Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1072
engrossing and beautifully crafted YA fantasy
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
THE MIDNIGHT LIE is a lush and atmospheric YA fantasy. The book transports us to another world, where people are separated from birth into socioeconomic categories they cannot leave. The High Kith are the wealthiest with Middlings providing most service jobs. The Half-Kith are trapped within a wall, never to leave their poverty, trapped within a wall to a small area, and they are treated poorly, frequently forced to give tithes (hair, skin, blood, and even sometimes organs) for no apparent reason. Of course, this is better than being Un-Kith, which are given the worst and most dangerous jobs.

Nirrim is Half-Kith and has rarely questioned her lot in life. She lives with an abusive woman, who frequently lashes out in violence and uses Nirrim for her gifts of memory to forge documents. Nirrim's world changes when she is arrested and finds that the prisoner next to her is fascinating and fascinated in her. This prisoner is also a traveler- something completely unheard of and seemingly impossible- from the world beyond the island that Nirrim has always known. This other prisoner sets Nirrim on a course of questioning her world and looking for answers to the questions she had always kept suppressed.

What I loved: This world pulls you in right from the start with descriptions that unfold beautifully to create a unique and dangerous new world. Nirrim is an interesting character. She has suffered terribly through her upbringing and it has caused some dissociation that allows her to be both within this world and outside of it. There are some interesting themes here about wealth, right/wrong, and the rippling effects of lies (small to large lies).

 I also really love the romance that develops between Nirrim and a woman, Sid. It was beautiful and adds a fantastic element to the story, complementing the larger storylines. It is woven so entirely into the plot that they are both necessary to have, and I love when romance is so well done like this.

I would add warnings for child and domestic abuse, child neglect, drug use/abuse (tertiary characters, mainly), sexual abuse (from another character involving the main character, along the lines of power dynamics and expectations), and some disturbing themes around the tithes (the ways that peoples bodies are used for others).

Final verdict: Completely engrossing and beautifully crafted, THE MIDNIGHT LIE is a fantastic read. I will be highly anticipating future books in this series. Would recommend for fans of Alexandra Christo, Rosaria Mundo, Sabaa Tahir, and Rutkowski's other books.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 2 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Fence: Striking Distance
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The boys of Kings Row bout with drama, rivalry, and...
Pirate Nell's Tale to Tell
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From the author/illustrator team behind The Snatchabook comes a book-filled...
The Glass Queen (The Forest of Good and Evil, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Once Upon a Time meets Game of Thrones in...
Skyhunter (Skyhunter, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A broken world. An overwhelming evil. A team of...
Finding Balance
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Jase Ellison doesnt remember having acute lymphocytic leukemia when...
Be a Voter!: 450 Stickers for Democracy
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Get out the vote! It’s...
I Believe In You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A charming picture book that inspires confidence, boosts self-esteem, and...
Breathless
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Jennifer Niven, the #1 New York Times bestselling...
Of Thorns and Beauty (Twisted Pages Book 1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
You think you know the tale as old time,...
The Verity
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When being eaten alive is the least of your...
Meanwhile
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate 10 years of this completely original graphic novel take...
Grant Beagan: The Finder's Code
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He’s just an ordinary teenager who likes astronomy, video games,...
Sting Magic
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
She has the wrong kind of magic but the right...
The Runaway (Barrett Boys #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He’s on the hunt for a fresh start. She’s trapped...
Fisher- Price Fun in the Jungle: Explore, Touch, and Feel
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Children will love exploring the different textures in this playful...
Glitter Globes: The Night Before Christmas
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
On the night before Christmas, all over the house, not...

Latest Member Reviews

Fence: Striking Distance
 
5.0
"FENCE: STRIKING DISTANCE is a charming YA contemporary fiction that takes place at a boys' boarding school. We follow different..."
Crossing Lines
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central And engaging story about how our differences shape our worldview. ..."
Focused
 
4.0
"!"
Horrid
 
4.7
"After Jane's father sudden dies, Her mother, Ruth, ends up moving them across the country. They move into her mother's..."
Pirate Nell's Tale to Tell
 
4.5
"PIRATE NELL'S TALE TO TELL is a charming picture book about Nell, who has always dreamed of being a pirate...."
Be a Voter!: 450 Stickers for Democracy
 
4.5
"BE A VOTER! is a delightful collection of stickers that encompass the power of voting, the democracy, and the reasons..."
I Believe In You
 
5.0
"I BELIEVE IN YOU is a delightfully encouraging book with bright colors and a charming story. While the main text..."
The Oracle Code
 
4.0
"THE ORACLE CODE visits Barbara Gordon (aka Batgirl and Oracle) in her teens after an accident that paralyzes part of..."
The Glass Queen (The Forest of Good and Evil, #2)
 
5.0
"THE GLASS QUEEN is an intense and fantastically written fairytale retelling of Cinderella. In the kingdom of Enchantia, fairytales are..."
The Kingdom of Back
 
5.0
"Marie Lu’s The Kingdom of Back is an historical fantasy based on real-life talents, Wolfgang Amedeus Motzart and his sister,..."
Meanwhile
 
3.7
"'Meanwhile' by Jason Shiga is a graphic novel adventure that will remind readers of the types of books in which..."
Fisher- Price Fun in the Jungle: Explore, Touch, and Feel
 
4.5
"FUN IN THE JUNGLE is an adorable board book great for infants and young toddlers who are exploring the world..."
Glitter Globes: The Night Before Christmas
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT BEFORE CHRISTMAS modifies the original poem to be more modern and easily understood by young children. The classic..."
Twisting Minds
 
4.8
"The story: At seventeen, Claire Harper’s life has taken a turn for the worse – her mother..."
Breathless
 
4.0
"BREATHLESS is a book about change, secrets, and the aftermath. Claudine (Claude) is about to graduate high school, and she..."
Fae's Prisoner (Crimes of the Fae)
 
5.0
"This is the book I didn’t know I needed! Fae’s Prisoner by M. Lynn & Melissa A. Craven is the..."
Skyhunter (Skyhunter, #1)
 
5.0
"SKYHUNTER is an enthralling and lush YA fantasy. Lu really paints the story with her words, and this new novel..."
The Library of Lost Things
 
5.0
"I wasn't sure what to expect with The Library of Lost Things, but I know I didn't anticipate a book..."
Fae's Prisoner (Crimes of the Fae)
 
5.0
"After reading Queens of the Fae, I had such mixed feelings about Griffin... but now I love him! This book..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra, a teenager from the 2160s, is put into cryogenic stasis fulling expecting to wake up on another planet one..."