
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A murderer could be around every corner in this...
Girls With Razor Hearts
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Make me a girl with a razor heart… It’s...
Come Tumbling Down (Wayward Children #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The fifth installment in Seanan McGuire's award-winning, bestselling Wayward...
When Wishes Bleed
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
One Prince. One Witch. One Fate. The upheaval in...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ali McMillian almost drowned. It wasn’t a run-of-the-mill accident either;...
Ember Queen (Ash Princess, #3)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The thrilling conclusion to the New York Times bestselling...
Moonscript
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It is said that Darkness is empty and whatever vanishes...
The Lucky Ones
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Thirteen Reasons Why, This Is How It...

Latest Member Reviews

The Book Thief
 
4.7
"Death as a narrator? What an idea! It was so interesting to see the Second World War from a German..."
The Eye of Midnight
 
5.0
"Straitlaced Maxine and the impish Will come together in this nostalgic action adventure that will appeal to parents and children..."
The Book Thief
 
4.7
"Expertly written historical fiction. A gutting, wrenching, reverberating work of heart. The subject matter made this reader hesitate initially..."
Flora and Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures
 
4.5
"Reading FLORA AND ULYSSES by Kate DiCamillo was an absolute joy. Children’s books are usually full of everything that’s normally..."
The Book Thief
 
4.3
"Amazing how it can be both dark and inspiring at the same time. I didn't know what to think about..."
The Book Thief
 
5.0
"Absolutely brilliant! With Death as the narrator, this book takes you through a few years in the life of a..."
Jane, the Fox & Me
 
5.0
"This was not at all what I expected. I discovered a story about self-esteem, and bullying, and cruelty...."
The Boy on the Porch
 
4.0
"The Boy on the Porch is a beautiful story about family and love. It feels like a fable in the..."
The Book Thief
 
4.7
"Where does one even begin with this book? Nothing I say could ever really do it justice. I guess I..."
Red Shirt Kids
 
5.0
"Your upper grade school child will be totally enthralled while reading this magical, mystery adventure novel! Not only will they..."
Pillage (The Pillage Trilogy #1)
 
3.7
"I really like Pillage. It started out kind of iffy and I could put the book down without any real..."
The Book Thief
 
4.0
"I first read this book for my 8th grade English class, almost four years ago. When I joined Goodread a..."
The Book Thief
 
5.0
"THE BOOK THIEF is the kind of book that’ll make you cry; bawl your eyes out in the middle of..."
The Book Thief
 
3.3
"What is there to like? • It’s a story about the importance of telling and reading stories. Liesel and Max..."
Mermin
 
3.5
"This was certainly meant for younger readers! It had a cutesy feel to it, but it was still fun to..."
Heart of Stone (Verity Gallant Tales)
 
5.0
"This is the epitome of middle grade fantasy, if you ask me. Set in the most perfect seaside, cliff-dotted town,..."
The Book Thief
 
5.0
"It is easy to say that this book is unforgettable. Because it really is. I will never in this lifetime..."
Breaking Stalin's Nose
 
4.0
"Sasha Zaichik, the protagonist in this short novel, Breaking Stalin’s Nose, by Eugene Yelchin, is less a hero than an..."
Eighth Grade Is Making Me Sick: Ginny Davis's Year in Stuff
 
4.0
"On a whim, I checked out MIDDLE SCHOOL IS WORSE THAN MEATLOAF from the school library. It disappeared from my..."
Laugh with the Moon
 
4.0
"Thirteen-year-old Clare Silver's world has been turned upside down: her mother recently passed away and her father moved them to..."